Customer Reviews for

Redwall (Redwall Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 399 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(329)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    Redwall

    This is a great book. It explains the characters in detail. It gives a great view of the town. It is a great book for people that like action/adventure and fantasy books. It will keep you glued to the pages until you finish the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Strangely Amazing

    Who would have thought that a book about woodland creatures in a big stone abbey would become one of my favorite books for many years. After reading Redwall just because I had nothing else to read, I read the next 15 books within a year. They were great. I love the diversity of the creatures. Badgers, otters, mice, rats, weasels, stoats, shrews, hares, hedgehogs, moles, ferrets, foxes, ect. I like how they all have their special skills and that they all cooperate. I really like the badgers in all the books. I like how the peaceful creatures of Redwall band together and fight off the great hordes of Cluny the Scourge. And there was always another twist to the story, for example, the great snake. The best part about these books is that there is always another one to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2009

    Redwall

    This book was very exciting to read. I was looking forward to reading the next book in series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I READ THE WHOLE SERIES 3 TIMES IT NEVER GOT OLD!!!

    HAVE TO READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    GOOD AS WARRIORS!!!!!!

    This book is just as good as any of the Warriors books by Erin Hunter!!!!!! It has similar good-vs-evil settings!!!!!! It was so good, Redwall inspired Erin to write Warriors and Seekers did you know that??????!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2008

    Favorite fantasy book

    If you're a person who loves books about animal fantasy, then this is the book for you. This book is full of adventure and fun. It is about a little mouse whose name is Matthias. He lives in an abbey named Redwall. He has all these adventures at Redwall. He has an elder companion whose name is Methuselah. In the beginning of this book an evil rat named Cluny attacks Redwall, and eventually a whole ton of things happen with Cluny and Redwall. This is my favorite book and I'm sure you'll like it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2008

    REDWALL ROCKS!!!!!

    Redwall is overall, an awsome book. I love to read, so its perfect. I even rated it number 2 out of my favorite books.'I have read quite a lot,and number one was warriors.' It is sooooooo good! I love how the plot twists and turns, and how good and evil meet over and over again! THIS IS A GREAT BOOK! READ IT! the only bad part was that ferrets were considered evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2008

    A reviewer

    This book by English author Brian Jacques, is quite possibly the most captivating adventure tale I have ever read. Its vivid storytelling method will keep your hands bolted to the covers and eyes glued to the pages, and never disappoints on any page. There are no scenes whatsoever that you will have to get through to get to a 'good part,' because as soon as you open the book, you're there! The plot is carried by a cast of anthropomorphic woodland creatures, chiefly rodents. When the malignant sea-rat, Cluny the Scourge arrives at the abbey, demanding dominance, a war breaks out. Against all odds, the young mouse apprentice Matthias must find the fabled sword of Martin the Warrior and slay the evil invaders. This book is only one of a dozen other books set in the same world. If Redwall has you begging for more, read Mattimeo, Martin the Warrior, or perhaps the whole series. The only disagreeable part of this book were a handful of brief scenes of bad language, so the book is likely intended for pre-teens and young teenagers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2008

    A reviewer

    The story of Redwall takes place inside Redwall, a huge abbey mainly for rodents. Matthias is a young, klutzy little mouse who loves to hear about brave heroes and their history and adventures. He even dreams of being one himself. Then late one summer night, the road to Matthias¡¯s hopes is revealed when he bumps into perhaps the most vicious rodent the Abbey of Redwall has ever seen. Cluny the Scourge is a ruthless rat, intent on taking over Redwall and either making its current mice inhabitants into slaves, or killing them so they would be out of his way for good. Without a second thought, Matthias steps confidently onto the path to his goals, unaware of the blood that may be shed or the turmoil that might be stirred. Along the way, Matthias recieves the help, sword, and shield of the most famous hero of all, Martin the Warrior himself! Although Martin has been long gone, he acts through Matthias, greatly increasing their chances of victory. However, the price of battle does not go unpaid. Countless lives are lost, some of which have been the dearest of friends. Nevertheless, Matthias battles bravely on, for the sake of the rest of the creatures within Redwall.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    A reviewer

    The best book I have EVER read! And I read ALOT!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was very good and very well written. Redwall is an action-packed book and keeps you reading! It starts out very well and gives you a good description of what the characters are like before you get to really know them. You learn about a very famous mouse, and the evil Cluny the Scourge and his band of miscreants. You will not be able to put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2007

    OK!

