Customer Reviews for

The Reformed Vampire Support Group

Average Rating 4
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great book.

I loved this book. It's witty and a good escape from the romanticized stories of vampires that seem to show up everywhere. It started strong and finished stronger with a good cast of characters that became more and more developed throughout the book. If you're tired of ...
I loved this book. It's witty and a good escape from the romanticized stories of vampires that seem to show up everywhere. It started strong and finished stronger with a good cast of characters that became more and more developed throughout the book. If you're tired of the Twilight craze, read this book (I sensed a few jabs at the Twilight series...). I really hope Jinks makes this into a series.

posted by AbbytheImp on June 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This book.....was really bad... I hate criticizing books because

This book.....was really bad...
I hate criticizing books because I know i can't to any better than the author, but I really did not enjoy this book. Not one bit. It wasn't exciting, nor was it funny, or filled with surprises! I was shocked by the lack of awesomeness bec...
This book.....was really bad...
I hate criticizing books because I know i can't to any better than the author, but I really did not enjoy this book. Not one bit. It wasn't exciting, nor was it funny, or filled with surprises! I was shocked by the lack of awesomeness because the summary makes it sound like it had amazing potential to be a bestseller. I guess not. :(

posted by Perry-the-Ducktipus on July 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 26, 2010

    Great book.

    I loved this book. It's witty and a good escape from the romanticized stories of vampires that seem to show up everywhere. It started strong and finished stronger with a good cast of characters that became more and more developed throughout the book. If you're tired of the Twilight craze, read this book (I sensed a few jabs at the Twilight series...). I really hope Jinks makes this into a series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sarah Bean the Green Bean Teen Queen for TeensReadToo.com

    Forget everything you knew about vampires. They are not sexy, stylish, rich, or powerful.

    Nina has been a 15-year-old since 1973 when she was first turned into a vampire. Now she attends vampire support group meetings with her fellow vamps, who are sickly and living off the blood of guinea pigs. It's not a fancy life at all!

    Nina's life is boring (although she does use her experience as a vampire to write vampire fiction). So when Casimir, the vampire who originally turned members of the group, is found staked in his apartment, Nina's life is about to be an adventure. The killer knows who and what they are, so The Reformed Vampire Support Group sets off to save themselves and finds a dangerous journey along the way.

    This is not your typical vampire story. These vampires are grumpy, cranky, and not glamorous at all. But that's what makes them fun.

    There were a lot of characters to keep track of in the beginning and the plot started off sort of slow, but keep with it and you will have a delightful and funny mystery.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Reformed Vampire Support Group Review

    At the begining of this book it was not that interesting. As you get into the third/fourth chapter, it starts to get much better. Things are over-explained at some points, but rarely. The characters relationships are great between one another. Some things you might think that it would never happen, some things you might. All in all, I thought it was a very good book and well written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    Love it

    I love this book it is a teen book 4 shere i wood not recomend it to twilite lovers tho it is nuthing like that it is the opisit. It duss staert kinda slow i wood say tje 1st chapter is the only slow chapter but after that it is great. :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book.....was really bad... I hate criticizing books because

    This book.....was really bad...
    I hate criticizing books because I know i can't to any better than the author, but I really did not enjoy this book. Not one bit. It wasn't exciting, nor was it funny, or filled with surprises! I was shocked by the lack of awesomeness because the summary makes it sound like it had amazing potential to be a bestseller. I guess not. :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    EPIC BOOK!!!! YOU MUST READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU MUST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Awesomely amazing book. Good for all ages above 8. Hilarious. Ill write my own summary now, for whoever is reading this. Nina is a vampire, and hates it terribly. She be.longs to a support group, and suddenly, a member of her support group is found with a stake through his heart. They must find the killer before they end up dead too.This sets the group on a wild chase, discovering a huge mystery. Awesome book. By the way, i know that theres a sequel coming out soon, and i think it is something like "the werwolf help group". I cant wait!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Pretty good

    Was not expecting much, but it totally surprised me! I actually liked it a lot and i couldn't put the book down!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    BRINGING IT AND BRINGING IT GOOD

    The book "the Reformed Vampire Support Group," is phenominal.There's just the
    the right amont of romance,but the book is mostly adventure.I really enjoyed
    the book.Not to serious,but not completly light and fluffy either.Think
    this book will appeal to alot of people.It's also refreshing to have a good
    young book not set in america.And of course novampire book is complete without
    a werewolf so keep that in mind.
    Also I found the book having a slow start. I did enjoy this book very much. I would recommend this book to youth. It has a bit of every genre, just to name a few; Drama, Comedy, Farce, Horror and many more. Yet it is not too scary or gory. The style the author used to write the book was used in a humorous way.
    My favorite part of this book was when Nina went to the reformed vampire support group.The meetings were about how to learn not drink human blood. it is my favorite part because she is actually taking the human life into consideration. I relly liked this book and i bet anyone who reads this book will like it to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2011

