Customer Reviews for

Redesigned (Off the Subject #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Cute

    I enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2014

    I loved this book. Quick and easy read..

    I loved this book. Quick and easy read..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

       Coming from a backwoods trailer park in Tennessee, Caroline H

       Coming from a backwoods trailer park in Tennessee, Caroline Hunter is determined to rise above her penniless past and become something great. Studying hard to become a designer, Caroline doesn't leave much room in her life for boys. The guys Caroline does go for seem to have money and a little prestige, almost the complete opposite of her past. When Caroline meets Reed Pendergraft at a college party, she is both attracted to him and strangely argumentative.
          Yet Reed isn't exactly who Caroline thinks he is. He isn't a penniless college graduate student, he is actually something that is so much more. Not wanting to be desired for his influence, he keeps his secret from everyone, including Caroline. Having to work together on a fall fashion show, that has the possibility to create Caroline's career or reveal Reed for who he is, allows for the duo to really get to know one another and in turn, fall for eachother.
          Having read the previous book, After Math, I recognized Caroline as being Scarlett's best friend. I don't really remember having an opinoin about her one way or the other, but I absolutely adored Caroline in this book. Sassy, funny, and desperate to succeed, Caroline shines. Her verbal sparring with Reed is quick and sharp witted and Reed gives as good as he gets. I devoured the book within just a few hours and honestly was disappointed I'm going to have to wait a few weeks until #3 comes out, featuring Reed's sister.
         Witty and fun, I loved Redesigned. Funny and heartfelt, Reed and Caroline's relationship grows from argumentative attacks on one another to smoking hot scenes that scorch the pages. Business As Usual, featuring Reed's sister Lexi, is expected to be published in April and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

       Coming from a backwoods trailer park in Tennessee, Caroline H

       Coming from a backwoods trailer park in Tennessee, Caroline Hunter is determined to rise above her penniless past and become something great. Studying hard to become a designer, Caroline doesn't leave much room in her life for boys. The guys Caroline does go for seem to have money and a little prestige, almost the complete opposite of her past. When Caroline meets Reed Pendergraft at a college party, she is both attracted to him and strangely argumentative.
          Yet Reed isn't exactly who Caroline thinks he is. He isn't a penniless college graduate student, he is actually something that is so much more. Not wanting to be desired for his influence, he keeps his secret from everyone, including Caroline. Having to work together on a fall fashion show, that has the possibility to create Caroline's career or reveal Reed for who he is, allows for the duo to really get to know one another and in turn, fall for eachother.
          Having read the previous book, After Math, I recognized Caroline as being Scarlett's best friend. I don't really remember having an opinoin about her one way or the other, but I absolutely adored Caroline in this book. Sassy, funny, and desperate to succeed, Caroline shines. Her verbal sparring with Reed is quick and sharp witted and Reed gives as good as he gets. I devoured the book within just a few hours and honestly was disappointed I'm going to have to wait a few weeks until #3 comes out, featuring Reed's sister.
         Witty and fun, I loved Redesigned. Funny and heartfelt, Reed and Caroline's relationship grows from argumentative attacks on one another to smoking hot scenes that scorch the pages. Business As Usual, featuring Reed's sister Lexi, is expected to be published in April and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Advanced mathematics meets fashion and finds love

    Where advanced mathematics meets fashion, and I couldn't put this book down. This is a rarity for me. I'm a slow reader and I usually need a break, but I didn't even want to sleep. I knocked this one out in @ 24 hours. This book was written so well, and there really was no stone left unturned. I have no real questions about ANY of the characters in this book. I was a bit of a math nerd growing up, so this series has a special place in my heart. The chemistry between Reed and Caroline is clearly evident from the moment they meet, but their journey was entertaining and seemed natural. I loved the fighting/debates in front of others. Denise had me cracking up several times. (Is it my major or the fact that you can't do laundry on my abs that you have a problem with? LOL!) When they tried to have their first real conversation to get to know each other and neither was willing to provide any information about their past, I was nearly on the floor with all the one word answers and no real information being exchanged. They eventually get past that and start sharing minor details and ultimately full disclosure. Sometimes it's difficult to deal with your past, but this was handled in a mature manner which only endeared the characters even more. The realization of what you want as opposed to merely surviving and how to attain it is a glorious thing. I love the fact that Scarlett and Tucker still made appearances in this story. I'm grateful that Denise didn't sacrifice the story of Reed and Caroline or cheat them for the length of the book. I look forward to Business as Usual and will continue to suggest these books to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Loved It!

