Customer Reviews for

Redemption (Redemption Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 211 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(145)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fall in love with the Baxter family and learn the true meaning of Redemption.

    Redemption brings you to Bloomington, Indiana just far enough in the country to believe that the characters are real people that you have met. From the first page the characters will become part of your family and friends, as the story unfolds your will celebrate their victories and grieve in their losses. I have never read Christian fiction before and was truly amazed at the authors ability to bring out each persons faith or lack there of with such vivid detail. Each character is so richly developed that you can understand why they make the choices they make and by the end of the story are at peace with what happens, however Redemption is the first of five books in this series with two more series to follow a total of 14 books before you can finally put the Baxter family to rest. But don't let the number of books scare you off you will be dying to read the next one as soon as you finish the first. If you have ever lost something you have treasured, been tempted with something you have always wanted, and faced the decision to do what feels right or hold your ground and follow your heart and beliefs no matter what, this is the book for you. Follow the journey with John and Elizabeth Baxter as their children struggle with love, life and choices. As they learn to accept that God is in control and that He knows the journey they must face and the trials they will encounter. And even when we have reached the end of our rope, our friends and family no longer support our choices God offers us one great gift. A gift that defines forgiveness, a gift above restoration, one reserved for His chosen people...Redemption

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    Otustanding book! Two thumbs way way up!!

    The book Redemption by Karen Kingsbury is a wonderful story, full of wonder excitement and endless emotion. This book really grabs your attention from the time you open the book to the time you close the book.It starts with Kari. A God-loving, family-bonding,28 year old, young Christian women is in a very difficult situation in this story. She wants to keep a long lasting marrige with her cheating, no good husband Tim. A mysterious stranger finding out what his 'girlfriend' is up to. Instead he sees an older man in her appartment doing grown-up things with her. The stranger decides to get him back and tell his wife what he did behind her back all this time. From this point on Kari's world goes spiraling down hill. This book is a beautiful book. I felt every emotion she was feeling. This book deals with real life situations. I can't wait to read the rest of this series!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2009

    Inspirational!

    I hadn't "had the time" to pick up a novel since my 13 year old was born. About six months ago, my girlfriend convinced me to read Redemption. Last week I finished the 14th book in the Baxter series. I thoroughly enjoyed reading all of them (in fact I couldn't put them down) and I look forward to many more of her thought provoking books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2008

    Redemption

    This book is so good that I now what to read ever book that Karen Kingsbury has ever wrote.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I started reading this book and could not put it down. I read it in one day and started on the next book in the series. It is a thriller but on the other hand it has a inspirational message. I plan to read all the books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2006

    Redemption

    This book is truly amazing! I felt like I really connected to Kari and actually felt all the emotions in this book. I say that if a book makes me laugh out loud or cry, then it is a good book, and this made me do both! Karen Kingsbury is an incredible author, and I cannot wait to read any of her other book, but if they are anything like this one, they will be amazing too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Redemption

    This book is completely amazing! The way the Ms. Kingsbury described everything going on in Kari's life made me feel like I was there. Kari's faith, hope, and love taught me a lot about how to live life. Two thumbs up! Can't wait to finish the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2005

    Life Changing Book

    A friend gave me this book to read and it has been life-changing for me! It brought forth tears and alot of emotion. It is reading that you can apply to your own life and your faith in God. It is a must-read for all who hope to restore faith in their God and in their marriage. It is a beautiful love story. I cannot wait to get my hands on the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2005

    A MUST READ

    This book was very realistic. It showed how much a woman struggles with an unfaithful husband. It shows how to get through trials with God's love and forgiveness. I love it because it doesn't have all the trash in it that most romantic novels do. I highly recommend this book and the whole entire series. You will not be able to put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2005

    Awesome Book

    I read this book when I was going through a similar, although reverse, situation as Kari Baxter Jacobs, and the insight I gained from the book helped me heal and hold on to God. This is a great book, and a great series I can't wait for the next book in the Firstborn spin-off to come out!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2004

    Terrifically written!! A must have for my series collection!!

    My mother shared this book with me and now we cannot stop reading Kingsbury books. She is the most extraordinary author I have had the pleasure of reading. This was my first book by Kingsbury but will be among many that grace my bookshelves. I am absolutely engrossed in Kingsbury novels. There is none better!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2004

    Loved the book

    I really liked this book. Kept me moving page to page, chapter to chapter. Could not wait to read the next book. Does not push a religion but does have the stuggles of dealing with a belief. Just like real life. Some believe and practice, some believe but don't practice, and some don't believe. The stuggles with relationships, family, and personal issues has kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2004

    A beautiful illustration of God's love

    Though I love all the books in this series, this one is definately my favorite. It shows how God is always with us, even as the 'Hound of Heaven' that at times we wish would stop hounding us. It also shows just how undying and eternal God's love is for His children no matter how far we stray. To sum it all up:I laughed, I cried, I praised the Lord.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    For Believers and those who want to believe

    This is a very good book and it brings hope, faith and trust to your heart. It is a book that shows Christ love for us all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    WONDERFUL

    This is a great book. I have also read the second one in this series called Remember and it is great too. I can't wait until the other three come out. I would recommend this book and others written by Karen Kingsbury.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2003

    Hope

    I am in the middle of reading all of Karen Kingsbury's books. She is, without a doubt, one of the most gifted writers today. She brings the Bible and it's promises to life, in a very realistic way. Keep up the great work, Karen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    Great Book

    In my 35 years I have never sat down and read a book without MAKING myself finish it. I read this book in a week, couldn't put it down and stayed up all night to finish it. It was a great Christmas present!!! I can't wait until the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2002

    True Forgiveness....Wonderful!!!

    Smalley and Kingsbury are a great team. Redemption was enjoyed fully. An easy read. A great book...one that you can reflect, learn, and grow closer to the Lord and your loved ones. I am looking forward to to the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2