Customer Reviews for

Regretsy: Where DIY Meets WTF

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

she says what you all are thinking...

this is one of those light bulb moments you wish you thought of yourself. the wit, cleverness and sense of humor in Ms. Winchell's commentary is outstanding. really, you can't top her. so if her intention in life was to "make people laugh" then I think she is very su...
this is one of those light bulb moments you wish you thought of yourself. the wit, cleverness and sense of humor in Ms. Winchell's commentary is outstanding. really, you can't top her. so if her intention in life was to "make people laugh" then I think she is very successful and shouldn't stop.

I will admit that I keep up with the Regretsy website, so I am familiar with most of the items featured in this book. what I was surprised by was the writing/story-telling (?) April Winchell does to preface each section in the book. honestly, these were my favorite parts and I found myself jumping over the pictures and looking for the next blurb written by her.

all that said, I was able to get the cashier to read a few of the captions that accompanied the "art" and he was in stitches at the front counter! I think that says a lot for the book, considering he was not familiar with the site.

all in all, if you want a funny read, or you enjoy looking at pictures of... things, or you like pointing your finger and laughing, then I think this book is for you!

posted by 193716 on April 13, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

"Edgy" Hipster Drivel

I bought this book for my 14 year old daughter after much nagging; when she was finished flipping through the book (giggling all the while) I decided to see what the fuss was about. I found that April Winchell's attempt at humor was painfully predictable with an air of ...
I bought this book for my 14 year old daughter after much nagging; when she was finished flipping through the book (giggling all the while) I decided to see what the fuss was about. I found that April Winchell's attempt at humor was painfully predictable with an air of desperation for success. This book is obviously targeted at teenagers but who wants their children reading mindless, negative drivel? If my children read trashy gossip filled with profanity I hope it will at least be original and less like a commercial for Axe cologne. I have replaced the April Winchell book with a Ralph Steadman book for my daughter which is filled with intelligent negative commentary on a flawed society.

posted by 3452133 on April 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    she says what you all are thinking...

    this is one of those light bulb moments you wish you thought of yourself. the wit, cleverness and sense of humor in Ms. Winchell's commentary is outstanding. really, you can't top her. so if her intention in life was to "make people laugh" then I think she is very successful and shouldn't stop.

    I will admit that I keep up with the Regretsy website, so I am familiar with most of the items featured in this book. what I was surprised by was the writing/story-telling (?) April Winchell does to preface each section in the book. honestly, these were my favorite parts and I found myself jumping over the pictures and looking for the next blurb written by her.

    all that said, I was able to get the cashier to read a few of the captions that accompanied the "art" and he was in stitches at the front counter! I think that says a lot for the book, considering he was not familiar with the site.

    all in all, if you want a funny read, or you enjoy looking at pictures of... things, or you like pointing your finger and laughing, then I think this book is for you!

    21 out of 35 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    The 21st Funniest Person's First Book

    Those who enjoy April Winchell's sharp and snarky humor will revel in her treatment of the subjects in this book. As the brilliant mind behind Regretsy.com, Winchell mines comedic jewels from the current DIY movement, bringing select listings from Etsy.com (hence the name 'Regretsy') into scintillating comedic focus.

    Introducing each section with personal narrative, Winchell reveals her inspiration for Regretsy, as well as her particular approach to the topics of creative expression and handmade crafts. As always, her stories are enlivened with the wit readers of AprilWinchell.com have appreciated for years. I would have relished this book in one sitting, if it were not necessary to take occasional breaks to weep with laughter.

    Accompanying a photograph of each crafty item is the artist's title and description of the piece, followed by Winchell's trademark bite of sarcasm or even outright indignation at the piece's existence. While her pointed critiques are delightfully bitter, it is clear from her narratives and the inclusion of the artists' bios and commentaries that Winchell has respect and perhaps even admiration for her source materials. As one who has taken her own foray into crafting, Winchell's abiding passion for the absurd and overwrought is clearly apparent.

    If you're up for a brisk trip through the underbrush of the independent crafts movement, an immersion in this entertainer's trademark intelligent wise-crackery, or simply a read like no other, I wholeheartedly recommend Regretsy. It's on the cutting edge of crafty humor.

