Customer Reviews for

Redwood Bend (Virgin River Series #18)

Average Rating 4.5
( 279 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(174)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another nice Virgin River romance.

Katie Malone has moved to Virgin River to be near her big brother Connor. Katie and her twin boys were forced to move from their home when Connor became the sole witness to a murder and was threatened by the killer. Katie was widowed when her husband was killed overseas...
Katie Malone has moved to Virgin River to be near her big brother Connor. Katie and her twin boys were forced to move from their home when Connor became the sole witness to a murder and was threatened by the killer. Katie was widowed when her husband was killed overseas in the Army and she wants to settle down and rebuild her family life. On her way to VR, she gets a flat on her SUV and is rescued by a group of bikers, one of whom she recognizes as a former child star she had a crush on.
Dylan Childress left Hollywood when his grandmother Adele swept in and took him to live with her. Dylan was a big TV star whose best friend had just died at the age of 15 from a drug overdose/suicide attempt. Living with his grandmother taught Dylan how to have a normal life away from his fame obsessed mother and step siblings. Dylan owns an air transport business in Montana and is in VR for a holiday. Neither he nor Katie want to start a relationship that will go nowhere because of their different goals in life, but they can’t keep away from each other. It seems to be a romance that is doomed to cause unhappiness and misery but who listens to their head when the attraction is so strong….
One of the things I like about Ms. Carr’s Virgin River books is the slice of life aspect they have. As in the real world, life goes on for all of the secondary characters while the hero and heroine are going through whatever angst they are into. The community plays a part in the story and many times is instrumental in having the couples work out their issues. Dylan and Katie found normalcy and continuity in Virgin River which made it possible for them to come together when their own insecurities would have kept them apart. This book has a satisfying and realistic ending that fits in with the rest of the series.

posted by SharonRedfern on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Another good chapter in the series

I always love reading a new Virgin River novel and catching up with the old characters as well as meeting new ones. I liked the story of Katie and Dylan, but I keep thinking the last couple of books haven't had as much "meat" to the stories as in books past like Virgin ...
I always love reading a new Virgin River novel and catching up with the old characters as well as meeting new ones. I liked the story of Katie and Dylan, but I keep thinking the last couple of books haven't had as much "meat" to the stories as in books past like Virgin River or Temptation Ridge. The story is satisfying, but it was a really quick read for me and almost seemed rushed. I wish there had been a little more character interaction as they got to know each other, rather than narratives glossing over their dates and activities. All that said, I still can't wait for the next novel in the series.

posted by Avid_ReaderLL on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    Another good chapter in the series

    I always love reading a new Virgin River novel and catching up with the old characters as well as meeting new ones. I liked the story of Katie and Dylan, but I keep thinking the last couple of books haven't had as much "meat" to the stories as in books past like Virgin River or Temptation Ridge. The story is satisfying, but it was a really quick read for me and almost seemed rushed. I wish there had been a little more character interaction as they got to know each other, rather than narratives glossing over their dates and activities. All that said, I still can't wait for the next novel in the series.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another nice Virgin River romance.

    Katie Malone has moved to Virgin River to be near her big brother Connor. Katie and her twin boys were forced to move from their home when Connor became the sole witness to a murder and was threatened by the killer. Katie was widowed when her husband was killed overseas in the Army and she wants to settle down and rebuild her family life. On her way to VR, she gets a flat on her SUV and is rescued by a group of bikers, one of whom she recognizes as a former child star she had a crush on.
    Dylan Childress left Hollywood when his grandmother Adele swept in and took him to live with her. Dylan was a big TV star whose best friend had just died at the age of 15 from a drug overdose/suicide attempt. Living with his grandmother taught Dylan how to have a normal life away from his fame obsessed mother and step siblings. Dylan owns an air transport business in Montana and is in VR for a holiday. Neither he nor Katie want to start a relationship that will go nowhere because of their different goals in life, but they can’t keep away from each other. It seems to be a romance that is doomed to cause unhappiness and misery but who listens to their head when the attraction is so strong….
    One of the things I like about Ms. Carr’s Virgin River books is the slice of life aspect they have. As in the real world, life goes on for all of the secondary characters while the hero and heroine are going through whatever angst they are into. The community plays a part in the story and many times is instrumental in having the couples work out their issues. Dylan and Katie found normalcy and continuity in Virgin River which made it possible for them to come together when their own insecurities would have kept them apart. This book has a satisfying and realistic ending that fits in with the rest of the series.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth the time

