BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Regeneration

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    AP World History Review: Horrors of War Regeneration, a historic

    AP World History Review: Horrors of War
    Regeneration, a historical fiction book by Pat Barker, recounts the experiences of the patients in Craiglockhart War Hospital and their doctor, Dr. Rivers. Rivers job is to help his patients recover through helping them recount their war memories. Pat Barker uses the memories of his characters to reveal the horrors caused by World War I.
    Regeneration is a string book about opinions and overcoming obstacles. Dr. River’s role is to help his patients overcome the obstacle of their rears and horrors that they experienced in World War I, but in doing so is forced to listen to and picture the gruesome tales. These experiences therapy sessions in the end of the book change the overall opinion the River’s has on the war. Pat Barker’s characters are in a wide variety, but have a similarity, they all have a specific dislike of the war, and are afraid to return to it. Pat Barker successfully displays the horrors of the many veterans of the Great War.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    An affecting book

    I have finished Pat Barker's work, and still find that I'm drawn to it. When reading the book, I felt I was in 1917, walking through the hospital with the characters. I came away knowing Dr. Rivers, and wanting to talk more with Seigfried. I've read about WWI, but Regeneration made me feel that I was there. As a boy I lived next to a WWI German soldier, who briefly talked to me about his side of the trenches. This book gave me a glimpse at the horror he must have witnessed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Lyne

    "You are NOT dying on me." She mumbled.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Treble

    "What killed you?"

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Avaeonai

    "Holy Kasterborus..." she breathed, laying back in the grass.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Amazing.

    Loved it. Had to read it for class but ended up enjoying it anyway.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Regeneration

    This book looks at many of the social issues confronting society in the midst of the industrial revolution and the horror of the war to end all wars. Insightful and thought provoking in relation to the first diagnosis of PTSD?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    AP World History Book Review: Intriguing and Intuitive

    This book is a great resource for those looking for a general idea of what society was really LIKE during Word War 1. This book was intriguing from the begining. By creating a somewhat fictional story, the author was able to express the difficulties of the doctor, Rivers, to treat those suffering from war neurosis. The end of the book was especially exceptional as it brought together the rest of the story into a sort of climatic point that supported an idea of anti-war in today's society. By writing a story about World War 1, the author was able to confront a somewhat controversial topic of today: to war or not to war? By stating history as it was, she was able to prove to the readers that war is destructive. Even from the point of view of soldiers, they would for the most part agree that war is destructive. So, the author did an excellent job in conveying her views to the reader and successfully supporting it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    It is clear why she won the Booker Prize--this is an enthralling novel

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2001

    Battle for a Poet's Mind

    If you are an ethical man, how do you change another man's mind about the war he has been fighting, a man recognized for heroic action and his concern for his troops? And a man who is a well known poet--whose words always have meaning, and are not part of Orwellian Newspeak? Barker's novel effectively dramatizes the discussions Dr. W.H. R. Rivers may have had with poet Siegfried Sassoon in order to send him back to the trenches of WWI. Because Sassoon had publicly accused 'those who have the power of ending the war' of prolonging it, his friends, particularly Robert Graves, arranged and encouraged his admission to the psychiatric hospital rather than punitive disciplinary action. Regeneration has been labeled an anti-war novel--and it is hard to be pro- war ever after the fact when reading of the realities of trench warfare during WWI. More important, the novel's presentation of the dilemmas posed to both doctor and patient raise questions for us about the rationale for war, the role of politicians and businessmen and the public's sheeplike acquiesence, and the morality of 'brainwashing' or other efforts to change people's minds. The great irony is what happened after the book's coverage of events: Sassoon returned to the war, and unlike so many of the young poets who fought in it, he lived to old age--but did not write as much poetry in his middle years. And Robert Graves, who appears as a good manipulator of people and events, lived also to old age and greater fame than Sassoon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2