Customer Reviews for

Redeeming Love

Average Rating 5
( 1330 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1140)

4 Star

(112)

3 Star

(42)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

best love story of all time

so I was looking for a love story, blah, I'm a romantic. I went to highest rated books on amazon. this has 777 5 star reviews so I read the overview of the book. it was obviously a christian love story and I was like, nah, God can't be in a romance book, it won't be goo...
so I was looking for a love story, blah, I'm a romantic. I went to highest rated books on amazon. this has 777 5 star reviews so I read the overview of the book. it was obviously a christian love story and I was like, nah, God can't be in a romance book, it won't be good. so I kept looking for my newest read...and kept being pulled back to Redeeming Love. I gave in and bought the ebook for my nook. I do not exagerate when I say I was hypnotised by these characters, moved by Angels story and sobbed, not cried, for almost all of this book. I have never been so emotionally involved in a story in all my life and I am an AVID reader. How stupid of me to think that a Love story involving God would be too "clean" and boring. God is Love and he created man and woman to love in the most beautiful way. This story is so much more meaningful then a vampire/werewolf love story. There's purpose and meaning and morals and lessons all wrapped up in a powerful love story that leaves you fulfilled in a way you didn't know a book could leave you. this is now my favorite book of all time.

posted by angeljennavieve on November 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nothing else to say except ... WOW!

A family member lent me Redeeming Love. I enjoyed feeling the love of Christ it conveyed; it was difficult to put down. I don't always have as much time to read as I'd like, but after finishing R. L. I immediately read it a second time. I need to purchase my own copy...
A family member lent me Redeeming Love. I enjoyed feeling the love of Christ it conveyed; it was difficult to put down. I don't always have as much time to read as I'd like, but after finishing R. L. I immediately read it a second time. I need to purchase my own copy so I can read it over and over again. I would recommend it to everyone. It is beautiful!!

posted by Anonymous on January 17, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1341 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 68
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    best love story of all time

    so I was looking for a love story, blah, I'm a romantic. I went to highest rated books on amazon. this has 777 5 star reviews so I read the overview of the book. it was obviously a christian love story and I was like, nah, God can't be in a romance book, it won't be good. so I kept looking for my newest read...and kept being pulled back to Redeeming Love. I gave in and bought the ebook for my nook. I do not exagerate when I say I was hypnotised by these characters, moved by Angels story and sobbed, not cried, for almost all of this book. I have never been so emotionally involved in a story in all my life and I am an AVID reader. How stupid of me to think that a Love story involving God would be too "clean" and boring. God is Love and he created man and woman to love in the most beautiful way. This story is so much more meaningful then a vampire/werewolf love story. There's purpose and meaning and morals and lessons all wrapped up in a powerful love story that leaves you fulfilled in a way you didn't know a book could leave you. this is now my favorite book of all time.

    43 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ FOR ALL!

    This book is a heart-wrenching, beautiful example of what God intended love between a husband and wife to be. Michael and Angel.
    Angel kept running away, feeling unworthy of love, only deserving the so-called love that the world showed her, which was empty and fake.
    Michael's character shows the reader true unconditional love and endless patience.
    This is a beautiful, heartwarming, touching story of love, sacrifice, great heart, and grace. There is no question in my mind that anyone who reads this will not be able to hold back the tears! A MUST READ FOR ALL!

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2008

    I loved it!

    God's love for us just pours out in this book. I found myself crying in wonder at how much God really does love us to take us back into His arms after every time we mess up. The book was perfect and it still stands as my favorite. Every single person on earth should read this book!

    20 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    An Exceptionally Inspiring Tale

    Loosely based from the Bible story of Hosea and his relationship with his prostitute wife - This story was such a page-turner from the very beginning. I cried COUNTLESS times by the time I was finished! The storyline is so developed and realistic, you almost feel as if you know the characters in the flesh. It's a thick book, but worth every minute of your time, no matter who you are! Some content is a bit mature for younger ages, so I would recommend ages 13 and up, at least. It's very romantic, heart-felt, and emotional to the max; includes great spiritual lessons, as well.

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    Amazing book!!!

    This book is one of the best books I¿ve ever read! I recommend this book to woman or teenage girl! When I was reading this book, I couldn¿t put it down I finished it within two days! It¿s a story based on the story of Hosea in the Bible. I read this book about a year ago and it just reminded me of God¿s love for me and everyone else. This book will make you laugh and cry. It¿s a very touching and deep novel. It starts out in the 1950¿s in California. A young girl who goes by the name of Angel was sold into prostitution at a young age by her mother. She grew up absolutely hating men. She thought that they were all the same and that they just wanted her body. Until God told Michael Hosea that this was the women that he marries, she had never experienced any kind of love and care. It¿s an amazing story that I could read over and over again and never get tired of it!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Amazing!

