Customer Reviews for

Reefer Madness: Sex, Drugs, and Cheap Labor in the American Black Market

Average Rating 4
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Fire

    Wow

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2014

    spike

    I finaly made a snapchat....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    This book has three extremely interesting topics, marijuana, ill

    This book has three extremely interesting topics, marijuana, illegal immigration and pornography. three topics that are a current discussion in our daily life. After reading each chapter you are guaranteed to have more incredible and interesting  knowledge about each of the topics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2013

    If you are looking for an entertaining economic book, Eric Schlo

    If you are looking for an entertaining economic book, Eric Schlosser has given you one.  Schlosser provides numerous  examples in each of his five essays.  Every example is a narrative, captivating and thrilling.  Although I was interested with each topic discussed- drugs, illegal immigrants, and porn- I often found myself off topic   I never felt the urge to drop everything else I needed to get done, and continue reading; however, I am not one who is easily captivated by economic books.  This book is very informative without a dull moment.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    I thought it was an insightful book with good background informa

    I thought it was an insightful book with good background information. An interesting read just like his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    I realized that the government is ran by people who do bad thing

    I realized that the government is ran by people who do bad things just to stay on top. I also learnt hat the government creates technology that is used by the main stream and the underground, which means they help do good things and they could also be used for bad thinks like making drugs.  I learned that the porn industry is a multi –billion dollar industry, and that big business invest in porn an also things in the black market.  He also talks about how immigrants are hired for cheap labor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    This book opened my eyes to a lot of the chaos caused by the use

    This book opened my eyes to a lot of the chaos caused by the use of marijuana such as prison riots and murder charges. This is an issue that I never thought could stir up so ,much conflict even back in the 1900's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    An In-Depth Look Into America's Black Market This book is great

    An In-Depth Look Into America's Black Market
    This book is great because it informs the reader on provocative subjects such as porn, and marijuana, and, most importantly, tells us things WE DIDN"T ALREADY KNOW. I read this book in 2012, and even though it was published in 2003, it really took a look under the hood and took us through the history of the government's crackdown on weed, the strawberry fields, and the porn industry. Additionally, it was entertaining and well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    I think this book was very well written. It offers a lot to peop

    I think this book was very well written. It offers a lot to people who are interested in illegal economics. it makes you really think about the way we govern certain things and how unfair consequences can be. I was mad after reading some parts of the book. Definitely a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Interesting read

    This book gives you alot to think about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    A good, solid read... Worth checking out!

    A great informative on not very well known, or not much talked about topics. It was interesting throughout the majority of the book, and was definitely worth my time. I learned many things that I had never even thought about before, and it opened my eyes to how much of our economy actually deals with the black market. If only it could address more topics, then it would receive a five star rating in my opinion. But overall, it was a great, informative novel and I enjoyed reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2010

    Very Informative!

    Eric Schlosser's Reefer Madness is a book that greatly exceeded my expectations of the reading. It's a book that talks a lot about common misconceptions people apply to marijuana to make it seem like a very bad substance with no purposeful uses. Many people believe that there are serious health risks involved with marijuana usage, such as lung cancer. The book argues against these misconceptions with the facts; lab tests have showed so far that there are no serious long term health risks involved no matter what type of smoker you are. This book also analyzes the economic and cultural aspects of a society where marijuana is legal. An example of such a society is Amsterdam where it is legal to walk into a cannabis coffee shop and purchase pre-rolled joints. The part of the book that interested me the most was when it talks about how flawed the legal system was to the point where people were getting thrown in jail for simple possession, and how other people were sentenced to life-long sentences regardless of how miniscule their job was in the operation of growing marijuana. Other very interesting parts included common medical uses for marijuana today and the comparisons between marijuana and other substances. The truth of the matter is people die from things like alcohol and tobacco products but no one has ever died from smoking marijuana. You can kill yourself with alcohol on the spot, but you cant smoke yourself to death with marijuana. After reading this book I found myself asking the same question over and over: "why isn't marijuana already legal?". According to the book, it is estimated that the value of America's annual marijuana crop ranges from $4 billion to $25 billion; now imagine what that would do for the economy considering the current economic status. Now take into account all that money and add it to the potential amount of money that would be saved rather than spent on criminals going to jail for petty possession offences. Now add that to how much money would be saved rather than spent on prescription drugs because marijuana has so many uses for so many different ailments. The idea the book portrays is a nation where we are free to smoke weed in the comfort of our own homes without having to worry about getting in trouble for it because it shouldn't be illegal as long as you don't drive high, don't go to work high, and don't get high in public. If people can show they can be responsible with the use of marijuana, I don't see the problem with it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    I ENJOYED THIS BOOK!!

    I THOUGHT THIS BOOK WAS VERY INTERESTING TO ME.IT SHOWED ME THE WAY OUR BLACK MARKET IS.PLUS HOW THE PEOPLE VIEW THE PORN INDUSTRIE,AND HOW ALSO THE WAY IT CAN EFFECT US.THE MARIJUANNA LAWS TAUGHT ME SOME THINGS TOO!PLUS, HOW PEOPLE VIEW IT. I'M GOING TO BUY ANOTHER BOOK FROM THIS AUTHOR..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    reefer madnes the scandalous truth of the american black market

    i realized that the black market is much more bigger than i had recently thought its a whole other world the we never knew about do to the fact that america dosent publicly say whats going on in the black market. schlosser covers ground about three different subjects weed, porn, and illegal immigrants. he goes into detail how to be a sucsessful tyconn in the underground market and basically how they riise and fall over time. scholosser writes a terrific explanation on where a fraction of the U.S. dollars are and have been going for many years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2003

    WELL THOUGHT WELL SAID

    I ONLY READ THE EXCERPT STARVING STUDENT AND ALL BUT THIS IS A WELL THOUGHT CLEARLY PRESENtED NON BIASED AND APPARENTLY WELL RESEARCHED PRODUCT RINGS TRUE AND HIGHLY RELAVENT I PARTICULARLY AGREE WITH THE CONCEPT OF WHAT WE HIDE AS BEING THE CLEAR INDICATOR OF WHO WE REALLY ARE

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2003

    great nonfiction

    a true something to think about

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2