Customer Reviews for

Regulators

Average Rating 4
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Regulators

I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about...
I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about a week after Independence Day; the Carver kids are bickering at the corner convenience store; Gary's firing up the backyard grill; the paperboy is making his rounds; a Frisbee is flying over the Reeds' lawn. The only thing that just doesn't seem to fit the almost perfect picture is the red van with the weird radar doohickey thing on the top, idling just up the hill. Soon it will begin to roll, and the killing will begin.....



Don't miss the companion novel, Desperation.

posted by Bachman on May 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book, maybe not for the nook,though :(

I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they a...
I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they are almost impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass! It was SO frustrating!

posted by Mirk on August 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 16, 2010

    Great book, maybe not for the nook,though :(

    I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they are almost impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass! It was SO frustrating!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Read Desperation First.

    I preferred Desperation over the Regulators, but that aside this was still an enjoyable and fast paced read. There's a lot of action, but never felt any significant connection to the characters (which is something I can't say for any of the other SK books I've read up to now). The backstory is also cleverly tied in. On a side note, the ebook is riddled with typos. In some of Audrey's journals I wonder if they were purposely included seeing the situation she was in while she was writing them.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Good ideas, but the book could have been 100 pages shorter. It

    Good ideas, but the book could have been 100 pages shorter. It felt repetitive, like I just wanted to skip to the next section (while still knowing what was happening). Physically, the story mostly takes place in a pretty small place, so I felt kinda trapped mentally for the few days that I spent reading this. Like I said, interesting ideas but I felt they got beat to death over the course of the book, kinda predictable really. It seemed to start out with a lot more promise than it wound up with, like King was on a roll for 50 pages and then started getting bogged down in his own imagery. I didn't get clearly defined senses of about half of the characters, and it focused way too much on Audrey and Seth. Just not expansive enough for such a long book, which is something I normally like about King's stories. Instead, everyone is mostly packed together like sardines the whole time. Also it was unusually gory, and I didn't feel like this helped make the story more gripping; it actually made it more tedious. I'm planning on reading Desperation, the companion book, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2007

    BLOOD AND GUTS

    More than any I had ever read in a book. It started right away so I was hooked with the suspense. Then, Tak, a vampire that doesn't feed on blood but on human energy, takes over a retarted six-year old boy named Seth. That, I thought was just kind of weird, and maybe a little mean. But it definetely had room for a sequel. I liked it but it wasn't great, I'd recommened it to anyone who likes a fast read with blood and guts on almost every single page for the first 200 pages. The next one is Desperation, which I have not yet read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2006

    Well...

    It's not Depseration, that's for sure, but it's not bad. I'd read it if you loved the characters in Desperation and want to read more about them. Other then that it will be a decent read but nothing spectacular.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2006

    Very fun and gory!!!

    While not as intelligent as its counterpart (Desperation), its much more violent! Within the first 10 pages the killing starts, and it doesnt end until the book does. The borders of reality are crossed and one neighborhood is engulfed in one creatures fantasy...a DEADLY fantasy that sees throats torn out, heads blown off, and an overall bloody mess that used to be a nice suburban neighborhood. Very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2004

    Not as good as Desperation

    This book was definately good, but I was confused by all the characters. There were too many, and the story took so long to get going. The only parts I truely enjoyed were with Audrey Wyler and Seth Garin. Near the end it was much better, but still not as good as Desperation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    A regulation for The Regulators

    The Regulators, by Richard Bachman, Stephen King¿s pseudonym, is an O.K. novel. It would have been better if I had not read Desperation just before reading The Regulators. Reading about a neighborhood that has been turned upside down by an eight-year-old autistic boy who is possessed (hosting) by an ancient demon by the name of Tak. When Poplar Street starts to get weird the occupants of the quiet little suburban neighborhood start to get a little worried and all out scared. Eight year old Seth Garin loves to watch old western television shows and movies, like Bonanza, and the movie The Regulators. He also likes MotoKops 2200, a futuristic cartoon with high tech fancy vans that keep the galaxy peaceful and alien free. Seth, with the help of Tak, turns Poplar Street into the main street from The Regulators. Both the MotoKops and the characters from The Regulators attempt to kill all of the people in this little community. If you have recently read Desperation, also by Richard Bachman, I do not recommend that you read The Regulators right away, and the other way around. Most of the characters are the same or similar, yet most of the roles, names, and or descriptions have changed. It was rather confusing in beginning. You might that one book is a continuation of the other, yet you would be seriously mistaken. I would not recommend this book for the weak stomached or the easily scared, for this book would turn their worlds upside-down. Like many other books written by Stephen King, it is absolutely gruesome in parts and downright scary in others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2001

    Reckon this was a Good Book

    After reading Desperation, I immediately tore into The Regulators. While it is not as dark or suspensful as Desperation, The Regulators certainly does stand alone as a fun, terrifying, and ultimately bizarre read. The character parallels between Desperation and The Regulators was very interesting to read, as many of the characters one comes to hate in one book, one can't help but sympathize with in the other. If you are buying this book now, and have not read Desperation, I reccomend adding both to your cart, and reading Desperation first. The Regulators is a relief novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2000

    TAK IS BACK

    Pretty entertaining book just like Desperation in a lot of ways.Maybe a notch below Desperation because of how original Desperation was. This is a continuation of the story I guess. Read Desperation first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    Entertaining but silly

    I thought The Tommyknockers was strange. However, with The Regulators, Stephen King outdoes himself, but the results are not as satisfying. The Regulators is a silly book, without question, but it does hold one's interest, even though the usual excellent characterization in King's books is missing here. I did feel somewhat frustrated after reading this, even thought the ending was really good, because Stephen King is capable of doing something ten times better that this.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2