Customer Reviews for

Red Velvet Cupcake Murder (Hannah Swensen Series #16)

Average Rating 4
( 106 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

it was soooo good to go back to minnesota and see hannah again.

it was soooo good to go back to minnesota and see hannah again. the characters in the lake eden stories are so real they seem like family. there is a grand opening for a new condo, and hannah is comissioned to bake for it. she cose her red velvet cupcakes among othe...
it was soooo good to go back to minnesota and see hannah again. the characters in the lake eden stories are so real they seem like family. there is a grand opening for a new condo, and hannah is comissioned to bake for it. she cose her red velvet cupcakes among other items. barbara the secretary for the police dept. is pushed(?) or jumps (?) from the penthouse roof and is hurt and is hospitized. a few days later dr bev, (yes niorman's ex is here), is fouond dead in the lake iin her fancy sports car. hannah is the prime suspect because her cupcake is part of the evidence. can hannah clear herself? hannah is still on the fence about mike and norman too. barbara keeps referring to her 'brother', but everyone knows she was an only child. as usual, ms joanne has written a story that will keep you interested all the way through. and the recipes are to die for, (no pun intended)! gotta read this newest of hannah ventures.

posted by judiOH on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Enough already

Hannah needs to make up her mind about her love life. I am tired of her indecision. It is unbecoming
for a woman her age. She is sounding more & more like a teenager. This book had so many improbable situations that it was a disappointment. Grow up, Hannah. For a wo...
Hannah needs to make up her mind about her love life. I am tired of her indecision. It is unbecoming
for a woman her age. She is sounding more & more like a teenager. This book had so many improbable situations that it was a disappointment. Grow up, Hannah. For a woman in business, in a small town, Hannah's character has to mature. I preferred the earlier books.

posted by SGW53 on April 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 1, 2013

    it was soooo good to go back to minnesota and see hannah again.

    it was soooo good to go back to minnesota and see hannah again. the characters in the lake eden stories are so real they seem like family. there is a grand opening for a new condo, and hannah is comissioned to bake for it. she cose her red velvet cupcakes among other items. barbara the secretary for the police dept. is pushed(?) or jumps (?) from the penthouse roof and is hurt and is hospitized. a few days later dr bev, (yes niorman's ex is here), is fouond dead in the lake iin her fancy sports car. hannah is the prime suspect because her cupcake is part of the evidence. can hannah clear herself? hannah is still on the fence about mike and norman too. barbara keeps referring to her 'brother', but everyone knows she was an only child. as usual, ms joanne has written a story that will keep you interested all the way through. and the recipes are to die for, (no pun intended)! gotta read this newest of hannah ventures.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Enough already

    Hannah needs to make up her mind about her love life. I am tired of her indecision. It is unbecoming
    for a woman her age. She is sounding more & more like a teenager. This book had so many improbable situations that it was a disappointment. Grow up, Hannah. For a woman in business, in a small town, Hannah's character has to mature. I preferred the earlier books.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2013

    Sigh... I keep thinking Hannah will grow, but I've seen little o

    Sigh... I keep thinking Hannah will grow, but I've seen little of that. After this many books, While I realize that love triangles seem to keep books going for a time, they get stale. Since the beginning, I've thought that the natural choice was Normal and that's only solidified. He doesn't insult her the way Mike seems to. He's more sensitive to her needs and feelings... blah, I can go on. Hannah even says in this one or Cinnamon Roll that he loves her and her cat and she loves him and his cat and so what is she waiting for. That's my question as well. It's getting old that after all this time, she still can't or won't make a decision. And after nearly losing him to Dr. Bev? If that didn't convince her that she needs to crap or get off the pot, I don't know what will. While I enjoy the stories as a fast read to get me through my work-outs, if the characters don't develop any soon... I doubt I'll spend more money on this one. The mysteries are okay for series mysteries... I don't expect them to be "wowing", just interesting, and they're at least that. But the relationship between Hannah and Normal and Mike has become so ridiculous, it's distracting from the rest.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    The book was enjoyable but there were no surprises. The Hannah S

