Customer Reviews for

Redemption (Redemption Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 224 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(152)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Brilliant

    This is my first time to read Kingsbury's books. I can't remember any book that ever had me in tears at the end. I hurt for Kari , yet my heart soared when Ryan showed back up. I cant wait to start reading Remember.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Loved it

    I want the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Loved it so much that I ordered Redemption #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Amazing how god works miracles!!!!!

    Well i am a twelve year old little girl and who belive in God to the fullest measure and this i a great book and i cant tell you how it ends because i havend read all of it yet.. i just finished the series even now there is only 2 books in that series... this is a great book because there is trouble with kari jacobs and her husband tim jacobs and i aint sure how to put the rest without telling you any of the good parts but i suggest you read and fimd how great my God is
    I hope you enjoy thanks always and forevermore a karen kingsbury lover <3 mckayla mason

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Awesome book and series. Cant put it down!

    I love this book and the following books in this series. One of the best reads i have had in a while. I love the way Karen Kingsbury infuses faith in God in her writing. The characters are relateable and likeable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Love it!

    What an awesome view of a Christians life with challenges and opportunity! Love Karen Kingsbury books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Romance, but not sappy and unrealistic!!

    I have never been a big romance novel fan, but this book I loved. I think because it is realistic and not sappy or fairy tale (ish). It has real life problems, and what I especially love is that the problems are faced with a Christ centered thought process. Can't wait to finish the series :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Not sure

    Does this book describe the affair a little to much?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Good Read-thought provoking

    I would consider this light reading with a lot of deep perspective on living life according to the Judeo-Christian ethic. After being divorced for 16 years it gave me renewed perspectives on the amount of work it takes to make a marriage as God intended. I really appreciate the heroine being a woman of principal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    An Emotional Rollercoaster!

    Wow, I wonder if it was as hard to write about the subjects in this novel as it was to read about them. It was done so well that I could not put it down from the start. Kari is a much better person than I am. I do not know if I could have forgiven and worked so hard at her marriage after learning her husband had an affair with one of his students, especially when he told her he wanted a divorce. And then reacquainting with her old boyfriend. . . I was so rooting for the old boyfriend. I know you never know how you will react to a situation until you are actually in it, but I am afraid that I might just give him (the cheating husband) the BIG BOOT out of my life. I do believe in marriage and working to make it a success so I hope I would do the right thing, but it is hard to imagine until you are faced with it.
    I really like the definition of love that was formed in this book. I fell as though I learned a bit about myself and how selfish I can be at times. I think it will have a positive impact on my life.
    I sure feel my emotions have been exercised. I would like to have a little more details in what happens next. I hope the next book will complete this story a bit more as it details another Baxter Sibling's story.
    I think I would recommend this to everyone. There are lessons to learn. But I would be careful of younger teens because of some of the subject matter. It is a bit graphic and violent in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    An Emotional Rollercoaster!

    Wow, I wonder if it was as hard to write about the subjects in this novel as it was to read about them. It was done so well that I could not put it down from the start. Kari is a much better person than I am. I do not know if I could have forgiven and worked so hard at her marriage after learning her husband had an affair with one of his students, especially when he told her he wanted a divorce. And then reacquainting with her old boyfriend. . . I was so rooting for the old boyfriend. I know you never know how you will react to a situation until you are actually in it, but I am afraid that I might just give him (the cheating husband) the BIG BOOT out of my life. I do believe in marriage and working to make it a success so I hope I would do the right thing, but it is hard to imagine until you are faced with it.

    I really like the definition of love that was formed in this book. I fell as though I learned a bit about myself and how selfish I can be at times. I think it will have a positive impact on my life.

    I sure feel my emotions have been exercised. I would like to have a little more details in what happens next. I hope the next book will complete this story a bit more as it details another Baxter Sibling's story.

    I think I would recommend this to everyone. There are lessons to learn. But I would be careful of younger teens because of some of the subject matter. It is a bit graphic and violent in places.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    God blessed

    Karen Kingsbury has been blessed by God to write such family problems and Gods love. I have read all 5 books in Redemption Series, and was very happy and sad with each book. Karen brings a normal family through all kinds of daily living and worship to God, along with bible verses. If you want to read a very clean and interesting book, this series is the one, you must read every book in this series. Karen I praise God for your truth, boldness and courage to write about the bible. I hope you'll continue to write others. My next book series will be Firstborn and then Sunrise. May God Bless Your Own Life thank you Kathy Rosser-Texas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    A must read!

    God's redemption is available to all of us. This book led me along a bittersweet journey & showed me that love really is decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Intriguing book!

    Very true to life and was left haunted by the ending! Finished in one day and couldn't put it down! I don't know what I would do in her situation!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Excellent

    This book kept me on edge, it is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    highly recommended gotta read it

    I love this book it grabs your attention right away and keeps it. Once you start you wont be able to put it down. Its about the one thing we all want -love-. Undying love. well read it because its an amazing book that one like me who doesnt read often will fall in love with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Really Liked It

    The author writes about trials in one's life from a Christian perspective. My grandmother lent this book to me. I felt like the last few chapters or so were hasty.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Simply wonderful

    I loved this entire series. Reading about the trials of a family and the way in which their faith aids in the solving of problems was uplifting. Following the characters in the book through three series, each book building on the next was very enjoyable for me. I look forward to the next book coming out to renew old friendships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Great book

    The entire Redemption series is of 5 books by Karen Kingsbury are all great. Once I read the first one I could not stop until I had finished them all. You will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    Wonderful!!!

    This was a great story. I laughed and I cried. Going through the same situation, this book helped me look into my self and realize areas in my life that were lacking, especially my relationship with God.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 224 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12