Customer Reviews for

The Regulators

Average Rating 4
( 125 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(26)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Regulators

I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about...
I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about a week after Independence Day; the Carver kids are bickering at the corner convenience store; Gary's firing up the backyard grill; the paperboy is making his rounds; a Frisbee is flying over the Reeds' lawn. The only thing that just doesn't seem to fit the almost perfect picture is the red van with the weird radar doohickey thing on the top, idling just up the hill. Soon it will begin to roll, and the killing will begin.....



Don't miss the companion novel, Desperation.

posted by Bachman on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book, maybe not for the nook,though :(

I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they a...
I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they are almost impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass! It was SO frustrating!

posted by Mirk on August 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    Great book, maybe not for the nook,though :(

    I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they are almost impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass! It was SO frustrating!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    AMAZING

    Absolutely my favorite KING book so far. Its difficult to read the news clippings and stuff on the nook, but still. I would suggest going to buy the actual book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Regulators

    I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about a week after Independence Day; the Carver kids are bickering at the corner convenience store; Gary's firing up the backyard grill; the paperboy is making his rounds; a Frisbee is flying over the Reeds' lawn. The only thing that just doesn't seem to fit the almost perfect picture is the red van with the weird radar doohickey thing on the top, idling just up the hill. Soon it will begin to roll, and the killing will begin.....



    Don't miss the companion novel, Desperation.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    FUN

    This is a very engaging novel. Stephen King does a great job building up the story and characters. It's very original and thrilling. It's classic in the sense that it isn't all huge twists and turns. It's just a great thriller. Good old fashioned story telling by the horror master.<BR/>It's one if King's more gory novels. So if gore isn't your thing you might not want to read The Regulators.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Read Desperation First.

    I preferred Desperation over the Regulators, but that aside this was still an enjoyable and fast paced read. There's a lot of action, but never felt any significant connection to the characters (which is something I can't say for any of the other SK books I've read up to now). The backstory is also cleverly tied in. On a side note, the ebook is riddled with typos. In some of Audrey's journals I wonder if they were purposely included seeing the situation she was in while she was writing them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Liked Desperation? Pick this book up.

    This book is tied into Steven King's book Desperation. So if you liked Desperation, this book will keep the story alive. Instead of taking place in the middle of nowhere, The Regulators takes place in the middle of a nice normal suburb neighborhood. But things start to happen that are far from the norm. Watch as things go from odd to worse in this weird tale. I thought it was a great book, but hey, why don't you judge for yourself? :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Anonymous

    Not a bad book, but I highly reccomend reading Desperation ( the companion book ) first. It' s not supposed to matter which order you read them in, but I personally feel you'll be left with a lot of questions if you choose this one first, I know I would be! The characters have different personalities which made me almost not want to read this one ( I get really deep into my reading!) So I waited a couple of weeks between books, I would recommend that as well! This is almost like an alternate plane from what happened in Desperation.....same people, only they live in Ohio, all on the same street. Johnny has a much different personality and the Carver's are all flip flopped around. There is not much of a detailed explaination for what Tak is or why this is happening, all that comes from the other book. That being said, I did enjoy it and do reccomend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Good ideas, but the book could have been 100 pages shorter. It

    Good ideas, but the book could have been 100 pages shorter. It felt repetitive, like I just wanted to skip to the next section (while still knowing what was happening). Physically, the story mostly takes place in a pretty small place, so I felt kinda trapped mentally for the few days that I spent reading this. Like I said, interesting ideas but I felt they got beat to death over the course of the book, kinda predictable really. It seemed to start out with a lot more promise than it wound up with, like King was on a roll for 50 pages and then started getting bogged down in his own imagery. I didn't get clearly defined senses of about half of the characters, and it focused way too much on Audrey and Seth. Just not expansive enough for such a long book, which is something I normally like about King's stories. Instead, everyone is mostly packed together like sardines the whole time. Also it was unusually gory, and I didn't feel like this helped make the story more gripping; it actually made it more tedious. I'm planning on reading Desperation, the companion book, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Good book

    Not one of his best but definitely worth it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Amazing!

    First novel by Richard Bachman (Stephen King) that I read. Made me a solid fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2012

    This was sooooo cool.

    Cary gets shot off his bike, Hannibal is just shot, Mary's head is blown apart, Debbie's and Kirsten's faces are blown off, Marielle's arm is ripped off, Jim shoots Collie, and so much more. Very descriptive, I must say. And I don't care, Tak is awesome. Also, Seth is Audrey's NEPHEW, not her son or stepson. She says that to Old Man Hobart herself! Some people seemed confused. SO MUCH DEATH AND VIOLENCE!!! NOTE: I put one star to represent four out of four stars. I'm counting the number of white stars; that way, it's possible to rate zero stars.

    0 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Television a horrible thing?

    Many say television is a horrible thing wasteful thing, well in this novel you might think so.<BR/><BR/>What turns out to be a nice day in the little town of Wentwroth, Ohio. (Surprising it doesn't happen in Maine) becomes a battle in which man must struggle out between a psychopathic demons' imagination all while a step mother tries desperately to get her autistic demon possessed son to fight back the evil within himself to save them both. <BR/><BR/>A very good read and will have you turning page after page, pondering what will happen next. Not anything like Desperation, even better one could say. From the Master Horror Teller, Stephen King.<BR/><BR/>If you are looking for something that is semi-fantasy with a little horror dipped into it, then this might be your book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    absolutely could not put this book down. i read this in two weeks, while working mad hours and going to class and taking finals!!!!! i found myself studying, then lying in bed til 4am reading this thing. absolutely amazing and i recommend this to anyone. i read desperation then the regulators......both are an addiction in themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    BLOOD AND GUTS

    More than any I had ever read in a book. It started right away so I was hooked with the suspense. Then, Tak, a vampire that doesn't feed on blood but on human energy, takes over a retarted six-year old boy named Seth. That, I thought was just kind of weird, and maybe a little mean. But it definetely had room for a sequel. I liked it but it wasn't great, I'd recommened it to anyone who likes a fast read with blood and guts on almost every single page for the first 200 pages. The next one is Desperation, which I have not yet read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    Well...

    It's not Depseration, that's for sure, but it's not bad. I'd read it if you loved the characters in Desperation and want to read more about them. Other then that it will be a decent read but nothing spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Very fun and gory!!!

    While not as intelligent as its counterpart (Desperation), its much more violent! Within the first 10 pages the killing starts, and it doesnt end until the book does. The borders of reality are crossed and one neighborhood is engulfed in one creatures fantasy...a DEADLY fantasy that sees throats torn out, heads blown off, and an overall bloody mess that used to be a nice suburban neighborhood. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Pretty good

    Picked this up for a buck at a local thrift shop. Was pleased with the story, excellent description of everything. The plot was kinda...out there but, thats a good thing sometimes. I'd recommend king fans read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    pretty good

    this was a great book, almost as good as desperation, this is now one of my favorite books not only by king but off all books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    As only King could....

    I loved this book! I could not tell you if it is better than Desperation or not. They both took me in. I think they are probably my favorite King books now. But I do agree that you need to take them as seperate works of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2005

    THE WORST BOOK IVE EVER READ

    I couldnt even finish the whole book.It was so boring and just not interesting.Too many characters and the plot was so boring.Worst book ever......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 125 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7