    Loved AfterMath more! But this was really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Love

    Lovee love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    I read After Math over the summer and I really enjoyed it. So, a

    I read After Math over the summer and I really enjoyed it. So, after talking to my BFF, she said I had to bump up REDESIGNED on my TBR, because if I liked AM, I would adore this book. And she was right. What made this story so great for me? Reed Pendergraft.




    I like to think of myself as a well rounded person. I fall for jocks, bad boys, and even the geeks. Reed is one of those geeky kind of guys. I mean, he's not nerdy, but he's super smart. That alone can be intimidating. Add in his sex appeal and you have a nearly perfect guy. For me anyway. Reed does have his faults. There were a few times I was frustrated with him. However, I felt like he really handled Caroline well. He saw through the walls she built up. He saw through her facade. And he loved her for who she was. That is why I loved him so much.




    I liked Caroline in the first book, but she was a bit evasive. After reading this book, I understand why. Caroline grew up poor. She was picked on for being poor and gained a reputation based on her living situation alone. Caroline reminded me a little of Andie from the movie Pretty In Pink. Like Andie, Caroline came from the wrong side of town. She even refurbished clothes to make them into her own designs, just like Andie did. I loved making that connection, because I loved that movie! So, after Caroline graduated, she left home and never looked back. She redefined who she was and pursued her dreams as a fashion designer. The only support she's had was from Scarlett. That is, until she meets Reed. He challenges her, makes her angry, and definitely turns her on. After giving in to their attraction to each other, they really do develop a nice relationship. So, what's the problem? Well, neither one of them is being honest about who they really are or where they come from. When the truth comes out, it causes some hurt feelings and creates some trust issues initially, but I was really happy with the way things worked out. I felt like Caroline had the most significant character growth and it made me happy to see her finally realize her worth.




    I want to mention that one of the reasons for her growth is what she has to deal with with her family situation. When she left home, it wasn't on good terms. Her parents couldn't understand why she would want to go to college to make a better life for herself. Caroline was the first person in her family to go to college. Because of the lifestyle that her parents chose to live, they thought Caroline felt like she was better than they were instead of being proud that she wanted to have a better future. Well, now she has to face them. It was really hard for her to deal with and make peace with them, but I felt like that helped her heal the most. Of course, the person by her side was Reed. He was really great through this time. While I'm on the subject of her family, I want to say that I'm very curious about Caroline's brother. Will we be seeing him in a future book???




    Overall, I really loved this book. The title fits the story so well, not only because she's a design major, but she really did redesign herself. And in a way, so did Reed. For once, he learned to follow his heart and not his mind. I've become attached to the characters in this series and look forward to seeing where things go from here. I'm hoping Reed's sister Lexi gets her own book. She is definitely worthy of having her own story. If you're looking for a smart, sexy, and addictive series, check this one out!




    Quotes:
    ~"You're my addiction, Caroline Hunter. The more I see you," he leans into my ear and lowers his voice-"the more I taste you-"
    I shiver.
    "-the more I want you." He drops his hold and steps back. "I'll call you later," he says as he walks away.
    I've never felt so lonely in my life. -Loc 2811




    ~"Your dress makes you stunning and maybe gives you confidence, but at some point the confidence has to come from in here." He taps my temple. "And then it will come out here." He points to my eye.-Loc 2897

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    So, lightning can strike twice in the same place. Denise Grover

    So, lightning can strike twice in the same place. Denise Grover Swank has once again written an incredible new adult novel full of angst, emotion and math problems.

    In Redesigned, Caroline Hunter meets Reed Pendergraft at a party, and to say that they don't hit it off is putting things mildly. She tells him that she won't date him because he doesn't make enough money and he tells her she's a shallow gold digger. Not really the basis for a lasting and loving relationship. Yet, something about Reed gets under Caroline's skin - so much so that, even when they are forced to work together on a project and every meeting between them ends in disaster, she still finds herself thinking about him all the time. Finally, things get real and so do they, but things in both their pasts could threaten the shaky foundation on which they're standing.

    My favorite romance stories tend to be those where the guy and the girl start out hating each other. There is a fine line between loving and loathing sometimes. Both require some seriously strong emotion, and it's easy to confuse the two. Maybe that's why insta-love stories really irk me. I love seeing couples really work for their HEAs.

