Customer Reviews for

Red, White, and Blood (Nathaniel Cade Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great characters, tight, fast-moving plot-- a bloody fun read!

It's an election year. Once you hit the inevitable point in the near future when you just cannot face one more left-or-right-leaning piece of political commentary, THIS is the book to grab. I mean, who WOULDN'T enjoy reading about a monster who targets political hacks w...
It's an election year. Once you hit the inevitable point in the near future when you just cannot face one more left-or-right-leaning piece of political commentary, THIS is the book to grab. I mean, who WOULDN'T enjoy reading about a monster who targets political hacks with... hacks?

Generally I don't go for vampire genre books because they tend to be poorly written and too formulaic to be exciting. This series rocks it, though. (Red, White and Blood is book 3; the first two novels were excellent as well.) In vampire Nathaniel Cade and his handler Zach Barrows, Farnsworth has created characters as cool and well-matched as Holmes & Watson or Spock and Kirk.

The WRITING is what I loved: the dialog was snappy and fun and the plot had nonstop hairpin turns that were beautifully crafted. And by overlaying this construct of a vampire who is bound by oath to serve and protect the president onto the 2012 campaign trail... well, it just WORKS. Really really well.

Fast pace. Unique and well-formed characters. Fun and surprisingly twisty plot. Backstage on the campaign trail. AND WITH A VAMPIRE -- trust me, it works!

(BTW, I have zero connection to the author. I simply think he is a talented guy and I had fun reading his books.)

posted by 9212370 on May 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

couldn't recommend

Read the first book in the public library. Had a good storyline. Good characters and plenty of action. Enjoyed it though it was quite different from what I usually read. Bought the second book as soon as it came out. I was a little disappointed in it. Didn't feel ...
Read the first book in the public library. Had a good storyline. Good characters and plenty of action. Enjoyed it though it was quite different from what I usually read. Bought the second book as soon as it came out. I was a little disappointed in it. Didn't feel it was up to the first. Pre-ordered the third, and was sorely disappointed in it. Too much blood, gut, and sex and not enough of a good story to keep my interest. Read about 1/3 of the book and gave it away.

posted by 12020418 on May 10, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Great characters, tight, fast-moving plot-- a bloody fun read!

    It's an election year. Once you hit the inevitable point in the near future when you just cannot face one more left-or-right-leaning piece of political commentary, THIS is the book to grab. I mean, who WOULDN'T enjoy reading about a monster who targets political hacks with... hacks?

    Generally I don't go for vampire genre books because they tend to be poorly written and too formulaic to be exciting. This series rocks it, though. (Red, White and Blood is book 3; the first two novels were excellent as well.) In vampire Nathaniel Cade and his handler Zach Barrows, Farnsworth has created characters as cool and well-matched as Holmes & Watson or Spock and Kirk.

    The WRITING is what I loved: the dialog was snappy and fun and the plot had nonstop hairpin turns that were beautifully crafted. And by overlaying this construct of a vampire who is bound by oath to serve and protect the president onto the 2012 campaign trail... well, it just WORKS. Really really well.

    Fast pace. Unique and well-formed characters. Fun and surprisingly twisty plot. Backstage on the campaign trail. AND WITH A VAMPIRE -- trust me, it works!

    (BTW, I have zero connection to the author. I simply think he is a talented guy and I had fun reading his books.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2012

    Get it soon. A great read!

    The very 1st page grabs you and the thrill ride
    continues from there. This book is one you don't
    want to put down until the last page!
    Scary enough that you might not want to read
    if you're home alone. Terrific characters.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!!!

    Was not disappointed with book 3. Left me looking for more pages!!! Can not wait for book 4.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2012

    Very Good, Good Read

    This series is not your normal vampire romances!. Actually there is no romance. It is a combination suspense spy thriller with a vampire as a character. I do have to say that I did wish for Cade, the vampire, to be more prominent in the book he is just one of many characters to me. I would have liked him to have had more depth, but I have read the whole series to now and will read any new books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Awesome!

    Would recommend to anyone who likes vampires....great series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    couldn't recommend

    Read the first book in the public library. Had a good storyline. Good characters and plenty of action. Enjoyed it though it was quite different from what I usually read. Bought the second book as soon as it came out. I was a little disappointed in it. Didn't feel it was up to the first. Pre-ordered the third, and was sorely disappointed in it. Too much blood, gut, and sex and not enough of a good story to keep my interest. Read about 1/3 of the book and gave it away.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    This series does not disappoint

    Really enjoyed this entry in the series. Old and new foes. Lots of action. Still love the relationship between Cade and Zach. And the end .... am I excited for the next book? Yes indeed.



