Customer Reviews for

Regulators

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Regulators

I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about...
I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about a week after Independence Day; the Carver kids are bickering at the corner convenience store; Gary's firing up the backyard grill; the paperboy is making his rounds; a Frisbee is flying over the Reeds' lawn. The only thing that just doesn't seem to fit the almost perfect picture is the red van with the weird radar doohickey thing on the top, idling just up the hill. Soon it will begin to roll, and the killing will begin.....



Don't miss the companion novel, Desperation.

posted by Bachman on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book, maybe not for the nook,though :(

I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they a...
I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they are almost impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass! It was SO frustrating!

posted by Mirk on August 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    Outstanding

    King outdid himself with this one. The story leaves a great lead in for some missing pieces for some of his other works where he has a couple of his worlds collide. The easy way it was written provides for the quick read that keeps you in the book and the world of King's mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2004

    TAK is TACKY!!!..Entrancing...Yet Stupid!!

    I read Desperation..I thought it was O.K. Now, I'm reading The Regulators, which I thought was the story BEFORE Desperation, but it is not. Though the same names of characters in Desperation as used, they are completely switched around, which I thought was rather-you guessed-STUPID!! The kid in this book, The Regulators, is an autistic child who is hosting a demon called TAK(of all the names they could think of) and Tak is bringing the child's favorite cartoon and T.V. characters to life in order to wipe out a surburban neighborhood. Crazy concept-huh? I think this book drones in the worst way, despite the fact that I couldn't quite put it down-I wanted my $8.00's worth! The demon, through the child, impersonates various western characters from Bonanza and the likes, and too much of this is plain ridiculous. I guess it's considered dark humor; I wouldn't advise anyone to spend their 8 bucks on this-rent it in the library, if anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    A regulation for The Regulators

    The Regulators, by Richard Bachman, Stephen King¿s pseudonym, is an O.K. novel. It would have been better if I had not read Desperation just before reading The Regulators. Reading about a neighborhood that has been turned upside down by an eight-year-old autistic boy who is possessed (hosting) by an ancient demon by the name of Tak. When Poplar Street starts to get weird the occupants of the quiet little suburban neighborhood start to get a little worried and all out scared. Eight year old Seth Garin loves to watch old western television shows and movies, like Bonanza, and the movie The Regulators. He also likes MotoKops 2200, a futuristic cartoon with high tech fancy vans that keep the galaxy peaceful and alien free. Seth, with the help of Tak, turns Poplar Street into the main street from The Regulators. Both the MotoKops and the characters from The Regulators attempt to kill all of the people in this little community. If you have recently read Desperation, also by Richard Bachman, I do not recommend that you read The Regulators right away, and the other way around. Most of the characters are the same or similar, yet most of the roles, names, and or descriptions have changed. It was rather confusing in beginning. You might that one book is a continuation of the other, yet you would be seriously mistaken. I would not recommend this book for the weak stomached or the easily scared, for this book would turn their worlds upside-down. Like many other books written by Stephen King, it is absolutely gruesome in parts and downright scary in others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    Revv for each turn

    The Regulators Page by page you never know what to expect next in the novel, that keeps you in suspense `til the last letter. The Regulators by Richard Bachman, is something with quite a twist, something you¿d never expect. Set in a chimerical town, Winston, Ohio, everything¿s perfect, until this van with a capricious gadget on its roof has been idling at the end of Poplar Street. The Regulators starts off with a diplomatic neighborhood, Carry the deliverer of The Shopper making his weekly deliveries, men out washing their cars, women pampering with their gardens, girls exchanging giggles and secrets, boys clinking their bats on baseballs, it¿s the perfect day. But when that futuristic van on the end of Poplar Street from uphill makes its turn¿a killing spree commences. After the van leaves the traumatized neighborhood they realized that it wasn¿t the only van that decided to stop for a visit. Could it have to do with the neighbor with that odd kid named Seth that if you said something to him he would just stare back with his chocolate colored eyes? Why that neighborhood, why Ohio? The author did an astounding job at giving in-depth detail about each character; he was very descriptive for each character, and even subtle background information about each one. The suspension was infallible and very effective, it fitted perfectly in the novel, and you truly didn¿t exactly know what to anticipate on the following pages. Some fallbacks were that the introduction was too extensive, yet this can be advantageous to some people, for further background information. Overall this book was classified as a 5 star rated novel, because of the in depth information it had for each detail. I personally elected this novel as a real ¿page turner¿ it truly adds the starvation for more about each conflict. I recommend those that are interested in science fiction or books with great suspense and shock. It was truly a pleasure reading The Regulators I highly recommend it, a word of caution, don¿t read it unless you have nothing to do that day, it¿s like a strong magnet and will keep you reading all day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    very thrilling