    And, perhaps this is why I enjoyed Redesigned so much. Reed and Caroline are really horrible to each other for awhile. So much so that, I was feeling really pissed off after each conversation myself. They engage in low blows and mud slinging so much that I was left wondering how they were going to find themselves in a place where they could finally move past all that and find common ground. And, when that moment came, it was SO much sweeter than if they had made mooney eyes at each other at that very first meeting.

    Caroline was hard to like for awhile. She really was a pretty shallow person, even if you could understand her motives for being shallow. It didn't negate the fact that her actions reeked of gold-digging desperation, and it's hard to respect a character like that.

    Reed, however - that guy could be the poster child for the hot nerd. Yes, he was awful to Caroline, but I could understand why he acted that way based on how she treated him at first. And, yes, he was overprotective of his sister, but I can respect any guy who goes out of his way to protect those he loves.

    Redesigned is told from Caroline's POV only, and there were many instances when I found myself wishing so much that this was a dual POV book. Then again, not knowing what Reed was thinking and doing only added to his mysteriousness and made me all that more curious about what he was hiding. So, I guess it's not really a bad thing.

    The pacing of the story was perfect. From the first moment when Reed and Caroline meet (which was in the first chapter) until the very end, there was never any lulls in the story or times when I found myself wanting to skim or skip ahead. And, once they get together, I found I couldn't put the book down. The heat factor was off the charts - I loved the sizzling chemistry, and Denise Grover Swank captured that so well.

    One of the best parts of Redesigned is that we saw plenty of Scarlett and Tucker from After Math (Off The Subject #1). Scarlett and Caroline are still BFFs, and now we can see that, because of Scarlett's relationship with Tucker, he and Caroline have a really special relationship too. He's taken on a sort of big brother role with her, and it made my love for Tucker grow even more (and I didn't think that was possible).

    Denise Grover Swank needs to bring on more Off The Subject books, like NOW. Because I think I have a new addiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyed reading

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great read

    Lived every second of this book from the characters to the secrets they're hiding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    I really liked this book. I loved all of the characters and cant wait for the 3rd one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2013

    Beautiful

    Awesome! This is one of those that you use every spare moment you have to finish...I stayed up into the wee hours to finish. An emotional ending but great. This is my first book by this author but I most certainly will look into others. Too often I find the female lead annoying, stupidly wishy washy, or having no originality, BUT Caroline had strength, a brain, and her feelings were never really in question - more like how to square away the past. I loved this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    5

    I loved Caroline and Reed even more than Scarlet and Tucker. I adore this series for so many reasons. One, I love that the focus is on girls that are not from rich backgrounds, and they go to college to better themselves. What great literary rolemodels! Secondly, I love that Swank makes math a focus. Again, a great thing to promote in books that youngish females will read. Yes, Math can be sexy. And thirdly, the romance is hot. Who knew braniac mathematicians could be dirty talking alphamales too? Redesigned gets an A++ from me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    When After Math, the first book in Denise Grover Swank's New Adu

    When After Math, the first book in Denise Grover Swank's New Adult series, Off the Subject, ended, I was skeptical about the book focusing on another character in the fictional confines of Southern University. I'd grown so attached to Tucker and Scarlett and didn't want to see them fade into the background.

    But once again, Swank's beautiful writing and well-crafted story line lured me in. Redesigned exceeded all my expectations.

    Within the first two minutes of reading Redesigned, I was absolutely obsessed. When I wasn't reading it, I was thinking about it. For two days, it was my purse book. I refused to leave home without it. Whenever I had a few free moments, I was diving in. When it came to the end, I was left wanting more.

    Off the Subject's second volume takes place not long after After Math ends. This time around, Caroline Hunter, Scarlett's best friend, is the starlet. Caroline sparkles and shines and is a character so easy to relate to.

    Not unlike her best friend, Caroline has pieces of her past that she hides and would rather forget. In fact, the pieces are so big, its nearly her entire history. She is extremely protective of her future and is determined not to live the life that she once did, back when she was Carol Ann Hunter, living in a beat up old mobile home in Shelbeyville, where she felt unsupported by her parents, who were content to live that lifestyle for the remainder of their days and who made Caroline choose between them and college.

    But Caroline Hunter drove away from Shelbeyville to Southern University anyway, determined to create a better life for herself, quite literally sewing it together piece by piece as she decided to major in fashion and pursue her dreams.

    With senior year moving at the speed of light, Caroline can see the finish line and only has a few things left to achieve -- the most important of those being to secure a spot on the committee for the program's spring fashion show.

