Customer Reviews for

Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

With the new mass changes it is a good time to read this book

This book helps you to think about your Catholic faith. It covers the problems of not only the church but the world as well. There are several themes repeated through out this book. I enjoyed reading on my Nook. I recommend while reading to also read around any of the...
This book helps you to think about your Catholic faith. It covers the problems of not only the church but the world as well. There are several themes repeated through out this book. I enjoyed reading on my Nook. I recommend while reading to also read around any of the bible verses mentioned it helped me to take home a stronger message. The book's translations of bible verses are modernized to fit the reading style. This does not take away from thier value or importance.

The author does use a few sweeping brush stokes in making his points. At times his point lacks a compelling view or a good focus. Some of his explainations are just too simple and lack real understanding of life's complexities. Yet his challenges are awesome and not to be left unexamained or practiced.

I truly loved his chapter on the saints and thier authentic lives.

I read this book as part of a study group with my church.

posted by faithMG on October 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

For the first hundred pages I was skeptical; the prose wanders q

For the first hundred pages I was skeptical; the prose wanders quite a bit, and reads like a motivational talk filled with generalities but little of substance. I kept waiting for him to dig in and tell us how to get from here to there.

The overarching theme is that to...
For the first hundred pages I was skeptical; the prose wanders quite a bit, and reads like a motivational talk filled with generalities but little of substance. I kept waiting for him to dig in and tell us how to get from here to there.

The overarching theme is that to revitalize our faith, the Church and the world, we must strive to become the "best versions of ourselves." It is a a worthy theme, but it took a long time to make every point; the book could have been cut by a third and still had the same impact.

However, it is a worthwhile read for the chapters on the Pillars of Catholicism: confession, daily prayer, the Mass, the Bible, fasting, spiritual reading, and the rosary. Here, at last, he really delves into the rationale behind each of these practices. For instance, in the fasting chaper, he outlines the idea that true freedom can only be found when we are not slaves to the body. We would like to think our mind and soul is in charge, but the truth is that the body's desires are the driving force behind many of our actions. Many of the most self-destructive behaviors in our society are possible because the body is behind the wheel instead of the mind and will. Fasting teaches you discipline and frees you from the slavery to the body's desires.

Once I got there, I understood his reticence to hit specifics. Every person's calling is different, as unique as the individual, and his goal is to show us a path to finding out for ourselves what that is. A valid point, I think.

Overall: Well worth reading, but be aware that you'll have to wade through a lot of words to get to the point.

posted by ckbasi on April 19, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 13, 2011

    With the new mass changes it is a good time to read this book

    This book helps you to think about your Catholic faith. It covers the problems of not only the church but the world as well. There are several themes repeated through out this book. I enjoyed reading on my Nook. I recommend while reading to also read around any of the bible verses mentioned it helped me to take home a stronger message. The book's translations of bible verses are modernized to fit the reading style. This does not take away from thier value or importance.

    The author does use a few sweeping brush stokes in making his points. At times his point lacks a compelling view or a good focus. Some of his explainations are just too simple and lack real understanding of life's complexities. Yet his challenges are awesome and not to be left unexamained or practiced.

    I truly loved his chapter on the saints and thier authentic lives.

    I read this book as part of a study group with my church.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2012

    For the first hundred pages I was skeptical; the prose wanders q

    For the first hundred pages I was skeptical; the prose wanders quite a bit, and reads like a motivational talk filled with generalities but little of substance. I kept waiting for him to dig in and tell us how to get from here to there.

    The overarching theme is that to revitalize our faith, the Church and the world, we must strive to become the "best versions of ourselves." It is a a worthy theme, but it took a long time to make every point; the book could have been cut by a third and still had the same impact.

    However, it is a worthwhile read for the chapters on the Pillars of Catholicism: confession, daily prayer, the Mass, the Bible, fasting, spiritual reading, and the rosary. Here, at last, he really delves into the rationale behind each of these practices. For instance, in the fasting chaper, he outlines the idea that true freedom can only be found when we are not slaves to the body. We would like to think our mind and soul is in charge, but the truth is that the body's desires are the driving force behind many of our actions. Many of the most self-destructive behaviors in our society are possible because the body is behind the wheel instead of the mind and will. Fasting teaches you discipline and frees you from the slavery to the body's desires.

