BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Red Water

Average Rating 4.5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Red Water

    This is one of the most fascinating true stories I have ever read. The author makes you care about the wives of JOhn D.Lee especially his first wife Emma who's story is told in the first person. We learn a lot about the history of these people .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2005

    Red Water

    I found this book to be one of the most fascinating and compelling books I've read. I was surprised to learn that it is based on historical fact and John D.Lee was in fact a real person with over 18 wives. I was most impressed with Emma's first person narration of her life with John and his wives. The author makes the reader care and hope for the wives in the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2004

    'Red Water' will stain the heart of every woman who has loved.

    Freeman's 'Red Water' as a fictional work is substantiated to be so close to historical fact by the events of those who were called by Brigham Young to leave thier homesteads in the Salt Lake Valley and harvest the unforgiving desert of Southern Utah. Here our childrens clothes, the bricks of our homes, and even our skin is stained 'red' from the soil, the metaphor was articulate and brilliant. As a resident of Washington Utah and a Daughter of a Utah Pioneer I applaude Judith Freeman for her portrayal of this controversial event as a bronze statue of John D. Lee sits in a warehouse in the dark removed by our Washington Utah city council. No massacre could have been undertaken by one man alone, although tragic and not forgotton by those who live here but with the isolation, lack of communication from Salt Lake and their former memberships in other faith, this area was a melding pot of religous fanatics giving meaning to the Biblical parable of putting 'New wine in old bottles.' Lee's hands are likely to be bloody, but as the only man condemned to die for 120 souls slayed seems condesending in theory as Red Water shows he was obviously the communal and church scapegoat, however men act in poor judgement in a perpetual state of fear and hunger. Don't judge them too harshly Dear Readers remembering their mental states after Missouri (the Mormon-Extermination Act still on the books until 1960-70's where it was legal to kill a Mormon), Carthage-and the murder of the Prophet and his brother Joseph and Hyrum Smith, Navoou, and the perilous journey across the plains as my own Great-Grandparents buried 4 of their 5 children in shallow graves along with way. Red Water shows strength in character of 3 women that modeled the lives of our Great-Grandmother's, no matter how silent were not mealy-moused women, but survivors and fighters in their faith who chose their lifestyle of poligamy. Freeman crossed the line slightly as she delves into things sacred to the Mormon people but accomplishes her work with a gift of developing her characters and good story-telling, I could not put this book down. I disagree with the critic from New York who would not leave their name-in the days of fantasy and Harry Potter this is the real deal. Do not pass this one by-a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2003

    A reader in Oklahoma

    These are stories of pioneers in religion and of the west. I enjoyed this book very much. I had no idea the US used the polygamy issue as a way to divert attention from slavery. In this story is love, survival, care of children and animals, farming, a glimpse into Mormonism and search for self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Outstanding book!

    This is great writing. I was completely taken in by just about everything about this book. I found the characters complex, the scenery beautiful, the language believable. The women were all interesting to me, and I didn't find anywhere that my interest lagged. I even found myself seeing John D. Lee as human for the first time, something even his memoirs were unable to accomplish. I don't know much about the theology or morality of the 19th century Mormon church, so I can't really say whether it was accurate in that regard or not, although I found it believable. I do, however, know a great deal about Mountain Meadows, having read just about everything published about it, including much of the apologist garbage that passes for history written by defenders. I can tell you that I found nothing she wrote about the massacre with which I disagreed, right down to "putting the saddle on the right horse." Brigham Young was directly responsible for ordering the massacre, and John D. Lee was just following orders, although that makes him no less a murderer in my eyes. It is no better defense here than it was at Nuremberg or Mai Lai. I do confess a bias, however, although different from that of others. I first "met" Captain Alexander Fancher, leader of the Fancher party murdered at the meadows, as I was researching his brother, my great grandfather John Fancher. I found them and their families side by side in the 1850 census of San Diego, California. They had apparently come out together to try their hand at cattle raising and were headed for Tulare county in central California. There I saw a listing of Captain Fancher and his entire family, wife Eliza (whose blood stained dress Emma was wearing in the scene of her great humiliation), age 28, son Hampton, age 12, William age 10, Mary, age 9, Thomas, age 7, Martha, age 4, and lastly the twins, both 1 and a half, Sarah and Margaret, for whom my mother was named. All of these people would be murdered at Mountain Meadows by John D. Lee and those he led and followed. Even the twins, a mere 8 years old at the time of the massacre, did not survive. Only Kit Carson Fancher and Traphina (Emma's apparent accusor in the dress scene) survived, both born after 1850. Alexander and family had returned to Arkansas to collect family and friends to bring out to the California paradise and were headed to meet his brother when they met their fate. His brother John, with whom Captain Fancher was very close, didn't know of his brother's fate for some time after the massacre, and didn't know the truth until many years later. So you see, it takes quite a gifted writer to humanize someone like John Doyle Lee in my eyes. I even found him sympathetic at times. Freeman has found a way to zero in on one of the great mysteries of the Mountain Meadows Massacre: how otherwise decent men, who love and are loved, could find it in their hearts to commit such a slaughter of innocents. This is by far the best fictional account of the massacre and its aftermath that I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2002

    Pass This One By

    The Mountain Meadows Massacre is an event in US history full of drama, conflicts, and high emotional stakes. With so much going for you, how can a writer loose? Unfortunately the massacre is only used as a backdrop for some very bland and one dimensional character writing. Additionally, the author passed on the terrific conflict for cheep thrills. Instead of telling a good story, she focuses on titillating her audience with fanatic behavior and sexual situations. The Mormon faith is one with a lot of mystic. The author seems intent on portraying this faith as negatively as possible. Maybe her agenda got in the way of a good story? Pass this one by.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1