Customer Reviews for

Redeployment

Average Rating 3.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

_"Redeployment" is today's top fictional account of Mi

_"Redeployment" is today's top fictional account of Middle East combat, told in a series of story-chapters by Marines on and off the firing line. This first rate attention grabber moves along in a flow of action, irony, humor, and profound sadness.
Check out t...
_"Redeployment" is today's top fictional account of Middle East combat, told in a series of story-chapters by Marines on and off the firing line. This first rate attention grabber moves along in a flow of action, irony, humor, and profound sadness.
Check out the first chapter for the book's sustaining tone; every line is fast and no nonsense. The reader learns that home-bound Marines--coming from places like Fallujah--do so in carefully managed steps. "See, it's not a straight shot from war to the Jacksonville mall." Instead, it's a bus to Kuwait where the troops are packed in the plush wonder of a commercial airliner.
Heavy armament is everywhere: "You've got a rifle between your knees...Some Marines got M9 pistols, but they take away your bayonets because you're not allowed to have knives on an airplane." Memories suddenly emerge. The "doing the death rattle, foaming and shaking ...He's hit with a 7.62...he'll be gone in a second, but the company XO walks up, pulls out his KA-BAR, and slits his throat...On the flight I thought about that..." The final irony, the last stage of deployment, is the warm hometown parade. But even here you're always watching your back, guarded as an orange traffic light. And always, always, there ias that distance between you, the civilian, and the warrior.

posted by Basil on April 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

great book!

The storytelling is great. The Things They Carried really put the Vietnam War in perspective. This collection of stories does that for the War in Iraq.

posted by mugsy5 on April 4, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    _"Redeployment" is today's top fictional account of Mi

    _"Redeployment" is today's top fictional account of Middle East combat, told in a series of story-chapters by Marines on and off the firing line. This first rate attention grabber moves along in a flow of action, irony, humor, and profound sadness.
    Check out the first chapter for the book's sustaining tone; every line is fast and no nonsense. The reader learns that home-bound Marines--coming from places like Fallujah--do so in carefully managed steps. "See, it's not a straight shot from war to the Jacksonville mall." Instead, it's a bus to Kuwait where the troops are packed in the plush wonder of a commercial airliner.
    Heavy armament is everywhere: "You've got a rifle between your knees...Some Marines got M9 pistols, but they take away your bayonets because you're not allowed to have knives on an airplane." Memories suddenly emerge. The "doing the death rattle, foaming and shaking ...He's hit with a 7.62...he'll be gone in a second, but the company XO walks up, pulls out his KA-BAR, and slits his throat...On the flight I thought about that..." The final irony, the last stage of deployment, is the warm hometown parade. But even here you're always watching your back, guarded as an orange traffic light. And always, always, there ias that distance between you, the civilian, and the warrior.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    great book!

    The storytelling is great. The Things They Carried really put the Vietnam War in perspective. This collection of stories does that for the War in Iraq.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2015

    Griping Stories

    I could not put this book down. It puts you right on the front line of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars. It also shows you want our military people go through at home. A very well written group of short stories by a former mil arty man.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 12, 2014

    Riveting

    Like any book of short stories, some are going to better than others.

    And, to be honest, some of these stories where a without "wow."

    However, when they were good, man, they were really, really good. Riveting.

    Even the less good ones are full of raw emotion and language.

    Definite read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    Horrible book

    This book has ni info. During one chapter he has to go with troop one thirtysevn and nothing happens. Barely any action

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Sky :)

    Look i cried at the dogs getting shot but i dont like hearing about that so i wouldnt recemend this to people who love animals as much as i do... But on the other hand i had to say it astonishingly wonderful.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. Like another commenter said, it has

    I really enjoyed this book. Like another commenter said, it has a similar feel to Tim O'Brien's "The Things they Carried" 
    It shows the reality of being deployed in Iraq, and the aftermath through the experiences of admin marines to infantry, to propagandists. It has no "moto" feel, instead,
    it just shows the truth for these men and women. 

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    Dont waste your money

    First time in a while I didnt bother to finish a book.
    Fiction. Dont waste your money.
    Couldnt give it a half star...

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2015

    Brilliant perspectives.

    The truth of our war effort can only be found in the details that go unreported. Loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2015

    no

    How are these books getting 4&5 star ratings ? Maybe its me. Other then lone survivor I have not read a 3 star book on the current wars. Sorry but the books about war 2 are much better read. Anyone else feel this way?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1