Customer Reviews for

The Redemption of Althalus

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(86)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent epic fantasy

In a choice that only proves the Gods work in mysterious ways, the Goddess Dweia selects a thief, who has committed murder, as humanity's champion. ALTHALUS is proud to be one of the top ten thieves, a top five liar, and an occasional killer when the need is there. ...
In a choice that only proves the Gods work in mysterious ways, the Goddess Dweia selects a thief, who has committed murder, as humanity's champion. ALTHALUS is proud to be one of the top ten thieves, a top five liar, and an occasional killer when the need is there.

His latest client, Ghend, a servant of the destroyer God Daeva, hires ALTHALUS to steal a book in a house at the edge of the world. He arrives at his destination, finds the book, and meets Dweio disguised as a cat. Dweio teaches ALTHALUS to read and use the book before the pair ventures back into the realm of mankind. The latest battle has just begun between good and evil with many dying on both sides, but the final victory resides with THE REDEMPTION OF ALTHALUS.

David and Leigh Eddings have been writing exciting epic fantasy for years, but THE REDEMPTION OF ALTHALUS is their finest hour. Readers will liken the work to that of Tolkien and Brooks yet see much originality in the fast-moving story line. Fans will believe in chattering cats speaking 'humanese', magical houses, and godess manifestations as everyday occurrences. This acceptance allows the audience to concentrate on the interpersonal relationships that turn this epic fantasy into quite an achievement for this writing duet.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

do not waste your time

If you have half a brain and like intelligent, thought-provoking fantasy books (I know, I know, some would say that this is an oxymoron and in today's publishing world, it certainly seems more true than not), don't buy this book and don't waste your time on it. The dia...
If you have half a brain and like intelligent, thought-provoking fantasy books (I know, I know, some would say that this is an oxymoron and in today's publishing world, it certainly seems more true than not), don't buy this book and don't waste your time on it. The dialogue is mind-numbingly repetitive and asinine. The plot starts out with promise but quickly degrades into utter predictability. The story is internally contradictory and, without giving away the ridiculous climax of the book, the whole conflict could have been avoided if only the main character had used a certain magic available to him in the beginning, rather than the end. Ugh. This is definitely not the Eddings' finest hour. Reading it is a very disheartening experience, particularly if you've enjoyed some of their previous work. Avoid this book -- save your time and money and read something more challenging and better written, for instance, George R.R. Martin's Fire and Ice series.

posted by Anonymous on March 16, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2001

    do not waste your time

    If you have half a brain and like intelligent, thought-provoking fantasy books (I know, I know, some would say that this is an oxymoron and in today's publishing world, it certainly seems more true than not), don't buy this book and don't waste your time on it. The dialogue is mind-numbingly repetitive and asinine. The plot starts out with promise but quickly degrades into utter predictability. The story is internally contradictory and, without giving away the ridiculous climax of the book, the whole conflict could have been avoided if only the main character had used a certain magic available to him in the beginning, rather than the end. Ugh. This is definitely not the Eddings' finest hour. Reading it is a very disheartening experience, particularly if you've enjoyed some of their previous work. Avoid this book -- save your time and money and read something more challenging and better written, for instance, George R.R. Martin's Fire and Ice series.

    4 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent epic fantasy

    In a choice that only proves the Gods work in mysterious ways, the Goddess Dweia selects a thief, who has committed murder, as humanity's champion. ALTHALUS is proud to be one of the top ten thieves, a top five liar, and an occasional killer when the need is there. <P>His latest client, Ghend, a servant of the destroyer God Daeva, hires ALTHALUS to steal a book in a house at the edge of the world. He arrives at his destination, finds the book, and meets Dweio disguised as a cat. Dweio teaches ALTHALUS to read and use the book before the pair ventures back into the realm of mankind. The latest battle has just begun between good and evil with many dying on both sides, but the final victory resides with THE REDEMPTION OF ALTHALUS. <P> David and Leigh Eddings have been writing exciting epic fantasy for years, but THE REDEMPTION OF ALTHALUS is their finest hour. Readers will liken the work to that of Tolkien and Brooks yet see much originality in the fast-moving story line. Fans will believe in chattering cats speaking 'humanese', magical houses, and godess manifestations as everyday occurrences. This acceptance allows the audience to concentrate on the interpersonal relationships that turn this epic fantasy into quite an achievement for this writing duet. <P>Harriet Klausner

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2008

    A good read if you've got nothing better to do........

    I first came across Eddings' work several years ago while I was at a point in my life where all there was to do was read or lift weights (some of you will understand that, others won't). Eddings work as always been slightly above average, however......this one was a slight disapointment. The end result of reading 'The redemption of Althalus' was an over powering desire to go back and re-read 'The Belgariad' series and start the whole ride all over again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2007

    One of the Best I've ever read

    When you first start off reading the book it is ok. Then u get to the middle where it's talking about all this war stuff and it's really kind of boring to me. I'm not a big war person, even with strategies and all. But towards the end it gets really facinating! I think everyone should read this book. It's really different and unexpected!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2007

    Best stand alone book ever

    Brilliant book that is as original as is possible these days. It is the only book i have been able to read 5 times in a row and each time i read it, i uncover new mysteries. To those who found it dissapointing, why not re-read it, you'll be suprised (unless your a shortsighted narrowminded reader with no appreciation for true fantasy)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2006

    Best. Book. Ever.

