Customer Reviews for

Red Tent (10th Anniversary Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 710 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(454)

4 Star

(141)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(39)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

The Red Tent

This novel follows the tale of Dinah, the daughter of Jacob barely mentioned in the Old Testament. In the Hebrew Bible, she is seen as a young girl who a handsome prince took advantage of, and that the following slaughter was the result of her family defending her honor...
This novel follows the tale of Dinah, the daughter of Jacob barely mentioned in the Old Testament. In the Hebrew Bible, she is seen as a young girl who a handsome prince took advantage of, and that the following slaughter was the result of her family defending her honor.

I went into this book solely expecting a rich, entertaining story and that's what I got. I never read the story in the Bible, so I didn't have any expectations in regard to being accurate.

I learned much from this book and I could picture the vivid scenery. The way it was written was just so beautiful. Scenes that I would have otherwise found awkward were handled tenderly with grace. This family saga is a tribute to women and mothers everywhere, even those we have forgotten. I saw some reviews saying how this book treated men poorly and two-dimensionally, but I disagree. Dinah treated her male relatives with respect, and her later hatred of them was for personal reasons only- not just because they were men. The reason the men weren't as fleshed out as the women is simply because Dinah did not know them as well. She was surrounded by women, so that's what would have stuck with her.

It seems the more impressed I am with a book, the less I have to say about it. Overall a beautiful, sad story about womanhood and family that I whole-heartedly recommend.

posted by Awesomeness1 on April 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Pure Trash

This book is nothing more than a disgusting attempt to write sex and debauchery into the Bible. The author debases Bible characters to gossipy, vile dolts unworthy of remembering. Laban is made out to be a slovenly drunk who wants nothing more than to fornicate with g...
This book is nothing more than a disgusting attempt to write sex and debauchery into the Bible. The author debases Bible characters to gossipy, vile dolts unworthy of remembering. Laban is made out to be a slovenly drunk who wants nothing more than to fornicate with goats and sheep when he can't get to his own daughters. Rachel is described as a childlike idiot with no redeeming qualities other than her beauty. Even Jacob is described as horny, "leaning against a tree, his hands working his sex, until he slumped over in relief". I'm thoroughly disgusted with the entire book and would only recommend it for a nice, warm fire.

posted by Lunarjuice on December 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Red Tent

    This novel follows the tale of Dinah, the daughter of Jacob barely mentioned in the Old Testament. In the Hebrew Bible, she is seen as a young girl who a handsome prince took advantage of, and that the following slaughter was the result of her family defending her honor.

    I went into this book solely expecting a rich, entertaining story and that's what I got. I never read the story in the Bible, so I didn't have any expectations in regard to being accurate.

    I learned much from this book and I could picture the vivid scenery. The way it was written was just so beautiful. Scenes that I would have otherwise found awkward were handled tenderly with grace. This family saga is a tribute to women and mothers everywhere, even those we have forgotten. I saw some reviews saying how this book treated men poorly and two-dimensionally, but I disagree. Dinah treated her male relatives with respect, and her later hatred of them was for personal reasons only- not just because they were men. The reason the men weren't as fleshed out as the women is simply because Dinah did not know them as well. She was surrounded by women, so that's what would have stuck with her.

    It seems the more impressed I am with a book, the less I have to say about it. Overall a beautiful, sad story about womanhood and family that I whole-heartedly recommend.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2002

    Not Blasphemous!

    Although Diamant's depiction of the life of Dinah may differ from the version given in the Bible, this does not make her tale invalid. The many details in the book make it clear that the time period and status of women has been researched to the very utmost...whereas during the time of the Bible, women were not given a voice...these things were ignored. It was a highly moving tale... and who is to say that Joseph did not become selfish, or that Dinah was not in love with Shalem? Would Dinah have been asked before her history was recorded so briefly? A moving, captivating read, that I would recommend not only to women but to anyone willing to keep an open mind.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2012

    Extraordinary story

    The Red Tent is about Dinah, daughter of Jacob, who is one of the characters in the Bible. It tells the story of life growing up during Biblical times and the struggles for women. It starts of with Dinah living with her mothers and their responsibilities in the community. Their connection with each other helps them through the struggles they endure because they have to live with someone with different beliefs and on his own mission of shaping Christianity. We then follow Dinah to Shechem where she learns to become a midwife and falls in love with a prince, Shalem. After they are married, her brothers, Levi and Simon, slaughter her husband because they felt he had taken their sister without permission. Dinah is then left with Shalem's mother, Re-Nefer, and they run away together to Egypt to live with her brother. In Egypt, Dinah raises her son and remarries. Eventually, she is confronted with her past when she runs into Joseph, Jacob's son. But is able to go back to her life in Egypt, leaving her past behind her. Dinah's story is one of empowerment and overcoming of obstacles. What I really liked about this was that it didn't feel like a Biblical tale but an almost non-fiction documentary on the women's life in ancient times. I recommend this book because it provides insight on a more difficult time and how women have always been fighting for their freedom and a place in history.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2010

    Highly recommend reading this book.