    Wonderful Book I enjoyed reading. kept me entertained all the way through.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Virgin River Is A Great Place To Visit

    Ms Carr is one of my favorite authors and she did not disappoint me with this book of the Virgin River Series. I felt there was romance in this book more than some of the other books. Ms Carr can really write romance when her storyline calls for it! I liked the plot of this book and was entertained throughout the story. I always like to hear about or from characters from past books. I think you will enjoy this book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Redwood Bend Review—Robyn Carr Good points: Great writ

    Redwood Bend Review—Robyn Carr

    Good points: Great writing, real characters, a hot romance, true love, a special setting
    Bad points: A touch of blandness compared to previous novels
    Highlights: Character development
    Lowlights: Issues are resolved without much conflict or suspense
    Series: Virgin River (see Note)

    Redwood Bend is the latest in the Virgin River series, following Hidden Summit, Conner and Leslie’s story. Katie Malone is Conner’s much-loved younger sister and a military widow with 5-year-old twin boys. When she meets Dylan Childress on the road to Virgin River, she is very attracted to him, but determined to keep her head. She is nonetheless very tempted to dive into an undoubtedly temporary romantic fling. Dylan Childress is sure he has himself all figured out—his uniquely unstable past and uber-dysfunctional family make a stable relationship impossible. But his intense relationship with Katie throws him into confusion, and Dylan begins to reassess his life.

    From the first book I read by Robyn Carr, I was captivated by her ability to transport the reader to a time and place, a community in northern California that’s too good to be true, but still comes across as utterly real. Robyn Carr has a genius for plotting around realistic emotional issues that her fully developed characters deal with. Character growth is the key factor here. Her novels are like a vacation—to a place full of natural beauty that would set off my asthma and send me straight to the ER in real life! Okay, it’s a fantasy, a completely homogenous community where everyone’s straight, white, young, healthy, and practically every new Virgin River resident seems to have a healthy bankroll (with a few exceptions), but that’s okay. I’m a dyed-in-the-wool city girl, and I love every minute of my time in Virgin River and Ms. Carr’s other richly imagined locales.

    NOTE: I have never been a fan of fictional series, but, perhaps because I started from the beginning, I adore this one. The proof is that I’m always sorry to read that last page of every book. If you’re new to Robyn Carr’s novels, congratulations. You have a lot of great reading ahead of you. Sure, you can just dive into this book. But if it bugs you to constantly read little tidbits about characters from previous books, start at the beginning of the series. You won’t regret it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Must Read

    If you love the rest of the series, this is a must. Focuses on the story and brings in some of the characters from the series just a little.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    Katie Malone finally feels that she is getting her life back on


    Katie Malone finally feels that she is getting her life back on track after her husband’s death, the burning of the family hardware store, and hiding out in Vermont to avoid being a target in a murder case. Now, she and her twin sons can finally join her brother, so they will be near family again. On the way to Virgin River, California, her SUV has a flat. It’s raining, her cell gets no reception, and she can’t budge the lug nuts. Who comes roaring up but motorcycle riding Dylan Childress? A spoiled child actor who was pulled away from L.A. by his actress grandmother, he feels that his life is missing something, but is absolutely against the idea of marriage and family. Too many of his family members have been divorced and remarried with way too many blended families. In the end, the attraction and caring between Katie and Dylan is strong enough to overcome his fears. The down-to-earth townspeople of Virgin River are there to provide help and humor throughout the story.

