Customer Reviews for

The Red Tent

Average Rating 4.5
( 724 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(457)

4 Star

(145)

3 Star

(61)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

The Red Tent

This novel follows the tale of Dinah, the daughter of Jacob barely mentioned in the Old Testament. In the Hebrew Bible, she is seen as a young girl who a handsome prince took advantage of, and that the following slaughter was the result of her family defending her honor...
This novel follows the tale of Dinah, the daughter of Jacob barely mentioned in the Old Testament. In the Hebrew Bible, she is seen as a young girl who a handsome prince took advantage of, and that the following slaughter was the result of her family defending her honor.

I went into this book solely expecting a rich, entertaining story and that's what I got. I never read the story in the Bible, so I didn't have any expectations in regard to being accurate.

I learned much from this book and I could picture the vivid scenery. The way it was written was just so beautiful. Scenes that I would have otherwise found awkward were handled tenderly with grace. This family saga is a tribute to women and mothers everywhere, even those we have forgotten. I saw some reviews saying how this book treated men poorly and two-dimensionally, but I disagree. Dinah treated her male relatives with respect, and her later hatred of them was for personal reasons only- not just because they were men. The reason the men weren't as fleshed out as the women is simply because Dinah did not know them as well. She was surrounded by women, so that's what would have stuck with her.

It seems the more impressed I am with a book, the less I have to say about it. Overall a beautiful, sad story about womanhood and family that I whole-heartedly recommend.

posted by Awesomeness1 on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

19 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

Pure Trash

This book is nothing more than a disgusting attempt to write sex and debauchery into the Bible. The author debases Bible characters to gossipy, vile dolts unworthy of remembering. Laban is made out to be a slovenly drunk who wants nothing more than to fornicate with g...
This book is nothing more than a disgusting attempt to write sex and debauchery into the Bible. The author debases Bible characters to gossipy, vile dolts unworthy of remembering. Laban is made out to be a slovenly drunk who wants nothing more than to fornicate with goats and sheep when he can't get to his own daughters. Rachel is described as a childlike idiot with no redeeming qualities other than her beauty. Even Jacob is described as horny, "leaning against a tree, his hands working his sex, until he slumped over in relief". I'm thoroughly disgusted with the entire book and would only recommend it for a nice, warm fire.

posted by Lunarjuice on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2008

    Not what I expected...

    For the most part, I hated this book. It is not biblically accurate and that is what I expected. I love to read about stories that everyone knows and loves from other perspectives like Wicked for example. Excellent book. However, the book doesn't stay true the actual story at all. The best parts are the scenes in Egypt which are completely made up. I do like the love story angle but the parts that we do know, the parts in the Bible, are completely off. She has, for lack of a better word, perverted the story of Jacob and Dinah. I was very disappointed.

    15 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2010

    A LOPSIDED LOOK AT BIBLICAL TIMES

    While The Red Tent is very well written as far as prose goes, the feminist slant is overwhelming. None of the male Jewish characters are portrayed sympathetically; they are uniformly depicted as heartless and one-dimensional. Only the gentile male characters are written in a positive light, and even this is unidimensional so that they have no flaws.

    Diamant's intent to bring to life minor Biblical characters is laudable; her rigid angle that disparages the more prominent characters is gratuitous and off-putting.

    Rebecca Kohn's Seven Days to the Sea is a better bet.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    It's ok I guess

    I thought I would like the story line of this book better, but it's not as good as I thought it would be. It's a page turner in the sense that you want to know what comes next, but sometimes the theme of the story drags on and even though detail is needed (since the theme of the story is women and their menstrual cycle etc.) I still lose interest in the story. It's been an annoying read actually. I was thinking of recycling the book, and not even donating it since I don't really think it's that great of a book.

    5 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Very disappointing

    I do quite a lot of reading and based on the great reviews for The Red Tent, I decided to give it a try. When I read the storyline, I wasn't sure if I would be very interested in this book and I should have listened to my initial instincts. I very rarely quit reading a book, but I must admit that I quit half way through and could not bring myself to finish it. There was little that was compelling or entertaining in this book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2002

    Promotes Women Power over the truth of God Word

    Anita Diamant is a great story teller, and that where the problem lies. I don't have a problem with the fact that Ms. Diamant filled in where the bible didn't go into detail; I have a problem with how she took accounts that where clearly written in the bible and changed them to negative accounts. I could have appreciated the book more if the author hadn't taken a story from the bible (a book I believe to be the written word of God) and changed it around so drastically. Too many things were taken out of context. I would not recommend this book to others because I think they would take her account as being true and that the bible is in error.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2002

    Truly Fiction

    I was disappointed in this book. This is like reading a Historical Novel, only to find that all of the true historical events have been altered to please the author. Since the author supposedly based the characters and events on Biblical happenings, she should have followed those events as closely as possible as they were set forth in Genesis. I would hope that anyone who reads this would read the story told in Genesis, especially the Biblical version of Dinah's rape and the events that followed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    EH

    I TRUDGED THROUGH THIS BOOK BECAUSE I WAS TOLD IT WAS WONDERFUL AND SOME PARTS WERE BUT MAINLY I WAS BORED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Not Biblically accurate

    i would have preferred to read a more biblical accurate account of this story. i was barely able to finish the book. only because its MY own preference to finish a book that i start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2004

    Disappointing

    While excellently written, I could not help but be a little diappointed. I was expecting a story that showed a woman and her relationship with God. Sadly, God was not a main character in anyway, even though this story is about HIS children. I did like the perspective of a non-christian author but was again, disappointed overall with the results. I did like how the author portrayed the wives of Jacob, yet it was how they clung to a religion that was not godly even as they bore children who would in turn be the ancestors of Christ. A good book for those who do not need Christ in his story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2004

    Perspective of a victum

    The Red Tent gives you the prespective of a victum of a terrible tragedy, the murder of Dinah's husband, father, and males of their town. Dinah is the daughter of Jacob, better known as the father of the 12 tribes of Israel. Dinah tells the story, but always needs to be rescued. She never moves forward into a strong character capable of standing on her own two feet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2002

    Concerned

    I was immediately "drawn" by the cover of The Red Tent. Once inside, I felt rather bewildered and even alarmed by the story. I realize it was written as a novel. What concerns me most was the inaccurate portrayals of actual Biblical events. I would like to recommend to readers of The Red Tent read the real story and compare it for themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2002

    Not what I had expected at all

    I was looking forward to a good read on a book which is based on the Bible. This book was not what I expected at all and I was disappointed, not to mention offended. I would not recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2001

    A little blasphemous

    This book was very rich in painting pictures and inticing to continue but sort of disappointing. I am not a very religious person but I felt guilty just reading this! It paints the heroes of the bible as evil & weak and blames men for getting women's biblical stories all wrong. I would feel more comfortable if this book did not twist this part of the bible completely inside out. Not reccommended for religious readers- you will be offended, nor for people looking for an easy way to read the bible - this is beyond fiction.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2000

    The big feminist commune

    I found this novel (which I read for a book group) to be exactly what I envisioned and why I never would have read it otherwise. I found it be a predictable, maudlin and soap opera-ish yawner- the projection of a 21st century New Ageish sensibility onto the Biblical story. I felt as though I'd stumbled into a big hippie commune. An Oprah selection for sure- and I don't mean that as a compliment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1