Customer Reviews for

Redwall (Redwall Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 397 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(329)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 397 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Couldn't put it down!

    Wow. People told me to read this book and I said, "Yeah, I'll get to it."<BR/>When I got to it I was amazed. It was AWESOME

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Welcome to The Captivating World of Redwall

    "Imagine a timeless world where any young reader could travel to whenever they wished. A place which exists beneath some blue forgotten sky. A land that does not have to rely on modern-day technology..." this is a quote from Brian Jacques, on the topic of his book,"Redwall". This is a definite must-read adventure story for young readers. It is about a young clumsy mouse named Matthias, who over the course of the story learns to conquer his fears. The thing that made this book so much more enjoyable was the author's way of personifying all of the many types of animals included in the book. The main plot of the story is that a group of evil rats commanded by Cluny, their terrible leader is trying to take over Redwall Abbey, the grand home of many peaceful creatures. Some of the characters include: Methuselah, a wise old scholar that helps Matthias throughout the story; Basil Stag Hare, a quite strange rabbit that gives the readers a good laugh; Constance, a giant badger that protects Redwall; and Martin, a warrior that helped establish Redwall and is also Matthias's idol. Brian Jacques is a very good writer; every detail of this book just flows together smoothly.

    While I was reading this book it almost always had me guessing what was going to happen next, and it usually is not what you expect will happen. Also, if you ever get bored at any time while you're reading, the author throws in a few hilarious comments every now and then. When I was in a bad mood right before I was going to sleep, I would just pick up this book and immerse myself into this wondrous fantasy story. Young readers can really connect to the characters thoughts and feeling, even though there supposed to be various animals, it is like they are children and adults from different aspects of every day life.


    I have had this book for awhile but I never really got into it, I was running out of books to read so I thought I would try out this one again. It was a little boring for me at the very start of the story, but after I got past that I just could not put it down, with its: unique characters, marvelous settings, plot twists, and its adventurous feeling. To the people who enjoyed Redwall I would recommend reading through the rest of the books in the Redwall Series. I hope you enjoyed the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2008

    Awesome book

    Imagine if you were watching the conquest of an evil rat warlord, named Cluny, who was attacking a castle. That¿s what happened in Redwall a great novel by Brian Jacques one of his first pieces of published literature. Redwall started the first of the Redwall Series. This story takes place in Mossflower wood which is right next to Redwall the abbey. Here the unlikely hero, Matthias, takes shelter, but all is not right in Mossflower because Cluny is coming to take Redwall. Matthias is a little mouse that is unraveling a web of riddles that will lead him to the sword of Martin, who is the dead warrior of Redwall. Redwall is a great read for young-adults to adults. This story is an awesome war story. This book is a great way to build vocabulary and a good book for people who liked the Harry Potter series. The Redwall Series is a series that I recommend for people who want to get into something new that is adventurous.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    DO NOT ORDER THIS PARTICULAR COPY!!

    This is a wonderful book, and you (especially your kids) will enjoy it. But this particular version (ISBN-13: 9780142409459) is not the one to order. It is NOT hardcover. It is a cardboard folder inside a cardboard sleeve, with the 3 "books" of the novel as separate badly-bound paperbacks. I was extremely disappointed when I ordered this "hardcover" version and got 3 shoddy paperbacks. Order the other "20th Anniversary" hardcover edition (ISBN-13: 9780399247941).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    Amazing!

    I'm on my 5th redwall book right now, and I loved them all. But so far nothing compared to this one. One of the reasons is the set of characters. Matthais, Jess, and Basil are the best Ideas Jaques as come up with yet. Read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2009

    Must Read This Book!

    In 7th grade this was on our reading list, and after I read the summary, I thought it was interesting. When I started reading the book, I couldn't stop! It is by far one of the best books I've ever read, and is one of my favorite books today. It's interesting, funny, scary, shocking, and just absolutely awesome!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book!

    I'll tell you why I read this: my brother is 25, and these books were his favorites when he was a teenager like me. So I bought it- expecting it to be great- and it was! I absolutely love this book and am greatly looking forward to the rest of them! Read them, they are great for all ages, boys and girls. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    Terrific kickoff to an amazing series

    Redwall by Brian Jacques is an exciting, adventurous fantasy book. It is the first book in a long and rich series. It¿s incredibly easy to become attached to the memorable characters and vivid descriptive writing. This book takes place in Mossflower Wood, a massive forest where peaceful woodland animals take the place of humans. In the middle of Mossflower lies Redwall Abbey, a huge red sandstone abbey inhabited by the Order of Redwall Mice. These mice were sworn to help creatures in need and to uphold peace.<BR/> However, this peace would be shattered when an evil rat warlord, Cluny the Scourge, chances upon the abbey. Soon, the woodlanders would realize the danger and prepare for war. The battle for the abbey had begun. With no knowledge of battle, the Redwallers need help-and fast. A young mouse named Matthias volunteers to search for a legendary sword that was owned by the fearsome warrior, Martin, many years ago. On his journey, he must contend with deadly snakes, confront a fierce bird warrior king, and solve agonizing riddles.<BR/> Brian Jacques has used the omniscient point of view for many of his books. His clever use of specific dialects for each animal gives his books quite a bit of charm. Frequent mood swings keep readers interested, and riddles in the plot often make you want to solve it as much as the characters.<BR/> I would recommend this book to any fantasy, fiction, or adventure lover, or anyone who wants a break from human characters. I think anyone can get something out of this book, be it inspiration or a chuckle here and there.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    Matthias

