Customer Reviews for

Reefer Madness: Sex, Drugs, and Cheap Labor in the American Black Market

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Tony

    I need a sla<_>ve.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    spike

    I finaly made a snapchat....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    MARKET

    Talk to Spade to buy things you wouldn't find anywhere else in the rp world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Tony to girls

    Wanna fuq?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Holly

    Holly walked in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Kato

    "Yes. Pointing it at your face is the best place to point it at."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Alec

    Ikr.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    Jenna

    Erm...?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    I appreciated the simplicity of how Schlosser divided the sectio

    I appreciated the simplicity of how Schlosser divided the sections of the book-however, I think that it would have been more of a successful hit if he were to explain the more important details in more depth, rather than just throwing in a bunch of alphabet soup-information at the reader. All in all, was an interesting book with jam-packed ideas and creative history. 
    -Sadaf Tabibzadeh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    This book has three extremely interesting topics, marijuana, ill

    This book has three extremely interesting topics, marijuana, illegal immigration and pornography. three topics that are a current discussion in our daily life. After reading each chapter you are guaranteed to have more incredible and interesting  knowledge about each of the topics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    This book showed me how people in certain industries get treated

    This book showed me how people in certain industries get treated unfairly. It made me mad reading that getting caught with weed could get a harsher punishment than a murder. I also couldn't believe how much immigrants get taken advantage of. They get extremely underpaid and they don't even know it. I also found it interesting how the porn industry started and how it spread all over the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    If you are looking for an entertaining economic book, Eric Schlo

    If you are looking for an entertaining economic book, Eric Schlosser has given you one.  Schlosser provides numerous  examples in each of his five essays.  Every example is a narrative, captivating and thrilling.  Although I was interested with each topic discussed- drugs, illegal immigrants, and porn- I often found myself off topic   I never felt the urge to drop everything else I needed to get done, and continue reading; however, I am not one who is easily captivated by economic books.  This book is very informative without a dull moment.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    This book is sectioned into three parts: Marijuana, Undocumented

    This book is sectioned into three parts: Marijuana, Undocumented Workers, and Pornography. This book was boring for me to read in the beginning because of all the statistics coming at you all at once. Then as we read along the strung out story of Mark Young, a man convicted of life in prison for being a middleman in a big drug operation, you start to read a long more and it becomes less statistical and more personable because you start to feel for the families whose lives have been destroyed from marijuana convictions. The second part of the book is about undocumented workers whose lives are destroyed by sharecropping and far below minimum wage incomes. The third section is about pornography, the &quot;hush-hush&quot; underground culture of pornography that has been booming since the 20th century. All of these sections tie together to remind readers that this unregulated underground market economy is large and since the government isn't doing anything to control it, and instead are mandating more laws on immigration and conviction for casual drug users, they are hurting the economy. By decriminalizing marijuana, they could easily save billions which could go towards treatment programs and immigrant income security. Interesting read and definitely makes you feel passionate towards reforming some laws.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    The book was very informative about everything, but it lacked so

    The book was very informative about everything, but it lacked something that kept me entertained. I felt like I was reading a better written textbook. The information was presented very well and I learned a lot, but there was nothing that made me want to read more.
    A lot of times, it seemed like he was repeating the same facts over and over again--especially in the section about marijuana. It was statistic after statistic of the different punishments for marijuana offenses.
    If you are interested in any of the three topics discussed in this book, I would reccomend reading it, but if not, don't bother. It will feel like a waste of time, and you will want to put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I thought it was an insightful book with good background informa

    I thought it was an insightful book with good background information. An interesting read just like his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This book sure did enlighten me on subjects that I thought I alr

    This book sure did enlighten me on subjects that I thought I already was schooled in. Interesting read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    I realized that the government is ran by people who do bad thing

    I realized that the government is ran by people who do bad things just to stay on top. I also learnt hat the government creates technology that is used by the main stream and the underground, which means they help do good things and they could also be used for bad thinks like making drugs.  I learned that the porn industry is a multi –billion dollar industry, and that big business invest in porn an also things in the black market.  He also talks about how immigrants are hired for cheap labor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    This book opened my eyes to a lot of the chaos caused by the use

    This book opened my eyes to a lot of the chaos caused by the use of marijuana such as prison riots and murder charges. This is an issue that I never thought could stir up so ,much conflict even back in the 1900's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    An In-Depth Look Into America's Black Market This book is great

    An In-Depth Look Into America's Black Market
    This book is great because it informs the reader on provocative subjects such as porn, and marijuana, and, most importantly, tells us things WE DIDN&quot;T ALREADY KNOW. I read this book in 2012, and even though it was published in 2003, it really took a look under the hood and took us through the history of the government's crackdown on weed, the strawberry fields, and the porn industry. Additionally, it was entertaining and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    I think this book was very well written. It offers a lot to peop

    I think this book was very well written. It offers a lot to people who are interested in illegal economics. it makes you really think about the way we govern certain things and how unfair consequences can be. I was mad after reading some parts of the book. Definitely a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4