Customer Reviews for

The Redbreast (Harry Hole Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Thank you, Joe Queenan

I know the author of "Redbreast" is not Joe Queenan; I am thanking Mr. Queenan for his recognition of Scandinavian writers as a fresh voice in the mystery/crime fiction genre. Spot-on.
The non-spoiler summary:
A few good cops, some with some bad habits, are pitted aga...
I know the author of "Redbreast" is not Joe Queenan; I am thanking Mr. Queenan for his recognition of Scandinavian writers as a fresh voice in the mystery/crime fiction genre. Spot-on.
The non-spoiler summary:
A few good cops, some with some bad habits, are pitted against office politics (and office politicians, as well as some not-so-good cops) while trying to catch a skilled killer with quite a bit of method, and history, to his madness.
The substance:
Jo Nesbo (don't know how to do the o-slash) is a solid but creative writer with the instinct to tell a real, honest-to-goodness human story that draws readers in without insulting their intelligence by weighing them down with unnecessary details. About halfway through the book, I had to smile at the writing skill - it's been awhile since I've read a story constructed as thoughtfully as this one. "Redbreast" has (enough) surprises to keep the reader intrigued, and although the material doesn't use the accepted U.S. standards for action, romance, or drama, Nesbo blends the perfect recipe of all three into an underlying plot related to one of the main characters.

posted by 1356237 on May 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

badly written nonsense

This book begins with, and the plot turn on, a case of mistaken identity with agents guarding dignitaries. It has the hero, Harry Hole, checking his .38 caliber revolver and then checking for the two 'magazines' for the gun. revolvers do not have magazines. Then he c...
This book begins with, and the plot turn on, a case of mistaken identity with agents guarding dignitaries. It has the hero, Harry Hole, checking his .38 caliber revolver and then checking for the two 'magazines' for the gun. revolvers do not have magazines. Then he checks the safety. Revolvers do not have safeties. Then he runs toward a person in a toll booth and worries that his weapon will penetrate the 'light ballistic' vests of the Secret Service. 'light ballistic' vests will easily stop a 38 caliber round. Then he opens fire and penetrates the heavy glass of a toll booth with that .38 caliber revolver; unlikely.
And the suspect he fires at is alone. I've worked presidential security details. No one, repeat no one, is ever deployed alone.
So the book starts off with utter nonsense and goes very quickly south with purple prose, Hardy boy dialog and characters and generally little to pull it out of the hole -- you'll excuse the pun -- of the first few chapters. If you're a young adult and utterly indifferent to accuracy in your thrillers, this might be a book for you. I'd pass and save the money, were I you.

posted by edofarrell on April 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Thank you, Joe Queenan

    I know the author of "Redbreast" is not Joe Queenan; I am thanking Mr. Queenan for his recognition of Scandinavian writers as a fresh voice in the mystery/crime fiction genre. Spot-on.
    The non-spoiler summary:
    A few good cops, some with some bad habits, are pitted against office politics (and office politicians, as well as some not-so-good cops) while trying to catch a skilled killer with quite a bit of method, and history, to his madness.
    The substance:
    Jo Nesbo (don't know how to do the o-slash) is a solid but creative writer with the instinct to tell a real, honest-to-goodness human story that draws readers in without insulting their intelligence by weighing them down with unnecessary details. About halfway through the book, I had to smile at the writing skill - it's been awhile since I've read a story constructed as thoughtfully as this one. "Redbreast" has (enough) surprises to keep the reader intrigued, and although the material doesn't use the accepted U.S. standards for action, romance, or drama, Nesbo blends the perfect recipe of all three into an underlying plot related to one of the main characters.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intelligent, complex and compelling.

    A complicated combination of characters is introduced to us when they are young and reintroduced to us over 50 years later. I admit to being confused more than once until I started to see how the author uses this devise to keep the reader off balance. Once I thought I had it figured out...bam...Nesbo quickly pulled the rug from under my feet.

    The translator does a wonderful job. too. The phrasing in natural and the characters, although sometimes hard to keep straight, are very believable.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    A thriller spanning 60 years.