    18 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    "Edgy" Hipster Drivel

    I bought this book for my 14 year old daughter after much nagging; when she was finished flipping through the book (giggling all the while) I decided to see what the fuss was about. I found that April Winchell's attempt at humor was painfully predictable with an air of desperation for success. This book is obviously targeted at teenagers but who wants their children reading mindless, negative drivel? If my children read trashy gossip filled with profanity I hope it will at least be original and less like a commercial for Axe cologne. I have replaced the April Winchell book with a Ralph Steadman book for my daughter which is filled with intelligent negative commentary on a flawed society.

    13 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Nothing funny here

    This book is written very adolescently in a bullying style. It's an intended mockery of Etsy.

    April Winchell uses language throughout the book that you would hear from young teens. It's overkill and really spoils what might have been an ok book. Some of the pictures are funny but Winchell seems desperate to be humerous and fails miserably.

    Most of the featured crafts are terrible but there are a couple funny ones, like the hummingbird feeder hat featured on the cover. Most though, are pathetically bad.

    Save your money. Nothing to see here.

    12 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    Meh

    Flip through this book in the store while you're drinking some coffee, that's all the time you'll need to absorb anything this book has to offer. You'll have a couple of chuckles but nothing worth spending money on. If you do buy it, it will undoubtedly wind up forgotten on a dusty shelf or, more appropriately, next to the toilette.
    If you enjoy this type of thing, you can go to April Winchell's website to see tons of similar craft mishaps for FREE.

    12 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    Disgusting

    First, I want to say that I didn't buy this book. It was given to me as a gag gift (my friend labeled it "gifts to give your worst enemy"). I didn't find it too funny.

    The author, April Winchell, obviously feels the only way she can make a point is with vulgarity and profanity. It's written like it's high school gym locker room talk.

    The book is about the online shopping website Etsy.com and shows some of the junk that is sold there. I didn't check out the website because nothing in the book appealed to me.

    If you want to look at pictures of some poorly made junk that's supposed to be for sale on Etsy.com, and read some profanity that I guess is supposed to add humor, then buy this book. Otherwise, save your money.

    About the only thing you might regret is reading this. As a disclosure, I am not affiliated in any way with Etsy.com, never heard of it until I got this book, and don't care if I ever hear of it again. It certainly doesn't sell anything I'd be interested in. Better stuff can be found along the roadside.

    12 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Thank God for the other reviews

    I would have never purchased this book had the other reviews not touted its vulgarity and profanity. It's more whimsicle than I thought it would be. There wasn't nearly enough gossip, though.

    April Winchell is doing the world a favor; where once, these useless items on Etsy would be passed on to the unassuming consumer, they are now being repurposed to fill the world with laughter. Many of the sellers featured have participated in promoting the book, proving that not even all of the sellers have a problem with becoming part of the Regretsy world.

    There is only one thing that will protect Etsy sellers from being skewered on Regretsy: they need to stop producing crap. It's that simple. But as long as they are producing crap, trying to sell cheap garbage as high-end art, or buying stuff from sweatshops and passing it off as handmade, April Winchell will be there to point out their misspellings and make fun of their complete and utter lack of talent and taste. And hopefully publishing it in book format so I can buy it.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Crudely written. An accidental yet insightful follow up of Paul Winchell's 'Winch'

    Knowing my way around Etsy, having heard of Regretsy, I found myself reading this book like a spectator. Part of me wanted to see what kind of book would Follow 'Winch' in the Winchell Family saga. It was a more morbid curiosity than anything that had me pick up this book in the first place. Unfortunately the book was quite a let down. It's mostly pages and pages of flaky gossip and insult that seem to excite the author. Crude and continually mean this odd narrative is something that the author seems to mistake for wit. This book seems to be a desperate attempt at something, i just don't know what. It's not without an audience though. I believe this Winchell can connect with or entertain those who enjoy a good laugh at the expense of others. It might also serve as a good read for anyone interested in Psychology. If you read Winch by Paul Winchell and then read this compilation of his daughters'. There is a certain tone of the author. Almost like a wreck describing other wrecks. It will be interesting to see how the book is received by general readers and Etsy members alike. I wouldn't pay for it, I don't know that I would recommend it but reading it has definitely given me some Winchell insight that I didn't have before.

