Customer Reviews for

Reforming the Cowboy

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Reforming The Cowboy is a sweet contemporary romance about secon

    Reforming The Cowboy is a sweet contemporary romance about second chances and finding love when you least expect it.




    Billy Hardy is a country music star who is looking to make a comeback after a ten year hiatus. Can he find the inspiration in his songwriting to get a second chance?




    Lacey Durant is rebuilding her life after a failed marriage. She opens Lacey's Cafe in trendy South Beach, Florida, and is determined make the cafe a successful business.




    Lacey hires Billy to sing at the opening night of the cafe. Throughout college, she had a crush on the country singer when his career was going strong, now it is years later and she can't believe that he will be singing in her cafe.




    Will Lacey and Billy get a second chance at realizing their dreams, and find love when they least expect it?




    Reforming The Cowboy is a wonderful romance story that follows Lacey and Billy as they get a second chance at rebuilding their lives while chasing their dreams, and along the way they find a sweet unexpected love for each other. I loved how their story gradually unfolds with both of them getting over their troubled pasts and moving forward with their lives, determined to get a second chance at achieving their dreams, yet cautious when it came to attaining love. The reader gets drawn into the chemistry and attraction between Lacey and Billy, and like any good romance story there is drama and obstacles that they have to overcome, which keeps the reader turning the pages to see what will happen next.




    What I loved most about this story is that both Lacey and Billy are older and have been through life experiences that I could relate to. It made it easier for me to believe in their love story as one of new beginnings and second chances. I loved the personal connection that Lacey and Billy shared, their relationship was realistic and more than just physical (even though I thoroughly enjoyed their passionate moments too). I loved that Billy found the inspiration in his music through Lacey, that is a realistic and true testament to the country music songs that I love to listen to. I loved how they were able to overcome the obstacles before them, and learned to let go and trust one another enough to let love enter into their lives.




    Reforming The Cowboy is an enjoyable lighthearted romance story that makes the reader believe that you can chase your dreams and find true love at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    I loved this novel. The author masterfully captured the essence

    I loved this novel. The author masterfully captured the essence of what it truly means to discover love when dreams of making it big get in the way. There is Lacey, whose dreams of becoming a successful entrepreneur lead her to discover love when she least expected it. There is Billy, the washed-out country star, who finds out that all it takes to make it back to the top of the charts is to find the music in his soul, which can only be inspired by the woman he just met. As in most good love stories there is also the sadness of the wrong choices made in the past that need to be resolved before the present ones can be embraced. What this story offers, that many others don't, is a chance for both characters to find love while fulfilling their dreams at the same time. Making such a story come alive is a difficult task, one that Marisa Cleveland has not problem realizing (as she already proved in her debut novella The Valentine Challenge). Reforming the cowboy has the perfect amount of spice that is enough to spark the imagination even of the least imaginative readers. If this is the first book of a trilogy, I can't wait to read the other two. 
    I highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The other day, I was able to finish Marisa Cleveland lastest rel

    The other day, I was able to finish Marisa Cleveland lastest release Reforming the Cowboy. I must say that I enjoyed this story. Reforming the Cowboy was a pretty easy going read. There was a couple emotional tugging parts, but nothing that would ripped your heart out.

    In Reforming the Cowboy, we meet Billy Hardy who is trying to make a come back to the country music world. Plus, he's making his come back to in South Beach at a little cafe owned by Lacey Durant. To be honest, I wouldn't really think of South Beach as a country hub, what do I know?

    I enjoyed the story, and I personally thought it was really cute. Plus, Billy and Lacey have this chemistry between that they can't ignore. Now, Lacey is wondering how it would work out between a returning country star. While Billy has been having writers block for sometime, but something happens when he gets involve with Lacey. Suddenly his life starts to make sense. However, Billy's pass tries to make it's ugly head into his happiness, and could possibly ruin his bliss.

    Granted Reforming the Cowboy isn't laden with drama, but it's fine and dandy. I personally thought the story was really cute. Yes, there are some steamy areas, but nothing that will make you blush over. Both characters try to aim for their dreams in the story. So, if you are looking for country singer, you might enjoy  Reforming the Cowboy.

