Customer Reviews for

The Redeemer (Harry Hole Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

unputdownable

This tightly plotted mystery is brilliant...the twists and turns kept me on my toes, first trying to figure out the whodunnit, then the whydunnit. Then some new aspect would come to light, and I'd have to start all over again...and again, and again. A real challenge to ...
This tightly plotted mystery is brilliant...the twists and turns kept me on my toes, first trying to figure out the whodunnit, then the whydunnit. Then some new aspect would come to light, and I'd have to start all over again...and again, and again. A real challenge to keep up with the story - in the best possible way!

More like this, please!!!

posted by 299112 on May 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

INTERESTING I picked this up because I LOVED 'The Snowman', BUT.

INTERESTING
I picked this up because I LOVED 'The Snowman', BUT.... I thought this one was somewhat confusing. There are many characters. It takes a while to get into the story. The main plot, the murder, is accompanied by many subplots that include the rape of a girl t...
INTERESTING
I picked this up because I LOVED 'The Snowman', BUT.... I thought this one was somewhat confusing. There are many characters. It takes a while to get into the story. The main plot, the murder, is accompanied by many subplots that include the rape of a girl that happened years ago along with a current rape situation, conflict within the Salvation Army(which has it's headquarters in Norway), the Serb-Croatian conflict, a company trying to regain financial resources, infidelity and of course Harry's(the main character) personal conflicts to name a few. The story does have many convolutions and keeps you involved. This is the fourth(?) in a series. I imagine it may be better if readers start with the first and evolve with it(the series) unlike me who started with the fifth, but each can stand alone. Am unsure if I will go back and start at the beginning .

posted by GreenEyedReader on May 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    unputdownable

    This tightly plotted mystery is brilliant...the twists and turns kept me on my toes, first trying to figure out the whodunnit, then the whydunnit. Then some new aspect would come to light, and I'd have to start all over again...and again, and again. A real challenge to keep up with the story - in the best possible way!

    More like this, please!!!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The taut writing is supplemented with a broad cast of characters

    The taut writing is supplemented with a broad cast of characters. But more important are the insights into Harry’s psyche. He is still suffering from the death of his partner and the corruption of some of his colleagues who ran an arms supply business right out of police headquarters (an enterprise to which Harry put an end, somewhat to the disdain of some other police officers).

    “The Redeemer” is a complex mystery which slowly builds to the point where the reader needs Harry’s help in understanding just what has transpired. Along the way, it is filled with deep observations about junkies, rape, and even Serbian brutality, homelessness and other social issues. It probably is the best in the series to date, and is highly recommended.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Jo Nesbo once again demonstrates that he deserves all the litera

    Jo Nesbo once again demonstrates that he deserves all the literary awards he has won as a Scandinavian crime novelist. The Redeemer is carefully crafted to lay out a series of crimes over a period of decades that shape the characters who move the plot to its dramatic conclusion in the present day. Don Bartlett's translation preserves the tension and nuance that Nesbo is so adept at creating.

    Perhaps the religious overtones of the title have to do with a significant protagonist in the book, that being the religious organization of the Salvation Army as it operates in Norway. The denomination has a culture that shapes the individual soldiers that make up the Army. But the redemption theme can be found in multiple layers and multiple characters in the book. The central character in this series by Nesbo is detective Harry Hole, who is struggling daily with an addiction to alcohol. The population that the Salvation Army is primarily dealing with in Oslo are drug addicts but the Army also is providing aid in the form of housing to refugees from Croatia, a people much in need of mercy as well as redemption.

    But the term Redeemer is also applied to a contract killer whose reputation dates back to his childhood. As a youngster he had volunteered to plant bombs on Serbian tanks for the rebels in his war torn country when he saw that the adults were failing at this critically important task. He was given the nickname of Little Redeemer when his efforts turned the war efforts in favor of his side, at least temporarily.

    And the need for redemption also plays out in the Norwegian law enforcement world, as the effects of corruption have had a devastating effect on their leadership team.

    This fast paced story is set in Oslo during the Christmas season, so the weather plays a major role as well The story involves love, hate, sex, familial dysfunction and a serial killer to boot. Lots to think about as one's ideas about who the villains really are continually shift.