    This book was great except for the bad words. This is not a very good book for little kids. There are quite a few words that I did not agree with.Other than that the book was Awsome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2007

    Great book!

    This is an excellent book. The characters are strong and well portrayed. The theme of good vs. evil holds throughout the story with Matthias and the other Redwallers and woodland creatures teaming up to defeat Cluny the Scourge and his terrible horde. Matthias learns to find the warrior within himself and with the help of the Redwallers, Cluny is defeated. There is so much detail in these books, it's easy to picture what is happening throughout the story. Even the feasts are so well described you'll find your mouth watering at the descriptions of the food, so be careful if you're reading this on an empty stomach! This story and all of the Redwall books have good, positive messages throughout and I would recommend them to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2007

    A exellent book with a dangerous but awsome adventure.

    REDWALL, BY:Brian Jaques There is a place that is called Redwall Abbey. Everybaody lives peacefully until one night ayoung mouse named Mathias sees a mouse named Cluny. Cluny wants to have Redwall Abbey which has high walls and a strong doors to keep people out. But they say no. Cluny and his team attacks the abbey but trying to get in. Cluny tries but fails to get in. Buteven if the people in the abbey are safe the fighting must stop. Mathias sets out to find a sword that belonged to Martin who is a real legendary hero. At first they thought it was on top of this pole thing but a crow had taken it. Mathias must head to the top of the roof of the abbey. He forces a crow he got to show him the way but gets captured and that the leader crow lost it and a serpent got it. Mathias escapes and sets of to the Quarry where the serpent Asmoundeus lives. He meets some bagers that help him. When he reaches the Quarry he must get the sword! He sucesfully gets the sword . Then he heads back to the abbey and the badgers come too! Mathias meets the same crow that he got and forced her to help him. She says she will come and help him also! At the abbey some of Cluny's teammates find a few mice. Cluny forces tem to get into the abbey and unlock the door so they can get in and it works. Mathias and the othors(the sparrow and the badgers) get to the abbey and the fight begins! In the end Cluny is slayed and the abbey wins! This is an exciting book you will love! Setting: Redwall Abbey, Quarry and Mossflower woods. Charecters: Mathias: A brave young mouse that is kind and sets out to find Martins sword! Cluny: A evil person rat that wants to take over the Abbey. There's even a song about him that can make children behave! Asmoundeuss:A serpent that lives in the quarry and you wouldn't want to run into. It is very dangerous. I liked this book cause it is full of adventure and fighting and I like how they have creatures in it instead of humans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2007

    A war book with love and adventure

    A war book about love and adventure It starts off with a regular mouse on an ordinary day coming back with some fruit when he runs into the leader of an ancestral group of mice. He finds out that the leader is having a banquet. So after the banquet, the little mouse and some hand-picked guards start bringing people home in a cart when the person pushing the cart has a felling to hide somewhere quickly. A few seconds later, they heard the galloping of hooves and then a horse with a cart full of straw rushes by with, but with a horde of rats! So the people rush back to Redwall 'An old fort used by the Redwall Mice to tend to animals needs' and tell the leader the news. The leader got confused quickly and so he asked what the biggest rat looked like. One mouse piped up that he had an eye patch and had a spike on his tail. The leader knew who it was at once, Cluny the Scourge 'a tyrant who came over on a ship and is trying to take over the whole land'! Cluny and his men soon crashed after passing Redwall trapping or killing over three-fourths of the horde. Cluny realized he needed more men so he sent people out to get some more recruits. After a few days, the siege began 'when Redwall denied the surrender'. Then riddles come into play and some mix-ups with sparrows, gueriellia¿s, and a giant adder happen. This book has 333 pages and is told in first person but from different perspectives that change at random. Only older readers would like this book because of the descriptive details and of the advanced vocabulary in some places. It started off calm and serene 'not how I expected it', but after a couple of chapters it started to gain speed, but then it would slow down. It kept on going like that till the very end. It started out confusing too, but then after you got used to the switching and changing of speed you were getting better and understood the book. This book is split into three sections and a lot of chapters. Each section intertwines with the answer to defeat Cluny and help the people of Redwall restore peace to the land.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2007