    I loved the Regulators. It kept my attention all of the time. I was on the edge of my seat always wondering what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2002

    God bless Bachman

    An excellent way of showing how minds can manipulate things. Thanks to Bachman (or King´s mind) for creating a story very well narrated

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    Still the King

    I read this book not long after reading Desperation, and like Desperation, I couldn't put it down until I'd finished. The character parallels between the two novels are interesting, and this novel is very strange and scary. It is definitely a nightmare that I'm glad King offered to us, I've never read anything so bizarre and unnerving. It is also more heart-wrenching than Desperation, I found that the end was great, but it also made me sad. It's definitely not a book you want to miss. Especially if you've read Desperation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    A Real Page-Turner!

    It took me quite a long time to read this book, simply because I became too spooked by it and had to grasp reality again. The story flows smooth with many memorable characters and some descriptive gore. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    Harrowing story

    I read this book in one day, this is the third book I have ever dont that with, it was just so great, the action started with the first 20 pages and just never stopped. I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2001

    Action packed supernatural multi-character plot

    Bachman does well with this story about a little boy who runs a muck in a Ohio suburb. Lots of killing and the story flows very nicely. Bachman makes it feel more realistic by letting you read the character's private journals and letters and the action continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    Reckon this was a Good Book

    After reading Desperation, I immediately tore into The Regulators. While it is not as dark or suspensful as Desperation, The Regulators certainly does stand alone as a fun, terrifying, and ultimately bizarre read. The character parallels between Desperation and The Regulators was very interesting to read, as many of the characters one comes to hate in one book, one can't help but sympathize with in the other. If you are buying this book now, and have not read Desperation, I reccomend adding both to your cart, and reading Desperation first. The Regulators is a relief novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2000

    TAK IS BACK

    Pretty entertaining book just like Desperation in a lot of ways.Maybe a notch below Desperation because of how original Desperation was. This is a continuation of the story I guess. Read Desperation first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2000

    Great Imagination

    This book is odd yet compeling from the very beginning. If you are going to read this i would suggest you read Desperation. Very tense at some points. Hard to put down. Stephen King I think is given too much credit for the book, he was not the origional author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2000

    Excellent book, unusual ending

    Well, I definitely enjoyed this book! It only took me a few days to read it and was not disappointed. The book is very entertaining, filled with odd creatures and landscapes that could only come from the mind of a child. It builds to a climax so different from the typical final battle between good and evil. The ending, however, is very confusing (I am still waiting for someone to explain it to me).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Entertaining but silly

    I thought The Tommyknockers was strange. However, with The Regulators, Stephen King outdoes himself, but the results are not as satisfying. The Regulators is a silly book, without question, but it does hold one's interest, even though the usual excellent characterization in King's books is missing here. I did feel somewhat frustrated after reading this, even thought the ending was really good, because Stephen King is capable of doing something ten times better that this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2000

    Great Read

    I was kept in suspense with 'The Regulators.' It is one of the most extraordinary books written. The whole story is filled with captivating horror, only the end is a bit of a let down. Sort of not as good as was expected. But it can easily be looked past as the characters from 'Desperation' reunite in an encore of Richard Bachman's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    Best book I've read in years!

    I don't get a chance to read very often so when I bought this book, I really looked forward to it. Stephen King (as Richard Bachman) didn't disappoint! I could hardly wait to pick it up and would almost fall asleep trying to read more. The story was interwoven so well and you felt a lot of things for the characters, especially Seth. If you haven't read it, it is a must! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2000

    Awesome Book!!!

    This is an awesome book! It is funny, clever, and entertaining. If you read this, you will want to buy it. If you buy it, you will be sure to read it over and over again. I should know....lol(laughing out loud). Anyway, this is a book you won't want to put down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7