    Copy provided by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This story was sweet. Classic romance at its best. If you like c

    This story was sweet. Classic romance at its best. If you like contemporary romances, you'll love this one. This is a book I would definitely recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Blurb: Country singer Billy Hardy needs to get back on the chart

    Blurb:
    Country singer Billy Hardy needs to get back on the charts. His manager assures him headlining the opening of a cafe in South Beach is his best chance at getting back to the big time. If he fails, his career is over for good this time.
    Lacey Durant can't believe opening night includes the country singer she crushed on through college. And her customers agree he's dreamy. But his playboy reputation threatens her cafe's image and she can't afford that. She insists Billy stay with her so she can keep an eye on him, and thwart overenthusiastic fans.
    Billy's charms and Lacey's sexy curves prove more than either can resist, but she refuses to be just another lyric in his well-known songs of heartbreak.
     
    Review:
    Oh my goodness!  This is a melt your heart romance if I've ever read one.  Billy is a man in need of second chances at love and music.  He has been disappointed by both in the past.  Lacey is trying to move on from a bad marriage and Billy may be the key to starting her future.  Can these two broken hearts cure each other and start anew?  Read and watch. 
     
    Thanks to Entangled Indulgence for giving me the opportunity to read and review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    Country singer, Billy Hardy made some bad career moves when he w

    Country singer, Billy Hardy made some bad career moves when he was in the spotlight ten years ago. Now he has a second chance. His manager, Chip, booked him for the grand opening of Lacey's Café in South Beach. Lacey had a crush on him when she was in college. Now he's living in her spare room and singing for his supper. The attraction between them is intense. Even better they connect on a personal level. He feels that Lacey is his muse. These two are so good together but their careers are pulling them apart. The return of Billy's ex-girlfriend adds more tension. Can these two find their HEA in the same city? Billy is a sexy cowboy who wants a second chance. He is tender and compassionate. Lacey has trust issues but she is a determined and fearless person who will do what's best for Billy. The story has an compelling plot with characters that I cared about. It was a very enjoyable story. Don't miss Reforming the Cowboy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Who doesn't love a good looking, sexy cowboy? I did have a hard

    Who doesn't love a good looking, sexy cowboy? I did have a hard time with the location of this story being in Florida's South Beach. It just felt like it should have taken place in a town that was a little slower paced but somehow it still worked. 

    Lacey can't believe she's hired her college crush, country star Billy Hardy, to play at the opening of her cafe. Billy's trying to make a come-back from an emotionally tragic, career crushing past. Slowly the two start getting closer and he realizes she's his muse. When the sparks really start flying, Billy's career starts to take off, which takes him away from Lacey. Does Billy want his career back or does he want a life with Lacey? Can they have a long distance relationship?

    This was a fantastic read! The author developed the characters at the perfect pace. The storyline was steady from beginning to end. This is a "sit outside in the shade and read" kind of book. I can't wait to read more from this wonderful author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2013

    If you after a sexy, steamy romance with strong characters and a

    If you after a sexy, steamy romance with strong characters and a good storyline, then this ticks the boxes.

    Café owner Lacey is determined to make her fledging business a roaring success. With prospective backers to woo she knows what she wants and goes for it, including booking fallen country sensation Billy Hardy, who just so happens to be her college celebrity crush. Sexy, talented and with a reputation with the ladies that goes hand-in-hand with stardom, Billy has made mistakes, lost his way with his music but is ready to rise to the top again. He just needs inspiration…

    It was refreshing to read a book where the characters are older, have life-experience under their belts and are old enough to know better, yet young enough to still be that little bit stupid with their decisions. Admittedly it took me a little while to warm to Lacey, she comes across as a little stand-offish, but once she loosens up she is very likeable. The storyline was fresh, romantic, flowed well and it was a nice easy read with passion, sexiness, frustration and whilst Billy isn’t strictly a cowboy as the title suggests, he’s still most definitely a man to lust over. Well worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1