    11 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    Surpassed Expectations: Absolutely Hysterical!!!

    This book far surpassed my expectations, and I expected quite a lot. I believed it would be funny, and it was hysterical. I assumed it would be interesting, and in fact I could not put it down. What I had not anticipated was the extent to which this book would be moving. And -- in all actuality -- inspirational.

    What makes the Regretsy site consistently laugh-out-loud funny, the brazen humor and bold perspective of author April Winchell, is present in full force. Also delightfully represented are the mind-boggling DIY arts and crafts that serve as fodder for conversation and amusement.

    But I believe that the best part of the Regretsy book lies in the poignant, insightful and absolutely riotous personal essays that introduce each chapter. The author's unique insight and candid commentary are hysterically funny and surprisingly poignant. But they don't go on long enough! Leaves me hoping the next book will be coming out very soon.

    I also truly enjoyed the Epilogue, and reading from the featured sellers themselves. It was very interesting to get the full picture of the Regretsy experience.

    I seriously doubt anyone could read this book without guffawing. It's that funny. Whether you're familiar with or passionate about Etsy, DIY, arts and crafts, or Regretsy, this book stands on its own and keeps you laughing. And, by the time you get through the Epilogue, chances are you'll be passionate about it all.

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    You won't Regret the laughter.

    Regretsy has discovered and exposed an element in the "business of art" that needs to be examined closer.

    As you flip through the pages you discover that the business of "modern art" and crafting have collided in historically startling ways.

    It will be hard to contain your laughter and shock as you examine the photos of a veritable freak show that celebrates the more iconoclastic artists thriving on the fringes of the art world.

    If you wish to see things that you NEVER thought you would ever see, this is the book for you.

    Guaranteed to fill you with wonder about the state of modern art and humanity. You will ask yourself repeatedly "what were they thinking?"

    9 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2010

    The Worst Book I ever read

    I'm not sure you could even call this a book. It's a satire of Etsy.com's craft website. The author, April Winchell, reviews stuff that all looks like it was made by a kindergarten class with insulting phrases that are supposed to be funny. The only thing funny is the price of the book. I paid $5.50 for it. It is the worst book I have ever read. The book gets to be boring because it's the same thing page after page.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2010

    Blah blah blah..

    This book is more of the same monotonous garbage Winchell posts on her Regretsy website daily, only the crappy crafts in the book are never updated (because it is a book). The website gets boring after a while and I got bored reading the book in the store after about ten minutes. This book was intended for people with extremely short attention spans; problem is, people with short attention spans will ultimately become bored with the book because it is unchanging. I recommend becoming a fan of Winchell's facebook page instead of purchasing this book, it's free and you can also read the inane comments from her fans (which also become monotonous after a while unless you want to constantly read the same hip acronyms over and over and over and over..).

    9 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2010

    A Yawner

    I read this at my local B&N. It's a quick read, and once you've read one chapter, you've read them all. This book is very monotonous.

    After hearing about this book, I came to B&N website to read the reviews and then checked it out at the store. The reviews here are worthy of attention. You might want to read this book in the store and save the money.

    This book gets more and more boring and predictable with each page. The language is immature and the humor is lackluster.

    8 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2010

    Not worth one star

    I have to agree with the other reviews that say this book is bullying and tries too hard to be funny. This might be a good book for those people who think the only way to make a point is with redundant profanity. It's filled with that vulgar, insulting street talk that most of us grew out of by oh, say... 7th grade.

    8 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2010

    Funniest Book I've seen in a LONG time!