    I am 20 years old and I really did enjoyed this book. I cant wait to read book number 2. This book was well written very action pack and joy filling.The saddest part of the whole book to me was when Methuselah died.This book is sorta like a story for the under dog in any situation. It also goes to show you, if you believe and have faith in your self. Its nothing you cant accomplish nor do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Despite the fact that the book is fairly well written and decent

    Despite the fact that the book is fairly well written and decently paced, I found the plot itself to just be predictable and unbelievably boring. This is a clichéd, “coming of age” heroic quest fantasy tale, except the story is populated by mice and other cute, mostly furry animals that just think and act human.
    One of the things that especially annoyed me was that I couldn't figure out the “scale” of the Redwall world. Are they mice and rats living clandestine in a human-built world? If so, where are the humans? Are they human-sized rodents in a people-free world? Then why are the horses and hay-wagons enormous and the churches inhabited by mice? It was never made clear.
    I also dislike the fact that rats, foxes, and weasels were made villains, simply because they were clever, predators in real life, and a whole lot more wicked-looking than mice and squirrels. You never saw a single good rat in the story. How can every creature in a species have an evil predisposition? For similar reasons, I dislike the main protagonist in the story: Matthias is pure, strong, a natural leader, and can never do wrong.
    I finished the book, but crossed off the rest of the series from my reading list.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    Remembered liking these. Saw the show. But I mostly remember the covers especially Marlfox. This one is the first in the series. Pretty good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Written for the younger readers, Redwall and all the other books

    Written for the younger readers, Redwall and all the other books in this series are stand alone books that introduce you to a wonderful world of talking animals.  The characters in these books introduce you to a brave young hero or heroine who must help to save the Redwall Abbey from the terrible villain who is attacking the loveable creatures who reside there.  They all center on the original hero of the abbey Martin the Warrior, and his spirit that helps to guide these young heros.  With a wide collection of characters from the Abbott or Abbess of the Abbey who is their leader, to the Dibbins (the babies of the Abbey), the solid yet steady moles and the occasional hares who visit, and other creatures, you are drawn to a wonderful yet fanciful world of good versus evil.  I own pretty much every book in this series and have loved every one (and I'm in my late 40's LOL).  Mr Jacques continues to delight with every single book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2013

    This is an amazing book. It was read to me by the school librari

    This is an amazing book. It was read to me by the school librarian in grade school and I loved it. It is my all time favorite series and I bought each consecutive book the week it was released. Brian Jacques created a mystical place where animals spoke and lived their lives like human beings. There were the good species of animals and the evil. The Redwall series is a great series for young children and it is a great series of the struggle between good and evil.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a chapter book for older elementary. It would be good fo

    This is a chapter book for older elementary. It would be good for YA as well.Matthias is an energetic mouse in an Abbey where he will become a part ofeventually.Part of the book has wording a little advanced for elementary age.The first part of book 1 was a little jumbled and confusing. The last halfof book one and into book two was very action pact. I an sure thisfantasy would please most youth especially young boys.I fluctuated between three or four stars but it is totally clean. That is an element really lacking in our society. there is some violence but not descriptive or too intense.There is a few good morals to the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    awesome!!!!!!!

    awesome!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    EPIC!

    At first, I got it for christmas years ago, and thought it would be boring. but then very recently I had watched all three seasons of Redwall, hoping that would get me interested... Oh man did I get interested! After I finished the seasons I picked up the book and finally read it, I finished it in around two weeks, and love it to the core. I couldn't put it down. The plot line was crisp and lead me to stay there until the next part. Very well written. No pictures but the simple chapter picture at the top of the page. I wouldn't recommend it to young children under ten or nine, since of the swearing and volence. But it is something that you should read if you are eleven or older. But overall it is my new favorite book, I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2011

    Love this book!

    Really, really good plot. Best book of the Redwall series. Wish it was available on the nook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Wrong Product Description

    The description to this product says that it is a Hardcover. When I bought this I expected it to be a Hardcover 20th Anniversary edition of Book #1 Redwall. What it truly is is a box that contains a foldout of books 1-3 in paperback. Do not buy this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2010

    Not what I expected

    The desciption said it was a Hardcover...more like a hard case for three paperbacks inside the case.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Redwall

    This is a great book. It explains the characters in detail. It gives a great view of the town. It is a great book for people that like action/adventure and fantasy books. It will keep you glued to the pages until you finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 397 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 20