    A mystery/thriller involving neo-Nazis and their ties to Norway's involvement in WWII. The novel itself jumps back and forth in time, giving pertinent clues to the reader while immersing them in 2 separate stories tied together. This may sound more daunting than it is-- by the time the story reaches its climax it all makes sense. The characters draw you in with their human qualities-- the only issue I had was occasionally losing track of some of them due to my unfamiliarity of Norwegian names. There is a sequence of answering machine messages in the novel that really drew me in to the main character, Harry Hole-- he truly felt like a real person.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    TWISTED AND INTENSE

    This is my second book by Jo Nesbo. In The Readbreast, he had the skils to conceive a story blending the high beating pulse of an international thriller mixed with the intrigue of the hard boiled. Fast paced, suspenseful, entertaining and with an arrray of similar characters and ingenious twists and turns, The Readbreast will not disappoint readers, who will have to make an intellectual effort so as not to get lost in the story who looks confusing with purpose, it leaves some unsolved issues for a sequel. After having finished it, I now feel compelled to go and read all the following Nesbo published books. He shows he is a cultivated, smart and sly author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I liked it.

    I wasn't bothered by storyline going back and forth on the timeline. I found the history of Norwegian SS volunteers interesting. I enjoyed the plot line, the characters - good and bad, and was stunned to have a possible romantic interest abruptly killed. The name Harry Hole is a bit much, but I like the character. Tell me it's not Wallender with an overlay of Rebus. I plan on reading all of the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Throughly enjoyed this thriller, unlike "edofarrell"';

    Throughly enjoyed this thriller, unlike "edofarrell"';s review. I also noticed the magazines with a 38 calibre but immediately thought perhaps there was something "missing in the translation". It can't be easy to translate from another language. Myself, I gave it a pass and sure glad I did. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2014

    Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole getting better and better

    Already a good series with the first two books Jo Nesbo's Harry Hole stories move into the excellent range with The Redbeast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2014

    I was hesitant to buy this book, as I'm sick of politics in all

    I was hesitant to buy this book, as I'm sick of politics in all forms.  However, I found that this book like some other books I've read over time gave me another facet.  The mystery was interesting, and as always Harry keeps me guessing.  I did find myself looking up  the part Norway played in WWII and would not have except for this book,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2013

    Good book, but could have been better.

    I liked the book, but it could have been better. Closer to 3.5 stars than 4 really. I liked The Bat a little more. I will read more from Nesbo, but right now I need something a little lighter.

    Pretty much all of the WWII stuff, which took up a good portion of the beginning of the book, could have been cut. It was nice back story, but it really could have been told just as well in a condensed version towards the end in the 'memoir' section. The alternating current/WWII chapters also made it somewhat untidy. Like Life of Pi, the chapters were very short. There are over 100 chapters for a book of less than 500 pages.

    The character development was quite good. The location settings were well described. The feeling of despair that Harry evokes comes through. I've learned a new word, and it is ennui. I think it describes Harry well. I really liked Ellen and wish she could have had a larger, continuing role. But, I think that is simply a part of Nesbo's writing technique: Harry can never be happy for long.

    The parts that bugged me the most were about the weapons. I'm not sure if Nesbo is simply unfamiliar with firearms (he shouldn't be having been in the military), lazy in his writing about them, or deliberately misleading his readers about them. Another possibility is that it's the translator doing it. Whichever it is, it's extremely annoying. I'm not even a firearms person, but the errors were so egregious as to detract from the story. There were several times I had to put it down and shake my head.

    The ebook was formatted well. There were no obvious spelling mistakes (though a few times non-American spellings made their way in), and only a couple of punctuation/line break errors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2012

    This story is gonna be good!

    I'm on pg 219. Read the other reviews. After S Laarsen (? spelling?) I was prepared for the slow burn....Completely worth the investment, I am unable to put this down. By the way, the individual chapter titles make it so easy to refresh your memory when flipping from time/place. Buy it! Note bene: the rating is given prior to completing the book, but I immediately caught onto writing style and give prelim 4, likely to end up 5 by completion! So happy to find new (to me) author! Enjoy, better yet, it's also part of a series. Look forward to more of his stuff while on vacay in Caribbean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Worth the read

    Jo Nesbo does a great job of weaving a web of intrigue. I was pulled into the story right off. I wanted to know more about Harry Hole and the other characters as well as what the "old man" was going to do. This was a book that was hard to put down and was drawn into the plot when Nesbo wove in and out of the present and the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    Great read

    This is the first of the Harry Hole novels that is translated into English and is a very good read. This book gives one a flash back to WWII politics of sweden as well as a modern day mystery. If you have read any of the Harry Hole books this is a must because it gives you a background of the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2012

    Recommended

    Complex characters and a challenge to figure out who the bad guy is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2