    What's not to like??

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Addicting!!!

    I love Harry Hole!!! I spent this summer reading Jo Nesbo. His books just keep getting better and better. Redbreast was good, Nemesis better, Devils Star, Snowman and Redeemer were great!! You fall in love with the characters in his books and the stories have many turns and twists. He also puts things in the books that might not come up until the next book. You really have to pay attention. He is a great writer. Read the books in order!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    If you liked the snowman you must read the redeemer!

    For those of you that just started reading the Harry Hole novels starting with the snow man you must read this book that gives a background to the people in Harry's life. The series is terrific and keeps you guessing and in suspense. I only wish that the first two books of the series were available in English in the states!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    One of his best

    Highly recommended, One of his best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Excellent

    Can always count on Jo Nesbo - excellent read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Fast reading, challenging characters, does not disappoint. A great action book. Can hardly wait for the next Harry Hole book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    The Redeemer

    Anything Jo Nesbo writes I get right away.....he is a very, very good writer with plots that mezmerize me......all hail Harry Hole.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2013

    Wonderful Tale

    This was a wonderful tale. The Norwegian way of doing things was very interesting to read about. So much angst in Harry Hole, makes me certain I will read more of Nesbo's works.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    I thought Harry died in the Phantom

    I thought Harry died in the Phantom

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    INTERESTING I picked this up because I LOVED 'The Snowman', BUT.

    INTERESTING
    I picked this up because I LOVED 'The Snowman', BUT.... I thought this one was somewhat confusing. There are many characters. It takes a while to get into the story. The main plot, the murder, is accompanied by many subplots that include the rape of a girl that happened years ago along with a current rape situation, conflict within the Salvation Army(which has it's headquarters in Norway), the Serb-Croatian conflict, a company trying to regain financial resources, infidelity and of course Harry's(the main character) personal conflicts to name a few. The story does have many convolutions and keeps you involved. This is the fourth(?) in a series. I imagine it may be better if readers start with the first and evolve with it(the series) unlike me who started with the fifth, but each can stand alone. Am unsure if I will go back and start at the beginning .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2014

    Highly recommend

    An excellent, fast moving read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    A uniformed member of the Salvation Army is shot dead ¿ assassin

    A uniformed member of the Salvation Army is shot dead – assassinated – during a concert on the streets of Oslo. Who did it? And why?

    Congratulations to Mr. Jo Nesbo, for crafting a murder mystery that kept me guessing up to the point when he chose to reveal details to the reader. And an attaboy is due for developing a set of characters who caught and kept my interest throughout the novel. Nesbo illustrated how each possessed abilities, honed through experience, to either detect truth or evade capture. However, not forgetting that Achilles could be harmed through his heel and Superman via Kryptonite, Nesbo reveals that his “good guys” had their flaws and the “bad guys” possessed some positive traits – although, in one case, those were a front for even worse behaviors.

    Normally, I try to read (or in this case, listen to audio book) of a series in sequential order. In this case, I was introduced to Harry Hole in the middle of the ongoing series. It may be my first visit, but it will definitely NOT be my last – I’ve already picked up 4 more books in this series.

    RATING: I enjoyed this book, found few if any flaws, and it stuck with me – that’s how I define 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2013

    Great read

    This book was amazing. Kept me guessing to the end and I didn't see the end coming. Jo Nesbo is a great writer and I sugguest reading all his books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    Best Nesbo

    This is the best book I have read by Jo Nesbo. It holds together more coherently and doesn't get side-lined. It is a solid thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2013

    Storytelling at it's best

    Story unfolds and twists in ways difficult to foretell. Only caveat is to keep reading. If you take too long in between, it’s difficult to remember all the characters. I also like novels that end in a dramatic, tragic way, but are still satisfying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    A terrific book!

    i have read everyone of Nesbo's books. They are exciting, fast-paced & thoroughly

    absorbing. The detective (Harry Hole) has weaknesses but is absolutely brilliant when

    analyzing & solving the crimes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    excellent book

    I have read all of the books that have been translated. This is a great series. This book is great. Love Harry. If you like mystery read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Slow starter, but holds your attention after page 75. Stick with it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3