Customer Reviews for

Red's Hot Cowboy (Spikes & Spurs Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another winner from Carolyn Brown!

This is a quirky, sassy, and delightful read. In this story Pearl "Red" inherits her aunts motel the Longhorn Inn and quits her exec. bank job to run it. Wil Marshall is a ruggedly handsome rancher who loves to go toe to toe with Pearl any chance he gets. They both have...
This is a quirky, sassy, and delightful read. In this story Pearl "Red" inherits her aunts motel the Longhorn Inn and quits her exec. bank job to run it. Wil Marshall is a ruggedly handsome rancher who loves to go toe to toe with Pearl any chance he gets. They both have insecurities that threaten to end the budding relationship before it starts but the author manages to balance the storyline keeping you both entertained and wanting more all at the same time. Also introduced in this story is Lucy Fontaine who escaped an abusive husband to start over in a new town. Her story touched my heart and has me rooting for her especially when Luke enters the story as a bus driver for other abused women making their escapes and takes a liking to Lucy. I liked being updated on Rye O'Donnell and Austin from the first book in this series and glad to know their doing well. Can't wait to read more from this author as she is funny, down-to-earth and always leaves me smiling!

posted by cinful1121 on August 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not for me

The story concept was good, but the dialogue was way too distracting. I know plenty of people from texas and not one of them speaks like that. The dialogue and grammar ruined it for me. Not sexy at all.

posted by 9394860 on November 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Not for me

    The story concept was good, but the dialogue was way too distracting. I know plenty of people from texas and not one of them speaks like that. The dialogue and grammar ruined it for me. Not sexy at all.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another winner from Carolyn Brown!

    This is a quirky, sassy, and delightful read. In this story Pearl "Red" inherits her aunts motel the Longhorn Inn and quits her exec. bank job to run it. Wil Marshall is a ruggedly handsome rancher who loves to go toe to toe with Pearl any chance he gets. They both have insecurities that threaten to end the budding relationship before it starts but the author manages to balance the storyline keeping you both entertained and wanting more all at the same time. Also introduced in this story is Lucy Fontaine who escaped an abusive husband to start over in a new town. Her story touched my heart and has me rooting for her especially when Luke enters the story as a bus driver for other abused women making their escapes and takes a liking to Lucy. I liked being updated on Rye O'Donnell and Austin from the first book in this series and glad to know their doing well. Can't wait to read more from this author as she is funny, down-to-earth and always leaves me smiling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Fantastic Read

    Rough and ready cowboy meet one sassy motel owner. Toss in a mystery or two and you've got the makings of a great story, Red's Hot Cowboy by Carolyn Brown. This is one of those books you won't want to miss.

    I will warn, there are a lot of characters, but as per Ms. Brown's style, it's like reading about a gigantic extended family. Everyone is important to the story and I couldn't leave any of them out. But I'm going to focus on the hero and heroine. Talk about a hoot, reading along as Pearl--love the Minnie Pearl connection--gave Wil a run for his money. She's got some fantastic one liners. And Wil. Well, he's written so well, I could picture him. Ms. Brown, I'd love another hero just as handsome. He's full of concern and love for Pearl, even if he doesn't know it. I enjoyed reading about the journey between first lust and full bloom love. And as much as she gets him going, he does the same right back to her.

    I won't give anything away, but this is one of those books you sit down and can't help but read all at once. There's no getting up for a drink of water or going to sleep. Nope. All the little things are important and make the story richer. Oh, and the steamy scenes, well, get the glass of water before you start. You'll be glad you did.

    If you want a book with plenty of twists, turns, hot cowboys, and a storyline that's got to be continued (please, Ms. Brown, you've got the next story in the works?), then you need a copy of Red's Hot Cowboy. It's earned every one of the 4.5 books.

    Originally posted at the Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Love this writer!!

    Love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Not the worst book I've ever read....

    The book would be half the length if the author would quit repeating herself. The dialogue's inconsistent, the characters are over-the-top stereotypes who aren't fleshed out, and the storyline doesn't flow well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    carolyn brown

    This book was such a joy. It really helped to get me through the holidays. Carolyn Brown really knows how to captivate such romantic moments and bring out such imaginitive moments. All of her books are extremely fun to read. All about those romantic cowboys we all wish to find and the independent woman who doesnt take any sh*t. Such an inspirstion i love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    This book is so cute, once you finish any of Carolyn Brown's books you have to pick up the next book right away.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    Totally kept my attention, did not want to put this series down!!! I can not wait for the 5th book to come out this fall. If you like cowboy type romances, you will enjoy these!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    Fantastic fun read!

    I really enjoyed this series a lot. Fun and flirty and always enjoyable with a hot cowboy involved. Will read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2012

    Series

    Love this series, something about it keeps me reading, I'm not sure what but I'm happy with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    recommend

    great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Carolyn Brown does it again!

    Carolyn Brown delivers a fun and witty story of Pearl and Wil that will make you laugh and cry. I couldn't put it down when I first read it and I've read it 2 more times since.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Five stars!

    Carolyn Brown has done it again! There's not a story that I haven't loved. Her characters are down to earth and jumping off the page to be your new best friends- all the women are sassy and quick to speak their minds... it doesnt hurt to add in the hunky cowboys that will make you want to run away with the rodeo, hail the next tractor you see or go honky tonkin'! Can't wait for the next one!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3