    A friend commented on Facebook that she was reading this book on WeRead. Since I received a Nook for Mother's Day, I have been adding books I'd like to read to my Wish List. I immediately went to Barnes & Noble to see if it was in ebook form. I purchased it and found it to be an excellent book. It is a book that could be read in one sitting if a person were inclined to do that. The author is very graphic in describing the behavior of the men and the interactions between the men and women. The women of this day had a very hard life and suffered greatly in child birth and their daily living. It was very easy to fill great compassion for Dinah and all that she endured. Knowing the Bible story of Joseph and his brothers, I wondered if that aspect would be included in the story. It was, however not as told in the Bible. It is a work of fiction, I kept telling myself. However, I did not want the story to end. In the end, Dinah did find happiness in her life.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2010

    UNFORGETTABLE

    As soon as i read the first page of this book i just wanted more and more. This is a touching book with such realism you'll think you're with dinah the whole time through her adventure. Its a heart-wrenching/warming story that you will want to read again and again.(which i have done!)...you will not regret getting this book. 10000000% recommended!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    I stayed up way too late every night until I finished this book. Great story-telling and fantastic imagery made me feel like I was there. (I also think this red tent idea sounds fantastic!)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Amazing and powerful

    Anita wrote this as if she herself walked in the shoes of Dinah. Has a wonderfully Pagan feel to it and I, as well as my friends feel as if Anita and Dinah are our sisters

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Love it and wish we still had the tents

    It would be so cool if we continued to have these tents for women to go to. I for one think there is wisdom to the old ways. As I get older I enjoy the company of women more and more for comfort and humor. I imagine what today's world would be like if women did have a place to go and just be with one another. I think many of our young women would not be making the tragic and lonely choices they make if we had this kind of environment for one another. I know its unpopular but I even think the many wives might not be such a bad idea either, maybe that is the solution to divorce. Maybe we're not supposed to have one man to one woman? Just a thought.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Utterly Breathtaking!

    What a beautiful, moving, earthy story. You are guaranteed to breathe in the dust and swirl your fingers through the waters of the Nile in this jewel. Fiction...but fascinating. Faceless names will come alive as the story of Dinah unfolds. Don't miss this one or the laughter and tears it will bring.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Loved this book

    This book is a wonderful spin on the women of biblical times. We read the bible, written by men, and it's mostly about the men. This book goes into the dwellings and shows us what the daily lives of the women of those times might have been. While it is written through the author's imagination, it is a very interesting and plausible reality. The book gives life to the women who held the families together. I absolutely loved it and was disappointed when it ended. I wanted more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2003

    This is a Womans book...

    I truly loved this book!! Im not a very religious person and have not read the Bible, but this story is amazing! Its about time you hear something of the women of that time..and what a story Dinah has to tell!! I rarely cry reading a book,but at the end of this book when all is said and done I felt so overwhelmed, I cried and cried!! Do yourself a favor and read this book!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2003

    A book you cant put down!

    This is one of the most incredible books out there. Men and women should be required to read this it is so great. I laughed, cried and was awestruck by the story. It is a great summer read. I could not put it down.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    The Red Tent

    This is a beautifully told story of the many aspects of womanhood.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    The Red Tent

    I have had this book for years and finally read it. All I can say is WOW. I missed out on a book that has been on my shelf since its first publication. Dinah is the daughter of Jacob and his first wife Leah. Joseph is her half brother , they shared the same breast though. A story straight out of the Old Testament told in a modern fictionalized but biblically correct way. This story is also from the Torah. Known to christians as the five books of Moses. The story is incredible. And I wish more was out there that was so well written. Young and old alike will like this one. Even if you are not religious you would like this book. Five stars from me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Wonderful

    Great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2013

    One of the best books I've ever read.

    One of the best books I've ever read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2013

    Great Book To Read

    This book is one of the best books I've red in a long while. Not many pages, yet full of wisdom and insight of your beginnings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Loved it

    Want to read and reread

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Highly recommended! You must check it out!

    Excellent read! Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Anna

    Yeah im fine i gtg its 12:11 here and i gpta get up at five

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 454 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 23