Customer Reviews for

Red, White & Liberal: How Left Is Right & Right Is Wrong

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2004

    Both Conservatives and Liberals will love this.

    The best thing about this book is that it is very straighforward. Colme's arguements are well organized, logical,, fair and clear. Unlike other liberals and conservatives, Alen takes a more meaningful approach in which he presents good points without mocking the other side. I just couldn't put this book down. Alen also has a better sense of humor than I thought. He doesn't take the usual arrogant 'im always right, and your all wrong' approach. He presents the fact and details, and you decide. We should have more of these honest dignified books. This book is well worth every dime. Very highly recommended.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    Thanks, Alan.

    Alan Colmes gives voice in this book to what I've thought about many conservatives and Republicans for years. He backs up his opinions with facts, unlike other authors who tend more toward sensationalism. Colmes also reminds us to tolerate dissenting voices while continuing to stand up for our beliefs - how very American.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2003

    Liberal, fair and factual

    Alan Colmes, author of Red, White and Liberal, was the first liberal signed to Fox News Radio and the only nationally syndicated liberal voice on talk radio with his show Fox News live with Alan Colmes. He is also the co-host of Hannity and Colmes, which is on prime time on the Fox News Network. As a liberal in what some people would say is enemy territory on Fox News, Alan Colmes holds his own while giving strong arguments on the liberal take of current issues that are affecting America today. Alan Colmes is the foremost liberal voice on Fox News television and radio and will not be silenced by the right in his defense of liberal ideology. In his book Red, White and Liberal, Alan Colmes writes that conservatives in general have drowned out the liberal voice and has successfully played victims to the so-called liberal media to marginalize, discredit and weaken liberal arguments and perspectives. Alan Colmes also writes about the myth of the liberal media and takes aim at conservative ideology. Protecting our freedom without diminishing our liberties is the overall theme of Red, White and Liberal. Alan Colmes puts major emphasis on the force-fed War in Iraq and how conservatives have ¿successfully turned liberal into a four-letter word.¿ In Red, White and Liberal, Alan Colmes is as angry with the right as any liberal is with what he calls a ¿mean spirited portrayal¿ of liberals and their views on current issues. ¿A smear campaign¿ Alan Colmes exclaims as he refers to the conservatives treatment of the left. Alan Colmes also reminds us of our liberal roots when he writes about how our forefathers spoke out against the status quo and fought for the individuals right to opportunity, choice and privacy. Furthermore, Alan Colmes tells of the accomplishments of the liberals throughout history, such as Thomas Jefferson fighting for the Bill of Rights, William Jennings Bryan fighting for and winning women¿s suffrage, President Woodrow Wilson bringing us the League of Nations and the Federal Reserve Board. Also Leading America through World War I. President Franklin Roosevelt bringing us out of the Great Depression with his New deal, Works Progress Administration, and the creation of Social Security and also leading America in World War II. President John F. Kennedy created the Peace corp. and led our country through the Cuban Missile Crisis while bringing a new optimism to America, which resulted in the first man on the moon. President Lyndon Johnson heralded the civil rights movement with the civil Rights Act and the Voting Rights Act. It was Johnson¿s Great Society that declared war on poverty and created Medicaid and Medicare. Alan Colmes says that liberals ¿do not need to add the word compassionate to their name to further define what they are: the notion is built in to the philosophy.¿ Throughout this book you cannot help but to respect the knowledge and principles in which Alan Colmes stands. Alan Colmes gives strong, thought provoking arguments that are logical and humorous and backed by well-documented facts. Alan Colmes gives an enhanced understanding of the issues of today and you can¿t help but to conclude that liberals are right and the right is wrong. The issues are handled so well in Red, White and Liberal, that it is hard to tell that there is a liberal slant on the issues discussed. The issues are so well laid out, the arguments so logical and the facts so overwhelming that you can¿t help to agree with the positions that Alan Colmes takes. The style in which Alan Colmes writes Red, White and Liberal, makes for easy reading. This books content is so well laid out, that it is hard not to like it. One thing about Alan Colmes¿s book that I truly respect is that there is no mudslinging in Red, White and Liberal, which leaves this book open to conservatives to read without being offended and enhances Alan Colmes¿s credibility. Rather than slinging mud and insults, he slings facts and logic. Red

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    I needed something to help place my TV for the proper viewing an

    I needed something to help place my TV for the proper viewing angle so I can watch FOX news and since I could not bring myself to use any of the books by Hannity or Reilly this book seemed the obvious choice.



    Fred

    Would use book again for same purpose anytime!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    Good, Not Great

    The content of the book is good. Colmes is one of the few liberal political pundits who can be taken seriously. Although he does speak the truth in this book, it's not that exciting to read and doesn't really offer any laughs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2004

    Lacks Passion

    Alan Colmes book is empty of passion. His words are strung together to form a text for his liberal beliefs. To put his book in context it's without heart and soul like a boy band is to the music scene. Alan seems like a nice guy. I believe he actually has the beliefs he advocates. The problem is that this book is totally souless. It appears to be the work of a very good editor who organized Alan's points into chapters which became a book. If anyone is to be credited here it is Alan's editor who appears to be the driving force in making this a presentable work. This all goes back to my point about this being similar to a boy band. It's passionless. It mimics other books much like a boy band mimics others bands but it's all contrived. There aren't any deep rooted emotions here. Alan spends time saying this conservative and that conservative is my friend to the point that he is so busy appeasing everyone that he comes across as lacking in depth. He fence straddles on several points to the extent that you think he was running for office or something. In short, while the points raised in the book appeared to be Alan's beliefs the book is empty of an emotional core that brings the writer into what is being said. Read Sidney Blumenthal's 'Clinton Wars' to see what a real writer with heart and deep rooted convictions writes like. This book is like an 'intro to liberalism' and those who are looking for elementary discussions of this topic may find this book acceptable. Everyone else should take a pass.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2003

    A Lemon

    Alan's book does not work. He is confusing and obfuscating at best. He needs to reexamine his ideas, thoughts, presentation, and writing abilities. As one can see, after an initial burst upon release, sales have plummeted in freefall. That he thinks Mr. Simpson is still innocent causes one to question his sanity, let alone his powers of intellect, judgment and analytical powers. Mr. Colmes has produced a Lemon in writing this book that neither the Liberal nor Conservative finds redeeming value in reading. This is sad because Mr. Colmes seems to be a Fair and Balanced person.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1