Customer Reviews for

Redemption

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2012

    Well will Trinity be available for the Nook?

    Well will Trinity be available for the Nook?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    Nook version filled with errors

    I actually own the hardcover version of this book but beacuse of its size (827 pages)I decided to purchase the Nook version as I much prefer reading on my Nook! The Nook version is filled with errors - mostly puctuation and some unusual words. I compared it to the hard cover version and was relieved to see that the mistakes were not there. My guess is that the book was scanned in and the OCR did not pick up all the punctuation and changed some words to the closest word it could come up with. As for the book itself, I read Trinity over 15 years ago so I did not mind the review of the book. I can definitely understand why people who just finished Trinity and then read Redemption would be annoyed. But if you haven't read Trinity in a while, it was a nice refresher. A great portion of the book is spent on Gallipoli. I had never heard of this before and am not a fan of war books but I found this section to be very enlightning and fascinting as how poorly the New Zealanders and Australians were treated and the total screw up of the officers involved. However, I thought the book was going to be about Ireland and was surprised how much of the book was consumed with Gallipoli. It is definitely my least favorite Uris book. It doesn't measure up to his other books at all but I am still glad that I read it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    Loved this book. I, too have read and enjoyed most of his other

    Loved this book. I, too have read and enjoyed most of his other books. The only time this one got bogged down was the Gallipoli part. I think that was only because as a female I don't appreciate was descriptions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I would think the first and more well- known book, Trinity, woul

    I would think the first and more well- known book, Trinity, would be available for the nook before its sequel. I hope its available soon as I bought a nook so I wouldn't have to lug around big books like Trinity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    Redemprtion

    I fully enjoyed this book. I found the story to be very interesting. The characters were engaging, and I learned some Irish, New Zealand and WWI history. I didn't want this book to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2001

    Powerful Highlights Scattered on a Global Tapestry

    Whenever I think of a Leon Uris novel, I think of big themes, large-scale action, a global perspective, and Tolstoy-like interweavings of characters. Redemption has them all. Those who believe in the redeeming qualities of love and seeking forgiveness will be delighted with this book. It explores those themes in a grand fashion. Most of those who read the book will agree that the descriptions of the now little-remembered Gallipoli campaign by the British against the Turks and Germans in World War I will be permanently etched in their memories as great war (and anti war) writing. Those who would like to know more about the development of freedom in Ireland will probably be a bit disappointed. The plot heavily veers away from that subject (although it is always present as a backdrop) for much of the book. The characters are not always as appealing as are required for a great novel. You will simply want to shake them and tell them to do what is right in many cases. I have never read a book that contains so many people who are stubborn about making their lives and those around them miserable. The book would have been improved by either a somewhat simpler plot or more editing to shorten its length. After you have finished reading the book, I suggest that you think about whether there is someone you love who you have not yet told. In this month of Valentine's Day, it would be a good time to overcome that reticence . . . that was so harmful to the characters in Redemption. Live with love in your heart! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2000

    Uris Has Lost His Touch

    I have been a big fan of Uris ever since I picked up Exodus which was probably about 5 years ago. Since then I went through QBVII, Armageddon, Trinity, The Haj and Mitla Pass. Trinity was a wonderful book, vintage Uris, which was way up there with his earlier novels. Redemption on the other hand is a book that just shouldn't have been written. I think the most shocking thing to me about Redemption was that Uris committed the cardinal sin of rewriting his own history from Trinity. At the end of Trinity, both Jeremy and Christopher Hubble were supposed to have died at the hands of the protagonist in what was a moving, tragic and highly ironic ending, worthy of a master storyteller and apt for a story about Ireland. This alone spoilt the novel for me - I kept checking my copy of Trinity to be sure that I read it right. The book is just wholly unsatisfying. All Uris did for about one third of the book was summarize Trinity, an exercise any average sixth grader would be quite capable of. It has a totally blaise and inappropriate ending and a plot without any main point to it. What could Rory do for Ireland? Kill the brigader and everything will magically become better? Tell me another one. Uris adds needless sexual overtones to his book throughout, I won't go into the details. Others have complained about his historical inaccuracy, and since my historical knowledge of Ireland is virtually zip, I won't go there. Redemption is not without its redeeming (if you pardon the pun) graces. Uris' portrayal of the battle at Gallipoli is vivid and very moving. The relationship between Rory and Liam is also well-written. If only he wouldn't go out of his way to put words in the mouth of his characters to support his primary thesis.... it becomes ridiculous after a while. My conclusion is this: go read Uris' older novels: all the ones I mentioned earlier (except mitla pass which was so-so) as well as Mila 18 and Topaz, which are on my must read list. My advice is to stop at Trinity and not to spoil the plot for yourself by reading Redemption. But if you really must read Redemption after reading Trinity, start with low expectations, that's all. Someone should really stop Uris from embarrassing his older works by writing some more, he seems to be pass his prime. If only he would prove me wrong...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 18 of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1