    Katie and Dylan are likeable characters and their attraction makes for some steamy reading. Her respect for what he sees as his limitations, and his attempts to go beyond them endear them to the reader. Situations with her sons, a mama bear, Grandmother Adele, her driver Randy, and Jack and Preacher at the restaurant/bar in town add fun dialogue to the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    I have been a fan of this series up to this time but probably wi

    I have been a fan of this series up to this time but probably will no longer purchase any more books. I do not recall so much swearing and profanity in her previous books. I can take some bad talk but absolutely hate the "F" word and using the Lord's name. I just didn't think it was needed nor added anything to the plot. I guess she thought she was adding something new but I was very disappointed.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    It has everthing you need. Love. friedships, family. and exciting times.

    This is a Virgin River Series book. I have read all series. I found the first book in the Lamesa, TX resale library dept. I started hunting all the books I could find. Over all I rate this author in my opinion and my best friends opinion the greatest writer of time of these book. I feel like I know all the characters like family. You should know that I am 81 yrs young and I have been a reader all my life. It is my greatest pleasure, and I have to be careful with my buying. Thanks for asking me to do this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2012

    Redwood Bend..another great book in Robyn Carr's Virgin River Series

    Another enjoyable read from Robyn Carr. Bringing characters together from other books is nice and keeps each book entertaining.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Another winner in the Virgin River Series!

    Redwood Bend is #16 in the wonderful series by Robyn Carr. The story surprised me & went places that I didn't expect. I knew the h & h would end up together but I was pleasantly surprised how they got there.

    You can read this as a stand alone book, however, I would strongly suggest that you read them in order prior to this one. This is a lot of other characters in this book who have been in the previous ones. Knowing their backstory will give the book much more meaning & depth.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    exc read

    Redwood Bend by Robyn Carr
    Katie has packed up her house in VT, under the witness protection plan and headed out with her 2 kids to go live near her brother Conner who had been
    a witness in a murder. Things were just not working for her in VT. Her boyfriend she found out was gay.
    She treats the boys to Disney then heads up to Virgin River where her brother lives. Just in the northern section of CA she gets a flat and several bikers
    stop to help her. Dylan does most of the work and even gives her his jacket to keep her dry from the rain.

    Dylan and his buddies head out once a year to see the country on their bikes, stay at Virgin River a few days, fish, eat at Jack's and go for bike rides.
    This book hits home as 3 family members and myself flew into LA and took Pacific Coast Highway up towards Washington. I can almost pinpoint exactly where
    she had the flat. We drove that road and can relate totally to places along the side where there is NO guardrail, no protection if you should slide and end
    up down a 100+ foot cliff side of the mountains.
    She gets settled in and enrolls the boys into a summer program and she is invited to tour on the back of his bike.
    He's decided to stick around a few more days than the others, to check out options for his aviation company. He can also revert back to acting in LA.
    They spend a lot of time together while the boys are in the program and when they are doing other family things he gets to know the boys and enjoy time with them and with her brother.
    His company is going downhill and fast, as are other aviation places. If only he can make it last a bit longer. Most of the people that worked for him have moved on - to bigger cities where they can get a job but he hates to throw the towel in. Not only has he looked around Virgin River but the larger cities til he contacts an acting agent.
    'People step up for each other' perfectly sums up this community.
    He has to deal with the multiple family members that had different fathers, 4 in total. They all want a part in a movie. He flat out tells them no. He is missing Her so bad. He heads back putting everything else on hold but her brother beats him up at the bar. He decides to stay a few days but she's down with a bug. He pitches in to help around the house and with the boys.
    Where they are staying there is a continuous threat of a mother bear and her 3 cubs. They wander all over the yard and brush nearby. Tom, a neighbor that will be handling the nearby orchard is back from the war and has offered to contact the warden so they can maybe relocate the animals with no harm to them.
    bears and a missing child, can't be a good thing. The community comes out to help. And the job offer isn't what he was thinking about
    at all.
    From here, things go terribly wrong with Dylan and katie, or is there hope of a reunion after things are divulged.
    Will things ever be right again for them? One of his family has arrived to really get the pot boiling hot.
    I rate this book a 5. Love hearing about the flying and the business of acting, what to do when you come across wild animals-new things for me. Love this community.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Loved it like the rest of the Virgin River series! Read it in 3 hours!

