Customer Reviews for

Regina's Song

Average Rating 3.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2004

    Excellent!

    I love this book. It's a great story, part mystery, part thriller. The writing is excellent and the characters really cool. I reccomend this book for every real Eddings fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    JAC

    My adoption moms name is Regina. -James Austin Charming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Not your typical Eddings

    I'll be honest and say that the first time I read this, I was disappointed. I adore Eddings and deeply regret not meeting him when he was living. This book threw me, as it is not in the style I've come to expect in his (and his wife's) writing, but upon rereading the book, I realize it stands on its own. Yes, some parts are not as well fleshed as they could be, but this is true of many books. I enjoyed his charecters, especially the twin twist, and while the ending flowed the way I expected, the slight twist at the very end really shook me initially, as I was blind-sided by it. This book is similiar to High Hunt and The Losers, so if you like this, I highly recommend the others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    Excellent!

    It is really very good! Original and new! But the writing is as good as ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Good read

    It isn't high literature, but it is a very good read. I actually liked this more than the Belgariad. It had a little more edge to it. They do tend to just totally skip any foreshadowing and just hand you major plot points, but the characters are well written and pleasantly quirky. It is a decent mystery and I would love to see these characters again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2003

    okay...

    I first bought this book because i loved the Eddings' fantasy work; I wasn't even sure I would ever get around to reading it but Im really glad I ran out of reading material over spring break. I honestly couldn't put the book down, but i just found that I was in the minority on that one. Sure, I think they could have developed the woman/wolf song more, elaborated the characters and made the dialouge a little more believable, but I read for entertainment only. I don't like to spend all my free time dissecting books like I have to do every other day in Honors English, but I guess I'm the only one anymore who doesn't have to go over the book with a fine-toothed comb for everything that should've been better. Read the book when you have an open mind, if only for an afternoon or two of enjoyment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2002

    Breaking Genre Barriers

    Did you ever read a book and then couldn't really tell people what it was about? I could give you the plot outline of this book, but you'd really do better to read it yourself. Was Regina murdered? Does Renata survive? Or, even more haunting, is there really a difference between the two? Read this book, you'll be glad you did. The Eddings duo that we all know and love have shown how truely talented they are with this literary triumph. Think you know Eddings? You don't know this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2002

    FANTASTIC

    I consider myself a huge Eddings reader and have read as many of his (and hers) books I can. I read 'Regina's Song' in one day because I could not put it down. It was fun to hear some of the same jokes from his other books while at the same time putting them in the mouths of the kind of people I knew in college. The character development of Mark Austin and Renata/Regina Greanleaf was nothing short of amazing. Applaudes to the Eddings' for showing that a writer can go from one genre to another and not lose anything in the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    heartbreakingly beautiful tale

    Regina and Renata Greenleaf are identical twins, born and raised in Everett, a small town thirty miles north of Seattle. They are so alike that even their own mother can¿t tell them apart and they share a private language that they only understand. They think of Mark Austin as their unofficial big brother whose job is to gets them out of scrapes. When tragedy strikes and Regina is murdered, Renata goes insane and has to be institutionalized. <P>When she comes out of her psychosis, she no longer remembers her parents, but recognizes Mark. He becomes her catalyst that sets her on the road to recovery. When she is released from the institution, she joins Mark in Seattle where he attends the university. A second tragedy occurs and this time Mark is determined he will keep Ranata safe from harm. <P>REGINA¿S SONG is a novel that transcends genre classification, as the story line will appeal to readers of all genres. The characters are ordinary people who know the true meaning of love, friendship and fellowship. David and Leigh Eddings, well known for their sword and sorcery tales, break new ground with this heartbreakingly beautiful tale. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1