Customer Reviews for

Regenesis (Cyteen Series)

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 11, 2009

    Wonderful!

    Cherryh picked up where she left off with the Cyteen series and kept everything true to the story line.

    She did not change things to reflect our current technologies-she stayed true to the world and the time line that she created. This above all was what I valued. Too often, when series have a long time between books, but the story time line picks up where the last book ends, the current technologies, etc, appear.

    She is still the great writer I have always enjoyed. I was sad when I finished the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great sequel to the Cyteen book, I loved it!

    I thought this was an excellent book and a wonderful continuation of the story of Ariane and company. This book is complex in the flavors of politics and relationships between Ariane and her friends and enemies, it is a rich tapestry of politics and science, life and everything in between. I thought it was wonderful book, some of the science stuff eluded me but it was a big part of story especially regarding genetics and it's implications and that is reflective of our own times since we are in the begining of genetics and it's ethics nowadays. Excellent read and ends dramatically so get the book and enjoy it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    This is a continuation of Cyteen and picks up where it left off.

    C.J. Cherryh is an extraordinary writer and story teller who's hallmark is the creation of a possible future or alternative universe with a complex thread and jargon unique to the landscape she has created but left for the reader to puzzle out. The story, even when highly cerebral, as with Regenesis, maintains a high level of uncertainty and drama throughout.

    Here, as in Cyteen, the character of Arianne Emory is a repeat of the theme introduced with Pyanfar, of the clever female in charge of something, space ships, government agencies, etc, fighting for survival using her superior wits in a male dominated milieu. You may or may not like her, but you do root for her.

    It helps to have read some of the other novels in this series, (i.e. Cyteen, Mercanter's Luck, Downbelow Station, etc)to get a more complete picture of the universe she has created, but this novel stands alone and can be read as a one-off.

    Even though it is fairly long, I was disappointed when it ended and wanted more. I hope we see more of Union Space and Arianne Emory from Ms. Cherryh.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An excellent sequel to CYTEEN

    In the research city of Reseune, eighteen year old scientist Ariane ¿Ari¿ Emory is a clone of a late brilliant warped person whose work on psychogenesis, the cloning of psychology and memory, was ingenious; the evidence being Ari II. However, Ariane I was killed by an unknown adversary during a power struggle. Meanwhile another clone Justin Warrick mentors the ¿second Ariane¿.<BR/><BR/>However, all hell breaks loose when Justin¿s prototype Jordan comes home from exile demanding justice. He wants to know who killed Ariane I. Even more disturbing in his mind is that the history of the Union seems to be repeating itself with violence and death, but this time the battle for power also includes clones. <BR/><BR/>Two decades have past since CYTEEN was published, but fans of the series will feel the wait was worth it as the sequel REGENESIS retains the dark gloomy future of the first tale. The key is the cast who make Cherryh¿s grim picture plausible although the plot with several clever spins focuses on Ari II; she holds it together as a second power struggle erupts. Although reading CYTEEN is not a must prerequisite to appreciate REGENESIS, this reviewer suggests starting with the original super first story that holds up nicely as that enhances the backdrop to the excellent sequel. <BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    Regenesis: Rainy Day or Any Day

    I never availed myself of the opportunity to read "Cyteen", the volume that precedes "Regenesis," when it was first released; thus, I have had the very great pleasure of reading both books consecutively as a fresh experience - and I still want more.

    This volume continues to chronicle the rise of Ariane Emory, PR as she steadily recovers her predecessor's power and influence, even as she puts her own stamp on things. The differences are perhaps more intriguing than the similarities, eerie as those latter may be. The framework set by the development of the Geraud, Abban, & Seely clones is a nice periodic reminder of so many things: the passage of time, the developing connections, the potential for similarities and divergences. Again, the ongoing discussions of life, death, genetic manipulation, cloning per se, destiny vs. free will, nature vs. nurture vs. nature/nurture, loyalty, duty, necessity, ethics, choices, etc. are thoughtful and open-ended.

    This reading is a pleasure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read!

    Finally a follow up to Cyteen. Wonderful book. An interesting look in to human psychology especially concerning power. Not to mention, it's just a danged good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    another great one

    As always CJ Cherryh has done it again with another story from the Cyteen Series. I only wonder what took so long to see it come out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1