    Once I got there, I understood his reticence to hit specifics. Every person's calling is different, as unique as the individual, and his goal is to show us a path to finding out for ourselves what that is. A valid point, I think.

    Overall: Well worth reading, but be aware that you'll have to wade through a lot of words to get to the point.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Matthew Kelly has no formal theological training and it shows. I

    Matthew Kelly has no formal theological training and it shows. If you want a book focused on warm/fuzzy private spirituality you will find it here. However, if you want  a Catholicism that challenges our cultural systems of privilege and patriarchy found in the Catholic tradition of social justice and necessary for full participation in our Catholic faith, don't look here.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    A must read book

    This book is a treassure that synthesizes the Catholic spirituality in a very practical way. The book is fresh, easy to read and orthodox. Many questions that I had have found a solid answer. I hope you choose to read the book; read it slowly in order to meditate its content and when you are done, share it others
    EMaus

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Highly Recommended - everyone needs to check it out!!!

    This was one of the most wonderful books I've read in ages ... I read quite a lot and try to read on different topics. This is a spiritual book and also written by a lovely Catholic man, but this would be a good book for any serious Christian to read. We can not deny that there is something seriously wrong in our world today, Matthew does an excellent job of telling us what it is and what to do about it. I just ordered 500 copies from the author to pass out to everyone I bump into.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    The Universal Church

    A force to be reckon with, the Catholic Church contributes many good things to society. Besides feeding, teaching, and pasturing millions around the globe, the Church is the largest institution on the planet.

    However in recent years, scandals and a lower rate of church attendance has called for a renewal of the faith. In Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose by Matthew Kelly, the author tries to shed light to the basic tenets of the Catholic Faith.

    This book is an attempt to conjure and inspire a new generation of Catholics to reap the benefits of the Universal church.
    More than simply a Catholic book, Rediscover Catholicism: A Spiritual Guide to Living with Passion & Purpose by Matthew Kelly is an helpful guide to discover the spiritual part of our human existence.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    H

    Luv the intro

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2014

    There are many challenges facing the Catholic Church, and these

    There are many challenges facing the Catholic Church, and these challenges are also faced by many other faiths throughout the world.
    Matthew Kelly touches so very briefly on many issues which have caused many people to leave the Church and abandon active Catholicism.
    We cannot ignore the issues of contraception, pedophilia by the clergy, divorce, etc. Our crazy lives have separated us from the values that many of us were raised with, and it is sad to realize how far we have strayed from our spiritual North Star, our True North. But many feel that the hard realities of life are in conflict with Church policies and Mr. Kelly skates over these issues and turns the onus onto each Catholic to resolve. His brevity on these issues does not help us resolve our inner turmoil and our inability to rediscover Catholicism as our faith.
    The sections on prayer, the Mass, the Bible, spiritual readings and the Rosary were good; however, some chapters were very redundant and repetitive, and somewhat preachy.
    Many of us try to live our lives through our faith. Do we really need to rediscover Catholicism? What we really need is to return to the core teachings of Jesus Christ, and embrace these teachings as the way we need to live our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2013

    This is a very good book with interesting ideas and often some v

    This is a very good book with interesting ideas and often some very good advice. However he kills the message with his constant use of cliche quotes which tends to render the message a bit on the phony baloney side. By the end of the book I swear if I heard "be abetter version of yourself" again I was going to burn the book. It can all be summed up by translating the cliches into just be a good person and you will see a great change in your life. There, you just saved 14 bucks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Great book that helps one dive deeper into their Catholic faith.

    Great book that helps one dive deeper into their Catholic faith. Matthew Kelly is a fantastic writer.

    Easy read. 

    I actually read this with the College students that I work with. Very helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Excellent guide to Catholicism

    This book is somewhat like something in the "......for dumies series"

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1