    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    action packed

    all three of the books are great and very different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Bs

    Bs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I love this book as much as the first two in the series

    In this era of paranormal reads galore it is great to find a unique twist onthe vampire story. Cade is bound to the office of the Presidency and takes his "job" and commitment very seriously. Along with his human assistant who acts as a conduit with the President, Cade take on the job of cleaning up all that is odd and threatening to our way of life, The stories have enough political intrigue mirroring things past and present and issues abroad that also follow current events to make this entertaining and thought provoking. This book follows the President on the campaign re-election trail with horrible deaths of campaign workers in the wake of the entourage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Creepy and suspenseful, this is my favorite book in the series a

    Creepy and suspenseful, this is my favorite book in the series and I've really enjoyed all three. As scary as the paranormal "Other Side" bad guys are, the humans who choose evil (politicians, reporters, shadow government dudes!) are easily the most horrifying, and they outshine the monsters in this story. Which is pretty impressive when the actual villain is a demon from hell who carves up people for fun. Add in a seamless blending of historic record, conspiracy theories, and real people, and the world of Nathaniel Cade feels like our own. The shocking and ironic ending of this book reinforces that as well, and has lingered in my mind for days.
    This is top-notch storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2013

    It wasnt as good as the other two in my opinion but it was still

    It wasnt as good as the other two in my opinion but it was still pretty gripping and a solid page turner. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    5 Star!!!!!!

    This is the 3rd in the seres about Nathaniel Cade. Way to go Christopher Farnsworth! I have been collecting Vampire books for years and have a collection of over 300. This book and the 2 before it are AWESOME! Farnsworth's plot about a vampire who answers to the President is so creative and fresh. The characters are wonderful and well developed. A throughly enjoyable read if you like books about vampires and the supernatural. I highly recommend you go buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    I didn't have as many problems with this one as I did with the previous book in the series, but I still didn't like it as much as the first.

    I didn't have as many problems with this one as I did with the previous book in the series, but I still didn't like it as much as the first.

    Again we get a lot of cannon fodder, but it doesn't work against the story this time. The main supernatural threat of the book is a Jason Voorhees style killer. So as we go through the story, we occasionally get side tracked to briefly introduce a couple of new characters so that they can be killed off. Which is the same as what the author did in the last book (introducing minor characters to be killed), but it's handled better. It's not reliving the same moment of time over and over again from different perspectives just to increase the body count. It works because of the villain.

    My problem with it comes with an increase in the adult content. The series over all is definitely not for children, but this one goes further. The language is saltier, more characters are featured in compromising situations, and the descriptions of crime scenes are a bit gorier. Again, this is tied to the villain used. Instead of a supernatural thing that just kills at random, we have a superpowered guy with a big knife killing people that fit a specific modus operandi. Probably not a problem for most people, just not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Great Cliffhanger after a Fun Horror Adventure

    I'm not usually a big fan of monster books, but this series us really fun and weird. And, this one not only had a great adventure in Monster Hunting, it has a great cliff hanger ending. I'm looking forward to the next book, which could be CRAZY if the story goes the way I think it will. It really is a great adventure with some really fun Slasher Movie gripes and inside jokes. The next book will require you to have read this one, the other books don't need to be read in order, but the next one will.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    2 awsome

    I could not put this one done! I love the other 2 in this series aswell. I hope he writes more of these

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    Highly recommended

    Love this author and have read each of the books in the series. Can't wait foe the next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Once again fantastic !!

    The 3rd of the series does not disappoint ! Just an outstanding series with an awesome lead character ! Simple read for a great escape!! CADE FOR PRESIDENT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    Cody

    Where is palkia!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    So this is the 3rd book in the Nathaniel Cade series, and it is

    So this is the 3rd book in the Nathaniel Cade series, and it is the best one so far. I have to say overall story was a little slow, but what really made the book was the ending. I never expect it!! But what really made the book for me was Cade back story. I loved reading about how he interacted with past Presidents, and the orders he was given. I know that it's going to be at least a year before the next book comes out, but when it does I will be at the book store to pick it up. I cannot wait to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2