    I pulled this book off of my grandmothers shelf when I was 13 years old. I am 27 now and i can still rememer reading it by the light of my makeup mirror......all night long. I was browsing through the bookstore 10 years later when I found that it had been re-released. Of course i read it again, and it was just as shocking,beautiful and impactful as it was in my teen years! God loves us so much and it is so unconditional. This book makes you ache to spend more time wrapped in His love

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Heartwarming, humbling and uplifting

    I found the book to be excellent reading. It is based on the Old Testament Book Hosea and gives nonBible readers an opportunity to understand God's unconditional love for humanity. It is also an excellent lesson in humility, acceptance, and forgiveness. I so enjoyed the book that I bought another copy to loan to friends and family. The world today concentrates too much on greed, selfishness, condemnation, and judgment. What a refreshing book to read about compassion, overcoming trials, humility and acceptance.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2012

    Good read

    Good alternative to the 50 Shades of Crap phenom that is sweeping the nation.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    What a beautiful book. This story made me go through every emoti

    What a beautiful book.
    This story made me go through every emotion. I was heartbroken for Angel's past, I was so distraught that I didn't want to pick up the book but did anyway, I fell in love with Michael and how I long for a godly husband one day, and was intregued by the storyline of a prostitue saved by God's grace. Overall, I was brought to tears as God worked everything out in His timing. The way Ms. Rivers portrayed God in Michael, and even from God's few lines as He spoke to Michael and Angel's hearts was beautiful and gave me a more intimate way to look at my Prince of Peace.
    It is a long read, but I always captured enough to keep going. A satisfying love story of what a little faith in God can amount to for His glory and to find a new purpose for living.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing romance for the avid and not so avid Inspy fan

    It was awesome because of the romance, because of the inspiration, and because of its scope. This book isn’t in any way new. So my love of this book may not surprise many out there. It’s been beloved by readers since its original publishing date in the fall of 1991. But it’s classified as inspirational, and it’s no shocker that I prefer my romances slightly less strictly moral. And I’m also not a fan of a “preachy” voice in a book…No matter the subject matter being pushed.

    So, as someone who doesn’t read inspirational literature I can whole-heartedly say that I loved this book. This rendition of the story of the prophet Hosea and his wife Gomer was so accessible. Rivers set out to tell a tale of love and also of the struggle of people who try to play God themselves. And by “Playing God” I’m not talking about the people doing crazy movie-villain type things…or of Doctors making life changing calls. Instead it’s talking about that desire in all of us, especially women, to fix it all ourselves and not to give in to a higher will in our lives. One of my favorite meditations is “If you want to make God laugh tell him your plans”. When I practice yoga I follow the intention “to be”. I try to focus on being wholly present in the moment. That’s what this novel asks of its character, to give up and enjoy the gifts we’re given, whether it be the simple beauty of fresh summer flowers or the awesome gift of love.

    It was so great to see this mission set forth in a pretty standard romance plot. What would a romance be without a character who thought themselves unworthy? Where would the payoff be if not for the redeeming quality of that love? That’s what pushes this story into the level of lifetime favorite for so many; the compound redeeming grace of both romantic and Godly love.

    The characters are so fully developed. They’re not just archetypes of a saint and a sinner. I loved Michael. He was such a strong good man. Also, seeing his thoughts kept him from being too much of a paragon. That we were privy to his anger and frustration helped. It made the process he was putting Angel through seem less demanding. Without it he would have been a Duke of another extreme.

    Angel’s history is laid out in a heartbreaking, but realistic fashion. When you think of the biblical prostitute Gomer, heck, when you think of any adult woman who chooses to sell herself it’s difficult not to look at that woman without prejudice. Not to think there must have been another way…another path. Thus, Angel’s childhood of hard knocks and forced prostitution helps contextualize her as a fallen dove who really seemed to have no other way. Only through the love of Michael and God does she begin to see another path.