    Redwall the best book ever

    Redwall is the best book for kids and adults to read for their imagiation to take them on a ride of fighting and love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book is truly a very well written book. It has many riddles and a lot of action which also makes it very interesting and addicting. I finished Redwall in less than 24 hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2007

    Best fantasy book ever!

    This has to be one of the greatest fantasy books of all time. I'd even go as far as saying that this is as good as 'Lord of the Rings'. Everything about this book is excellant. The plot, the characters, action, humor and drama. Brian Jacques starts off an awesome sereies, although the rest of the series can't match up to this one. Can't wait for the next one: 'Eulalia' coming October!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2007

    amzing

    i really enjoyed this book at first it seemed kind of weird but after three chapters i was completly emersed in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    Mathias the Mouse Warrior

    Mathias the Mouse Warrior! Are you interested in a fantasy tale with grand adventures? Redwall has what you¿re looking for including: an evil villain, a heroic young warrior, suspense, justice, and a cheer full ending! In this epic tale Brian Jaquez takes you into the life of the young mouse as he rises from a young buffoon into a young hero. Mathias is a young mouse of Redwall who is known to take life fast, he is a buffoon and is also a courageous and obedient mouse. We learn that Mathias was an orphan and was once a woodland mouse found outside of the gates of Redwall. While working with the Abbot of Redwall Mathias sees a figure that was woven into the tapestry, which was the figure of a heroic looking mouse with a fearless smile on his handsome face. This piece of art would change the way that Mathias thinks and acts! It gave him something to look up to. ¿If only I could be like Martin the warrior¿ really shows the great personality for the young mouse. Mathias is the type of character that progresses along in the story. Characters like him would be in stories like Harry Potter and Lord of the rings. At first we learn how he is just an innocent young mouse who has no real importance. The theme of this story is even the smallest thing can make the biggest difference. There are about two significant characters in this story. The first significant character would be Mathias. Not only is he a main character, but he is also a character that really ¿grows inside¿ in the story. The other character is Chuny, he is what many fantasy stories may have the ¿villain, he is known to bring war to the land. This story¿s setting takes place in a fantasy countryside called Moss flower. The author describes this country side Moss Flower as a peaceful place, which fit¿s in with the story. Because of two things, one being that the main residence of Moss Flower is mice, and they are living in the ¿Time of Peace¿. The setting is pretty much where the main character is around a main battle scene takes place here as well. In the story RedWall, the author uses a lot of irony and foreshadow. For example in a part of the story it explains how Mathias sees a tapestry of a great hero, and how Mathias explains how he wants to be one. But the Abbott tells him that it¿s a ¿Time of Peace¿. It kind of foreshadows what¿s to come of our young hero. Not only that but on the next chapter is based on the villain ¿ Cluny the Scourge¿ which is someone who brings war. The irony here is how Mathias wants to be a hero, and Cluny is on his way to bring war. To heighten the suspense the author does a lot of foreshadowing, so we know what¿s to come. This story is told Narrative, which is important because it really makes this story like a fantasy. The author did a good job in writing this story. He writes the story with a lot of imagination and fantasy. In my opinion I thought it was a pretty good book, if your looking for something to read on a day where reading is all you can do, this is the one for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 399 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 20