    i loved it

    The reformed vampire support group is a teen vampire mystery written for young adults. This book is full of sad and detailed life stories that keep the readers eyes glued to the page. The relationship between Nina and the gang and all the vampire murderers is so hectic its hard to keep up, but all that means is that there is more to read. The reason I like the book is the author reminds u that vampires are supposed to be depressed, non emotional creatures of the night. Its not the romance novels that make vampires seem hot and normal it shows vampires as tired and weak.
    The book is extremely detailed, and not in a bad way it good because if you think about it they are making it easier to image the book in your head. This book is good for anyone who wants a easy read the excessive details makes the book a simple for people like me who don't always understand all the read or have trouble visualizing stories. I would recommend this book to any one of my friends this book is officially the best fictional mystery book I've ever read. I truly believe anyone with the intention of reading a great book full of mytery and suspense will be happy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    In the Dark.

    Our protagonist is quite detailed oriented; therefore you will receive an in-depth description of the gory, bloody life of a former, recovering vampire. This storyline is not for the faint of heart, it might just suck the life out of you. Ha! Ha! When one vampire "dies" the mystery and suspense begin. What is the connection between the "death" of this vampire and Cobar? What is out at Wolgaroo Corner? And who, what, and where does this search lead to? Walk into the vampire world with the protagonist and find out. Storyline really picks up once you read to page 203.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Definitely different....

    ...but ultimately, a fun read. The author does tend to hit you over the head a bit with the whole "vampires are nothing like you think they are" bit, but it is nice to see a wholly different take on the genre for once. The ending has a fun little twist as well. I listened to it on audio, and the narrator's Australian accent definitely added to our enjoyment of the book. There's just something so fun about they way she said things like "cahr" and "Neener" that gave it that extra flair.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Honestly Disappointed

    I was very excited to read this book - a different take on vampires. I thought that it would be an exciting story about how vampires could be different than what is so mainstreamed now.

    I was disappointed. Big time.

    The story was essentially about a bunch of old people stuck in the bodies of various ages. Everything was about how weak, worthless, and pathetic each of the characters were.

    The concept is great, I just wish it would have had been presented differently or even broken up into a series. Seemed like too much was going on in the story and could have had easily been broken up a little bit more than what it was.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great for vampire and non-vampire lovers alike.

    This book really interested me. The first thing I do is go to the cover. If it's a good looking cover, then I read the back and a few sentences into the story. The only thing on the cover that caught my attention was the title of it. It's long and not at all catchy. It intrigued me. It started out with an out-going, ass-kicking vampire. Cool, I guess. Then, it went to bloodstains and Nina came out. I was interested. Some people wonder why they don't just drink human blood? It's better for them and it would just be a whole lot easier. These vampires seem miserable, being sick all the time. The reason is because drinking a human's blood makes that human a vampire. They work to keep the vampire population in Australia low. We also only get Nina's point of view of vampires. She might exaggerate on some aspects of a vampire's life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2010

    Just to be different

    The story line is alright, but the author gives you too much information. First of all it seems like she is just making her characters the complete opposite of how vampires are today. And not just a few things here and there like other books. It's like every few pages its all like "if you think vampires are like this, let me tell you we're not. We're like this" She also gives a lot of information on people or places that aren't of much relivance of the story.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    5 Star Review.

    I love this book ! It is exciting, and different from any other vampire book I have ever read. This story is excellent. It has an amazing twist to those Vampires one thinks they know about. I really recommend this book. I personally have not finished it, but even to the place I am at , it is great, exciting, and unforgettable.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    Fun book

    It was different then the "normal" vampire books and had a fun twist on the legend of vampires and werwolfs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2009

    Great Book

    It as really interesting. Most vampire stories portray the vamps as almost human and incredibly good looking. It shows how vamps have a whole lot more problems to deal with than normal people do.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    PRETTY FUNNY!

    ITS A GOOD BOOK RELLY FUNNY BOOK! IT PUTS ON THE HOLE LOST SOUL, ROMATIC VAMPIER THING! IT HELPS MAKE VAMPIRES HAVE A BIT MORE DEPTH NOT JUST THE ROMANTIC VAMPIRE BUT A REGULAR VAMP!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    EXCELENT BOOK!!!!!!!!

    Great book. I donot recomend it for people who are obsessed with one type of vampires or horror books/movies. Otherwise, I totally recomend thisbook. Just make sure your not really a picky reader, or else everyone who wrote a review that made the book sound great, cause it is there opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    To the fellow reader below;

    TWILIGHT SUCKS IT HAS ALWAYS SUCKED AND IT WILL NEVER STOP SUCKING BECAUSE ITS GAY AND NO I DONT MEAN ITS LAME I THINK THAT EDWARD OS DYING OVER JACOB. WAY TOO MUCH HEART AND LOVE IN TWILIGHT. AND THE MOVIES ARE WORSE. THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS KICKS TWILIGHTS ASS OUT OFF THE PARK AND SO DOES THIS NOVEL! (No, i don't hate or mock homosexual,bisexual, etx. I am for them. Im merely pointing out that edward and jacob are gay)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4