    The book was enjoyable but there were no surprises. The Hannah Swensen books seem to be stuck in a rut

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    I have read all the books in the series, but this is my last. T

    I have read all the books in the series, but this is my last. The characters have seemed to "dumb down" over the years, with the dialogue even more stillted. The characters don't sound or behave as if they're in this century. At least Hannah has a cell phoned now. The love triangle is ridiculous; the most eligible bachelors in town are content to be strung along by frumpy Hannah who from the sound of it doesn't have an intimate relationship with either one. What adult male would tolerate being strung along as these men are. This is another way the characters don't seem as if they're from this time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    Great food advice

    Far too much information about everything except the plot. Poor editing and writing also detract from whatever the story-line was supposed to be. I could not finish this book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Joanne Fluke has written better stories.

    I had to wonder if Ms. Fluke had help writing this edition to the Hannah Swensen stories. There were obvious inconsistencies between this book and previous books. How could the author not know that Hannah's Cookie Mobile was a Chevy Suburban, not a Chevy Blazer? The dialogue between characters was uncharacteristically juvenile and stilted. While it was a nice read, the plot was predictable and the dialogue redundant by repeating references far too often.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Rockshard

    He padded in.

    3 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Joanne fluke

    I buy murder mysteries. If i wanted more recipe books, i would buy them!!!! Jnet

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Can hardly wait!!!

    I have preordered Red Velvet Cupcake Murder by Joanne Fluke for my Nook

    2 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Can't go wrong with Hannah

    Hannah and her friends are the best. And the recipes are awesome.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Highly recommended

    The usual characters, and few unexpected ones and fun, interesting, occassionally a bizarre twist, suspense and humor that Joanne Fluke puts into her writing. Enjoyed this on as much as all her pervious in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    The recipes were great in this book, however the mystery really

    The recipes were great in this book, however the mystery really was non existant. Also, just out of curiosity, what century is this happening in? Panty hose? Pant Suits? Do these even exist anymore? Also, Hannah's fear of her mother is silly. It gets on my nerves. Just tell her to mind her own business! I love this series but I hope the next book brings some resolution to the love triangle and updates Hannah to this century.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    A Yummy book!

    As you read this book you get to try out some pretty good recipes I was reading this on my Nook and finally had to get the book because of all the good stuff in it. I really enjoy this book and will now have to read the other books by Ms. Fluke because if this one is good I can imagine what the others are like. So read and cook!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I'm not sure if I liked this so little because it was an audiobo

    I'm not sure if I liked this so little because it was an audiobook and the reader did not do it justice, or if I did not like it because it was just not a good book. Either way, the only reason I finished it is because I paid for it and I was working on my knitting and nothing was on television.

    First, when I am listening to an audiobook I don't want to listen to someone READ a recipe at the end of every other chapter, it's annoying.

    Second, it what universe does a woman in her mid 30s have two boyfriends for over five years and not have sex with either one and they stick around. Pick one, kill one, meet Prince Charming at the racetrack and drop them both, I don't care, it's just stupid. Also stupid is that Hannah is jealous when either one of them talks to another woman socially.

    Third, the police department is so inept they come to Hannah for help solving their crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Brenda womack

    Gonrty

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2014

    I enjoyed this book so much. I loved the recipes in her book. It

    I enjoyed this book so much. I loved the recipes in her book. It was funny. I will be buying more of her books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    JAKE TO MY LOVE

    I LUV U FROM THE GROUND TO THE SKY THE MOON TO THE SUN AND ALL I CAN HOPES IS THAT U LUV ME

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Pinkie pie to rd

    GET READY TO DIE!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Another winner

    I like this mystery series. This is the 16th in a very fresh mystery. Lake Eden is as much a character as are the many people populating this mystery. This one starts with the dispatcher being knocked over and then goes on from there. As always a murder takes place to create more intrigue. As always the ending was definitely satisfying yet I did not see it coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 106 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6