    This book is a wonderful combination of wit, humor, romance, and action. It has a compelling storyline, and in depth characters. A absolute masterpiece.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2000

    I would have expected better

    A poor showing from the Eddingses. This book draws heavily from their past work on the Belgariad and the Mallorean. It almost seems like it was put together to pay rent in the sense that I found very little originality in the plot. Furthermore, it seemed to have no coherence and jumped around quite a bit. I could equate almost every character's personality with those contained in past works. For example: Althalus - Belgarath/Silk Andine - Ce'Nedra Eliar - Garion Dweia - Polgara Khalor - Brand The similarities made character development almost a joke. Also, the last part is almost a verbatim re-hash of the first section. Not only did the authors cannibalize their prior work, but they had to repeat themselves in the same volume. I have been a dedicated reader of the authors' work and feel comfortable in saying this is by far their worst.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    So so

    Starts great...continues that way for about 250 pages. And then it turns into mindless chaotic chatter among all the various characters as they plan the wars, battle, victory, future, etc etc. I do not know why the Eddings did all the "cutsey" stuff, but the story lost the cohesion of earlier chapters. I like most of their books (Belgariad, Malorean etc) but something was lost in the second half of this one, sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Love this book. But where is eBelgarion & eSparhawk? Sigh

    More Eddings magic and characterization! Why can't we have his true classics in this form?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    An amusing adventure.

    Having found this book through other Edding's books, I was not disappointed to find that his ability to take cliche tropes and make them fun and exciting again had not been lost. I've read this book three or four times, and they will not be my last. Definitely worth a read, particularly if you're a fan of the Belgariad and Mallorean, as you'll find Althalus to be similar to Silk.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Second time through

    I've read this book before many years ago. I still have the paperback copy, but the years and humidity got to it. I totally enjoyed reading it before and am enjoying it all over again. I highly recommend this book to Eddings fans. Truly worth the expense! There were funny parts; there were serious parts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Fantastic

    I've read this book more times than I care to count...and I'm still amazed with what I find. A fun story, beautifully written, with believable and easily related to characters that you can't help but love. Granted, its not as good as the belgariad or mallorean, how could it be without being a series? Still, a definite re read for years to come

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    A story of high wit

    Well written and humorous tale woven like a living legend. The plot turns in funny and smart ways as you follow the cutpurse while he outsmarts the forces of evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    Amusing

    Not the best book I've ever read but definitely worth my time. I did find it to be funny. My only complaint is that the characters didn't really evolve enough. Also that the me all reacted to their GFs the same way and vice versa (if that makes sense).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Mixed feelings

    CONTAIN SPOILERS! Originally I bought this book for my husband, I was never much for epic fantasies. While waiting for him to finish cooking supper, I started reading the first pages and I was hooked, the story started off really good, and was well written, I was enjoying the book until Althalus leaves the house with Emmy, after that, it wasn't so entertaining, the writing became flat, the characters predictable, and the authors made MAJOR mistakes, for example, Althalus tells Eliar that they shouldn't use the doors to unfamiliar places since they don't know that's on the other side, on the next page Althalus uses the door to go to the unfamiliar place (?!) It took David and Leigh 5 paragraphs to forget that they were not supposed to use the doors, that annoyed me enormously. Two authors, an editor (I assume there is one) and none of them realized that their characters contradict themselves all the time? The ho-hum business with the doors was confusing, and Dweia always had a "rule" that suited them, all the rules she pulled from her sleeve were to their advantage only. I agree with the reader that said that the dialogues are repetitive, and there's no stuggle for the good guys, everything is served to them in a silver plate. On the bright side, Eddings got me interested in epic fantasy, now I want to read more, I enjoyed checking the maps to follow the story, and overall their writing (except for the contradictions and tiresome dialogues I described) was really good. In the end, they atoned with me when they repeat the adventure in Arum, it was great and refreshing to revive the whole thing with Ghend as their partner (and yes, again the annoying contradiction: did't Dweia say that they weren't supposed to used the doors to change the past? OH! But this time Dweia "knew" a way to do it without disturbing the future... Yeah, right! They steal Daeva's black book, something they should have done FROM THE BEGINNING and that doesn't alter the future)
    I don't regreat reading this book, I just wished that the authors weren't so distracted and took more time to polish some details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2009

    Amazing Book

    A friend of mine recommended this book to me a couple of weeks back, and i decided to check it out. I ordered the book, and once it came in, i got right to work on reading it.
    I haven't finished the reading it just yet, but it is possibly the best book that i've ever read. Its creative, and it holds my attention quite well. There is never a dull moment in this book. The characters stand out and the plot is amazing. This book is definitely a must have.
    If you enjoy adventure this is definitely the book you should read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    beauttiful

    i loved this book, it showed be a different kind of fantasy that have never experienced. it is a wonderful book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2006

    Amazing

    This is one of my all-time favorite books. it captivates readers imediately. readers sympathize with althalus' character and despite his roguish ways, i was drawn to the complexity and eagerness to have fun that is displayed in althalus. this fantasy is fast-paced and enjoyable, keeping its audience turning the pages until the very end. in itself, there are many original adventure stories, and the ideas discussed in the book are at the very heart of imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2005

    Trilogy in itself

    Mr. and Mrs. Eddings do it again. They create in one book what others can't accomplish in three. They come back again with their terrific humor, action and detailed stories. If you don't want to read more than one book, but want great satisfaction this is the one. Be careful though, they will catch you and draw you into reading all of their books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2005

    horrible

    the main character was just plain stupid. he announces that he's a thief in a tavern and talks about where he's going for loot. then he goes to break into someone's house and KNOCKS ON THE DOOR pretending to be at the wrong house to look around. his plan? break in and hold a knife to the guy's throat, letting him get a basic description. your supposed to slip in when no ones home, take small things of value and get out. if that were real he wouldnt live long enough to steal much

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 148 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8