    A few tidbits for those who’ve already read this one. I found Paul to be sooo annoying, wish he would have been slapped with the truth a little earlier or that Miriam had shared the reason Angel left. Also, totally cried when Jonathan Axe brought Angel out of the brothel. Cheered when she took the girls with her as well. Fist pump when they walked out the front door exposing Duke’s sick desire for little girls. And finally, I know it was true to biblical story but wish Angel wouldn’t have run away so much.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2010

    Redeeming Love is Heart-wrenching and Incredible

    Francine Rivers took very sensitive issues, rape and prostitution and slavery, and used them to demonstrate how God can take the ugliness that can and does occur in this dark world and use it for good. Ms. Rivers shows that God uses the weak and used and the brokenhearted. She also demonstrates the unfathomable love God has for each of us who are broken and how each of us must humble ourselves to receive His redeeming love. Redeeming Love is an exceptional book that will draw the reader in, stir the emotions, get you to think, and cause you to rejoice when mercy and grace are freely given. A definite read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2009

    BEST BOOK I'VE EVER READ!!! EVER!!!

    I loved this book! The publishers note made this book sound lifechanging but I was very skeptic, I mean really, it was just a book. After the first page I was hooked. I couldn't put the book down and now, two days after finishing, I still can't quit thinking about it. READ THIS BOOK! It is a beautifully told story of the redemption and love God has for us no matter where we've been or what we've done. I laughed outloud, and cried as well. This book will leave you feeling truly changed.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best Book Ever!

    Wow! Where to start. I was in the bookstore and haphazardly picked it up without even really taking time to read what it was about. But once I started reading it, I was hooked. The plot, the characters-everything in it was so engrossing and captivating. It's at least 300 plus pages and I finished it within 5 days. This book is truly a work of art and has truly made an impact on my life. In my opinion, Francine Rivers wrote a timeless classic, and it will forever remain my favorite book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    True testament of love

    This book was recommended to me by one of my cousins. She said it was her favorite book ever. When I started reading it, I thought she was crazy. However, I kept reading. And reading. And reading. I fell in love with it too. It is now one of my favorites too. I have lent my copy to all my friends and family (books are for sharing) and everyone has given it rave reviews. What a true testament of love and trusting in God.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A touching love story that gives hope for true love

    This is a wonderful Christian novel. I am not Christian myself but I truly enjoyed the message. It is saying that all is not lost and that anyone can be saved and redeemed. I have bought this book for countless friends as they all enjoyed the book. It has touched my friends, my family and myself greatly because the book is placed in a time era where prostitution was allowed confusing poor women to believe that there is no such thing as true love but in the end love prevailed. Therefore this gives hope for the women in our generation where the idea of monogamous relationships are no longer existing but that maybe just maybe there is a guy out there who will save you from pessismistic ideas of true love.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    A Romance Like No Other

    I am personally not one for romance novels, but this book is the only exception to my dislike. This is because the story goes so much deeper than physical or even emotional. It is also about the love of God and how he will never stop pursuing us. Aside from that, the love story between Noah and Angel is like a soap opera. For the first half of the book, you keep wondering why Angel is so stupid, then you realize, "Oh...I'm doing this to God."

    Read this book. It's worth it. I wouldn't reccomend it for anyone under 14 years. There are a lot of adult issues in it concerning sexuality.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2008

    i highly recomend this book

    this is the best book i have ever read i've had it for the past year and have read it at least 15 times, it speaks of God's love as only he can express it and as he works through us. it will make you cry and laugh, as you see the pain and redemption that only a perfict love can bring!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    A reviewer

    I have never read a book this big, and I was a little under-enthusiastic to start on it. But, since my best friend's mom told me it would be a wonderful book (and since I had to give it back to her. I didn't want to keep her waiting), I sat down one day and began with the prologue. Hook, line, and sinker. I could not put down this book. I read it for hours and hours on end. I stayed up until 2 or 3 A.M. reading and reading. The only thing stopping me were my parents. If they caught me, oh boy. Anyways, reading this book would start off my day, as well as end it. I honestly could not put it down. I finished reading it in 3 and half days. It was beyond my expectation. I cried, I was scared, and I experienced all the emotions that were written. I loved all the characters, they were brilliant! I long to read it again, but I had to give it back. Oh well, I'll probably end up buying it online. Anyways, read this book. You'll be fascinated!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Wonderful love story.

    I loved this story. I was hooked from the very first page. I did find myself several times angry with angel. I had every emotion during this book. I found a single tear slide down my face more than once and didnt even realize it. This story makes you fall in love with the characters and thinking about the book long after you have finished it. I will read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Wonderful book!

    A friend suggested this book to me and i finally purchased it.Not having any expectations, i thoroughly enjoyed the book and finished it in 3 days! I fell in love with Michael Hosea's character and the commitment he has to God and to his wife. There were a few areas of the book that were a little slow, but the ending was very powerful.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1341 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 68