    First, I have to say, if you don't have a sense of humor or if you are a stuffy conservative, you're probably going to dislike this book b/c you're not going to "get it". However, that will be a vast minority of people. If you like to laugh and enjoy looking at "crafts" that make you laugh, this is the book you need. I've been looking at Regretsy.com for months and April never fails to add an appropriately outrageous comment to the "artwork" in question. Bringing that genius to a book was the obvious next step. If you've got a friend who is FUN and loves to laugh, this makes a fantastic gift. I would like to add that because of Regretsy, the sellers of the off the wall items have many times seen a boost in sales (April indicates when something on etsy is SOLD that she features)so Regretsy is a win-win. Etsy items that would most likely have never sold get sold helping the etsy seller, and those etsy items that most likely would never have sold along with April's witty remarks provide comic relief to fun-loving individuals around the globe. I love Regretsy and I love this book (and yep, I'm an etsy crafter!)

    8 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2010

    Was this supposed to be funny?

    I think it jeopardizes the integrity of Barnes and Noble when two of the five-star reviewers below are featured in the book and stand to profit from their glowing synopsis.

    With that said, I grabbed this book from the return table at my local bookstore. The art work by Razberries for the author photo is really cute. While some of the art work in the book is nice, some is over the edge and some is downright grotesque.

    What ruins the book is the commentaries from the author which are demeaning, degrading and downright offensive. As other reviewers have noted, the commentaries are written in a manner that are supposed to be humerous (I think that was the intent of the author) but comes off as cruel and adolescent.

    The book might be better if there were no author commentaries. This is not a book for the faint of heart, the very young, or those looking for any type of literary enrichment or entertainment. The book fails on all counts.

    7 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    You can use multipurpose!

    Since I'm a cheap SOB, I hadn't considered buying The Regretsy Book because I hang out on the site every day for free. But when I received it as a Father's Day gift, I left my other gifts unopened, and read it from cover to cover, (much better than a tie, wrench, or paperweight).

    The photos of offbeat/weird/quirky art punctuated by snarky comments are hysterical (as is the website), but what makes this book truly awesome are April Winchell's wonderfully written stories which introduce each chapter. She hilariously covers everything from growing up in casa de aqua to dyeing her dog's head Cheeto orange to the birth of the mutant baby named Regretsy, while calling BS on the "everyone wins a trophy" mindset.

    Buy a copy now, you'll totally dig it (unless you're a callow douche bag, merkin pitted mouth breather, or a bitter hirsute skank) and you can use multipurpose.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2010

    Someone has an agenda!

    I recently saw a thread on the Etsy forums, where people were congratulating themselves on lowering the star rating on this book. Regretsy is controversial and makes some Etsy sellers very angry, so they do things like leave bad reviews for books they haven't read. That's why you see so many "ANONYMOUS" one star reviews here that all sound the same. Only B & N has bad reviews on this book. It has 5 stars on Amazon. but here, magically, it's a complete bomb! B&N is being exploited by a handfull of people who are conspiring torpedo a book that has been on Amazon's best seller list for months. Just do yourself a favor and take this with a grain of salt. Not one news outlet has had a bad review of this book. That doesn't mean you have to like it, but don't let a bunch of haters with an agenda let you decide what's worth reading.

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2010

    Blah

    First I have to say I agree with the review that said it is not right to allow reviews from people who are featured in this book. It seems unethical. A dislcosure should have been made. As for the Amazon reviews, many were written by the people featured in the book or fans of the website and I'm not sure where anyone gets the idea that this book is/was a best seller. It never made the top 100 list to be considered one. I wasn't at all impressed with the book or the website. This new term "cyber hatred" or "social hatred" as it is sometimes referred isn't needed in an already cynical world. Hopefully this new trend of putting others down to make oneself feel better will pass in short time. The book would probably only appeal to people who are familiar with, and frequent, the website. I have to agree with the reviews that say the book gets boring after the first few pages because the insults added to the photos by the author get to be the same old thing through the rest of the book. It's the same blah, blah, blah from cover to cover.

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2010

    Amazing!

    I didn't know what Regretsy was until April featured me on the website. I was in shock, depressed, angry, and then I came to accept it, embrace it, and love it.

    The book is absolutely hilarious. It's a quick read which is good for those of us that have a short attention... LOOK SHINY OBJECT!

    I really hope she includes me in her next book.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3