Customer Reviews for

Redesigned (Off the Subject #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 3, 2014

       Coming from a backwoods trailer park in Tennessee, Caroline H

       Coming from a backwoods trailer park in Tennessee, Caroline Hunter is determined to rise above her penniless past and become something great. Studying hard to become a designer, Caroline doesn't leave much room in her life for boys. The guys Caroline does go for seem to have money and a little prestige, almost the complete opposite of her past. When Caroline meets Reed Pendergraft at a college party, she is both attracted to him and strangely argumentative.
          Yet Reed isn't exactly who Caroline thinks he is. He isn't a penniless college graduate student, he is actually something that is so much more. Not wanting to be desired for his influence, he keeps his secret from everyone, including Caroline. Having to work together on a fall fashion show, that has the possibility to create Caroline's career or reveal Reed for who he is, allows for the duo to really get to know one another and in turn, fall for eachother.
          Having read the previous book, After Math, I recognized Caroline as being Scarlett's best friend. I don't really remember having an opinoin about her one way or the other, but I absolutely adored Caroline in this book. Sassy, funny, and desperate to succeed, Caroline shines. Her verbal sparring with Reed is quick and sharp witted and Reed gives as good as he gets. I devoured the book within just a few hours and honestly was disappointed I'm going to have to wait a few weeks until #3 comes out, featuring Reed's sister.
         Witty and fun, I loved Redesigned. Funny and heartfelt, Reed and Caroline's relationship grows from argumentative attacks on one another to smoking hot scenes that scorch the pages. Business As Usual, featuring Reed's sister Lexi, is expected to be published in April and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

       Coming from a backwoods trailer park in Tennessee, Caroline H

       Coming from a backwoods trailer park in Tennessee, Caroline Hunter is determined to rise above her penniless past and become something great. Studying hard to become a designer, Caroline doesn't leave much room in her life for boys. The guys Caroline does go for seem to have money and a little prestige, almost the complete opposite of her past. When Caroline meets Reed Pendergraft at a college party, she is both attracted to him and strangely argumentative.
          Yet Reed isn't exactly who Caroline thinks he is. He isn't a penniless college graduate student, he is actually something that is so much more. Not wanting to be desired for his influence, he keeps his secret from everyone, including Caroline. Having to work together on a fall fashion show, that has the possibility to create Caroline's career or reveal Reed for who he is, allows for the duo to really get to know one another and in turn, fall for eachother.
          Having read the previous book, After Math, I recognized Caroline as being Scarlett's best friend. I don't really remember having an opinoin about her one way or the other, but I absolutely adored Caroline in this book. Sassy, funny, and desperate to succeed, Caroline shines. Her verbal sparring with Reed is quick and sharp witted and Reed gives as good as he gets. I devoured the book within just a few hours and honestly was disappointed I'm going to have to wait a few weeks until #3 comes out, featuring Reed's sister.
         Witty and fun, I loved Redesigned. Funny and heartfelt, Reed and Caroline's relationship grows from argumentative attacks on one another to smoking hot scenes that scorch the pages. Business As Usual, featuring Reed's sister Lexi, is expected to be published in April and I can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Advanced mathematics meets fashion and finds love

    Where advanced mathematics meets fashion, and I couldn't put this book down. This is a rarity for me. I'm a slow reader and I usually need a break, but I didn't even want to sleep. I knocked this one out in @ 24 hours. This book was written so well, and there really was no stone left unturned. I have no real questions about ANY of the characters in this book. I was a bit of a math nerd growing up, so this series has a special place in my heart. The chemistry between Reed and Caroline is clearly evident from the moment they meet, but their journey was entertaining and seemed natural. I loved the fighting/debates in front of others. Denise had me cracking up several times. (Is it my major or the fact that you can't do laundry on my abs that you have a problem with? LOL!) When they tried to have their first real conversation to get to know each other and neither was willing to provide any information about their past, I was nearly on the floor with all the one word answers and no real information being exchanged. They eventually get past that and start sharing minor details and ultimately full disclosure. Sometimes it's difficult to deal with your past, but this was handled in a mature manner which only endeared the characters even more. The realization of what you want as opposed to merely surviving and how to attain it is a glorious thing. I love the fact that Scarlett and Tucker still made appearances in this story. I'm grateful that Denise didn't sacrifice the story of Reed and Caroline or cheat them for the length of the book. I look forward to Business as Usual and will continue to suggest these books to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Loved It!

    Loved AfterMath more! But this was really good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    So, lightning can strike twice in the same place. Denise Grover

    So, lightning can strike twice in the same place. Denise Grover Swank has once again written an incredible new adult novel full of angst, emotion and math problems.

    In Redesigned, Caroline Hunter meets Reed Pendergraft at a party, and to say that they don't hit it off is putting things mildly. She tells him that she won't date him because he doesn't make enough money and he tells her she's a shallow gold digger. Not really the basis for a lasting and loving relationship. Yet, something about Reed gets under Caroline's skin - so much so that, even when they are forced to work together on a project and every meeting between them ends in disaster, she still finds herself thinking about him all the time. Finally, things get real and so do they, but things in both their pasts could threaten the shaky foundation on which they're standing.

    My favorite romance stories tend to be those where the guy and the girl start out hating each other. There is a fine line between loving and loathing sometimes. Both require some seriously strong emotion, and it's easy to confuse the two. Maybe that's why insta-love stories really irk me. I love seeing couples really work for their HEAs.

    And, perhaps this is why I enjoyed Redesigned so much. Reed and Caroline are really horrible to each other for awhile. So much so that, I was feeling really pissed off after each conversation myself. They engage in low blows and mud slinging so much that I was left wondering how they were going to find themselves in a place where they could finally move past all that and find common ground. And, when that moment came, it was SO much sweeter than if they had made mooney eyes at each other at that very first meeting.

    Caroline was hard to like for awhile. She really was a pretty shallow person, even if you could understand her motives for being shallow. It didn't negate the fact that her actions reeked of gold-digging desperation, and it's hard to respect a character like that.

    Reed, however - that guy could be the poster child for the hot nerd. Yes, he was awful to Caroline, but I could understand why he acted that way based on how she treated him at first. And, yes, he was overprotective of his sister, but I can respect any guy who goes out of his way to protect those he loves.

    Redesigned is told from Caroline's POV only, and there were many instances when I found myself wishing so much that this was a dual POV book. Then again, not knowing what Reed was thinking and doing only added to his mysteriousness and made me all that more curious about what he was hiding. So, I guess it's not really a bad thing.

    The pacing of the story was perfect. From the first moment when Reed and Caroline meet (which was in the first chapter) until the very end, there was never any lulls in the story or times when I found myself wanting to skim or skip ahead. And, once they get together, I found I couldn't put the book down. The heat factor was off the charts - I loved the sizzling chemistry, and Denise Grover Swank captured that so well.

    One of the best parts of Redesigned is that we saw plenty of Scarlett and Tucker from After Math (Off The Subject #1). Scarlett and Caroline are still BFFs, and now we can see that, because of Scarlett's relationship with Tucker, he and Caroline have a really special relationship too. He's taken on a sort of big brother role with her, and it made my love for Tucker grow even more (and I didn't think that was possible).

    Denise Grover Swank needs to bring on more Off The Subject books, like NOW. Because I think I have a new addiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    enjoyed reading

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great read

    Lived every second of this book from the characters to the secrets they're hiding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    LOVED IT!

    I really liked this book. I loved all of the characters and cant wait for the 3rd one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1