Customer Reviews for

Redshirts, Chapters 1-4

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Scalzi is brilliant as always.

    If you have read such wonderful works as the Android's Dream, or the Old Man's War series you know what a great author John Scalzi is. If you haven't read the Old Man's War series, or Android's Dream you should do so immediately. Then read Readshirts. Chapters 1-4 are amazing, and I can't wait to read the full book

    Unfortunately, I shall have to wait. My Nook fell from a height of no more than three feet and has gone off to silicone heaven. Not a problem since I got the extended warranty that covers falls, right? Despite my credit card statement and receipts, and my need to avail myself of the warranty once before, Barnes and Noble claims I do not have an extended warranty and will not honor it.

    Redshirt is a must read, but I believe I shall be doing so either on the Kindle or the Sony PRS. Two dead units, failure to honor the warranty, and horrendous service from Barnes and Noble has put me off the Nook. Then to add insult to injury they send a request for me to write a review.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Good

    Liked it. Now want to get a hold of the rest of the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Fun and games aboard a spaceship

    ....who will die next? A curse, bad luck, or is there some other reason?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Star Trek has nothing on REDSHIRTS!

    A very interesting read can't wait to read more on this subject.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Argh!!!!

    I can't believe I did this to myself! I read these first four chapters, and now I have to wait THREE WEEKS to read the rest of the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    OK, I have been able to read the entire book. First I have to sa

    OK, I have been able to read the entire book. First I have to say it starts out like a crappy Star Trek show, hold on it gets better. The beginning of the book is told by the the viewpoints of the redshirts who are being badly written by a sub-par science fiction writer (think syfi weekend movie). If you can hold on for the first several chapters it gets good. In the book you will be able to see the viewpoints of all involved (bad writer, actors, redshirts, and all affected). Scalzi is brilliant as always in this book, I suggest you save yourself the torment and just buy the whole book it will be worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    Excellent book and excellent sample.

    I'd read enough reviews to know this was going to be a love-it-or-hate-it experience. (I loved it.) But what I found VERY useful was the opportunity to try the first 4 chapters and see if I wanted to buy it at that point.

    VERY smart. I wish more authors / publishers used this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Fanfic

    Loved Old Man's War. But this is really just campy Star Trek fanfiction. OK if you like that...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2012

    Emily

    Wow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Chapter #1

    I dont have much time. I being watched, followed, and probably soon, killed. So I might as well tell you my story. My name is Willow Hesther, I am 15. Ive seen more and done more than most 15 year olds. For one, Ive killed all of 3 people, but it wasnt always my fault. First let me introduce myself. I have long dark brown hair and steely grey eyes. I weigh all of 88.364 pounds, since the last time I checked. I am very very skinny and I am very hungry. I am about 5'6", and I have broad shoulders with limber arms. My talents are mostly physical, I've been told that Im not very bright. But when Im in the mountains with the huge trees and the clean air surrounding me, I feel invincible. I live in my forest. The people don't come in the forest because they fear that wild animals will steal their lives away from them. Although the animals are frightening, I have become rather fond of them. They are better company than the people anyway. I used to live in the village with my father. He was Fir Hesther. My father was a great man. He worked as a bow smith and built me my first bow when I was five. He died in a fire when I was 10. Ill never forget the look on his face before the roof of our cedar cabin caved in, trapping him in. He wasnt scared, he was determined and his usually blue eyes were hard and tough and then I heard him scream in pain. The thought of him gives me strength to never be weak. After Fir died the council of elders evicted me for starting the fire. They had always despised me and my mother because she was one of the Forest of Bane, therefore I am too. My mother was strong and beautiful. She was a hunter and sometimes spent days at a time in the woods. She loved them, but because of them the council exicuted her. Her name was Yew, named after the beautiful but dangerous tree. She was evicted for suposed use of Woods Magic against the council. When they evicted me, my aunt on my father's side sent her step son Eli Masinita to me to help me hide in the forest, but he was killed. I left with a bow, 70 arrows, a knife, a game bag, and a spare set of clothes. Its been five years since I escaped, and they are still tracking me. I live with my hunting partner, Mareth Hazel. He has a striking resemblence to me, but he is tall and handsome. He is a genius with hunting. He can hit a squirrel from 100 yards in complete darkness. He is 16 and was 11 when he found me. He took me in and taught me everything he knows about the woods. Apparently I was so talented that he kept me, and I have been living with him ever since. He like a big brother to me. He swears he would do anything for me, and he proved it when he was 14. He saved me from a crazed sickly wolf. In result of the attack he lost vision in his left eye. He always claims that he would have gladly given both eyes for me. My life in the woods has been safe and secure for five years, all up until now. It was because of them.



    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2012

    :(

    I can NOT open it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2