    Redwood Bend. By Robyn Carr. MiraBooks, 2012. 384 pages. $7.99

    Readers met army widow, Katie Malone, when her brother Connor was forced to go into hiding after witnessing a crime and for their safety, Katie and her five-year-old twins got sent to Vermont. Katie got a job working for a pediatric dentist with whom she had begun to think she could build a future. Well, that didn't turn out exactly how she planned it; first, she thought he was painfully slow about moving things to the next level - they hadn't even kissed! Then, after many attempts to move things along, she had to learn from his sister that he was gay and was trying not to bring attention to himself in his small town, which made her realize that she'd been out of the dating scene since the death of her husband before the boys were born. Katie realized her boys need a father figure and her brother Connor, her only living relative, was the only choice, so off they went to Virgin River.

    The roads to Virgin River are not the friendliest to drive on good weather, let alone in the rain that was coming down during Katie's drive up the steep curves of the mountain roads. This is how she ended up with a flat. Normally, she could handle it no problem, but the lug nuts always gave a small woman like her problems; Katie knows this could spell trouble. Just when she thinks she will be out here for a while, a group of motorcycle riding men arrive; Katie's first thoughts - a gang. Luckily, they offer to help; the one with the dreamy blue eyes immediately catches her attention. Dylan Childress, former Hollywood child-star, current owner of an airplane charter business, is there to lend a hand alongside his buddies. Dylan's business is suffering and he's in the area to rethink things, a motorcycle trip with friends is just the thing he needs to recharge.

    All roads leading to Virgin River; it seems as if Katie and Dylan will continue to run into each other. At first they're both hesitant to get in too deep; Katie has her boys to think about and Dylan is hung up on the fact that he is not relationship material because of his troubled childhood and bad memories involving his family life - there's also his business to think about and a possible return to Hollywood. Both have a lot to work through, but the sparks between them are flying. With the town of Virgin River as the setting, along with all the residents as the cast, including Katie's protective brother Connor, this 18th installment of the series is an enjoyable read that draws readers into a charming community of caring people who are there for one another. Robyn Carr creates yet another story that shows characters who survive hardships that life throws at them and manage to find love, even if they think they may not deserve it.

    I have really enjoyed this series, having read books 1-15 in one week. This book, like the others, has drawn me into the world created by Robyn Carr and made me want to continue reading nonstop until I found out how the story ended. I really like how the characters have real-life problems and how their struggles come with life lessons. Nobody is perfect in Virgin River, and that is why I think I enjoy the series the most.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2014

    Nettlekit

    Folloeed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Teen celeb heartthrob gone wild Dylan was rescued from Hollywood

    Teen celeb heartthrob gone wild Dylan was rescued from Hollywood madness
    at 16 by his formidable grandmother, and brought to live in small-town Montana.
    He fell in love with flying, and opened a small aviation company with a buddy.
    Now the recession's hit, and it's struggling to stay in business. As a distraction,
    and to canvas other small airfields for tips on how they are surviving, Dylan
    joins a motorcycle tour of Northern California.

    Widowed Katie Malone is coming to Virgin River with her twin boys to spend the
    summer with her brother Conner, who's recently moved there. When her tire
    goes flat on a remote road, in the rain and with no cell coverage, she could
    change the damn tire herself, except the lug nuts are too tight.

    Dylan rides to the rescue, and it doesn't hurt that, back in the day, Katie had a
    mad crush on the boy, not that she's admitting it. I really like Carr's way of
    giving 30-somethings a reasonable romance; they aren't heads over snatch
    into boinking right away, though they are plenty interested - they know enough
    to be cautious with their hearts, and to not get the kids emotionally involved with
    a man who's supposed to be just passing through.

    Good sparks, condoms (yeah for safe sex!), motorcycle tours, and an angry
    momma bear make for a fun ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Tyson

    The hawk shreecked.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Icepelt

    Uns over to rosetail are u ok?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Angelfeather

    Wrong person aorry lol i meant rose))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Roswtail

    my camp is at water rune.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Sparrowstar

    Grabs silverkit in his jaws before she fslls cushoning her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 279 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14