    Caroline finds herself on the committee but at odds with its chairman -- a man named Reed Pendergraft. Reed, an acquaintance of Scarlett's and a graduate student studying math, does not get along famously with Caroline, who spurned his advances at a party earlier in the semester and then watched as Caroline chose a shallow misogynist with a hefty bank account over him. But despite their constant fighting, Caroline can't help but find herself attracted to Reed.

    Over the course of the novel, Caroline fights an internal battle with herself -- to follow her heart and her hormones to Reed Pendergraft or to keep searching for a more suitable mate whose bank account will ensure that she never find herself starving in a trailer park.

    When Caroline's precious fashion show receives assistance from the Monroe Foundation, a prestigious, deep-pocketed organization with a focus on philanthropy for needy children, she ends up on a collision course with a past she never wanted to remember, let alone visit.

    Caroline is a character whose issues and emotions run deep, and with each new challenge she faces, those depths are explored. With every turn of the page, the reader peels back layer after layer of the onion that is her psyche to uncover those things closest to her heart and soul and those things she fears. This exploration of character along with the passion, heat, intrigue, and intoxicating dynamic between she and Reed creates literary magic.

    Swank's newest installment in the Off the Subject series is an incredible read: fast, yet filled to the brim with a plot that never stalls out. It's the perfect summer read, whether you find yourself on the beach, your own front porch, or like me, inside and listening to a thunderstorm. Redesigned is an absolute must read for women young and old this summer.

    Swank's third book in the Off the Subject series, Business as Usual, is expected to be released late summer or early fall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Loved it

    I am really enjoying this series. Please keep the great stories coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Loved it

    I loved that Reed was not a bad boy type. He was sexy and protective and Caroline was a joy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Awesome

    Great series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ********ADULT CONTENT! MATURE AUDIENCES ONLY!******** Caroline

    ********ADULT CONTENT! MATURE AUDIENCES ONLY!********

    Caroline Hunter knows what she wants. She's in her senior year as a fashion design major at Southern University in Tennessee. She's interested only in finishing her degree, finding a good paying job in design and marrying a man who is financially set. She hates her past and where she has come from and does not want to ever have to worry about being poor again. She keeps her past a closely guarded secret from everyone she's close to, with the exception of her best friend Scarlett who grew up with her.

    Reed Pendergraft is an arrogant, math graduate student and is teaching math at the college. He has recently moved to Tennessee from "out East" and lives with his 18 year-old sister. He seems to be a simple, boring, math professor who lives modestly. Not someone Caroline should be interested in. But that is exactly what happens after Caroline meets him at a party. He knows how to push her buttons and get a rise out of her. She feels flustered and pissed off when she's near him or thinks about him, but he also makes her feel things that she has never felt, ever. He makes her question her life and her goals. Why does he have this power over her? Will she let him in and let her plans become unraveled?

    I was given an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. It is no secret that I am a fan of Denise Grover Swank's. I have read every book that she has written. I really liked her last novel After Math (Off the Subject, #1) and Scarlett and Tucker return in this book as supporting cast. This story is all Caroline and Caroline's issues. I really get Caroline and her shame of her past. I too did not have much when I was growing up. I got hand-me-down clothes from my sister and the occasional church, as well as food boxes. It is humiliating to go to school in clothes that aren't new or the latest styles. I did not want the same for my children and I have worked hard to make that happen.

    I LOVED Caroline and Reed in this story! They were making me laugh and laugh at their head-butting. I could totally picture their little "spats" and was enjoying the hell out of it. I thought that the story was really well written (as per usual from Denise!) and that the characters were believable and likable. I started out not really liking Reed, but the more he and Caroline fought and got under each other's skin, the more he grew on me. Both Caroline and Reed have secrets in this book and I am not going to share them with you. It makes it a better read I think if you do not know what is going to happen or why these characters are the way they are. I like learning about a character while reading the book. If the book and story are written well, then you can get attached to characters and visualize them as real people. That is what happened with this book. Caroline and Reed are real people to me and I really hope to see more of them in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Denise Grover Swank Redesigned Off the Subject #2 Now Scarlett

    Denise Grover Swank
    Redesigned
    Off the Subject #2

    Now Scarlett and Tucker have their happily ever after, it’s Caroline’s turn for love. Enter Reed, a gorgeous Maths grad student, who gets her hot in all the right (and wrong) places. I just couldn’t put this book down, and wanted to know all the details as the story unfolded. The chemistry between Caroline and Reed is described in such detail, you can easily imagine watching them as they argue and thinking “get a room”. It’s well written, flows smoothly and will make you laugh, cry and feel for Caroline and Reed. Definitely one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2