Customer Reviews for

Regulators

Average Rating 4
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

FUN

This is a very engaging novel. Stephen King does a great job building up the story and characters. It's very original and thrilling. It's classic in the sense that it isn't all huge twists and turns. It's just a great thriller. Good old fashioned story telling by the h...
This is a very engaging novel. Stephen King does a great job building up the story and characters. It's very original and thrilling. It's classic in the sense that it isn't all huge twists and turns. It's just a great thriller. Good old fashioned story telling by the horror master.
It's one if King's more gory novels. So if gore isn't your thing you might not want to read The Regulators.

posted by DeDeFlowers on December 14, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great book, maybe not for the nook,though :(

I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they a...
I loved this book, like I love almost all of Stephen Kings writing. I just got the B&N nook and love it to death, but this book was not made for the nook. Scattered through out are newspaper clippings and journal entries of one of the characters that are SO small they are almost impossible to read, even with a magnifying glass! It was SO frustrating!

posted by Mirk on August 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    AMAZING

    Absolutely my favorite KING book so far. Its difficult to read the news clippings and stuff on the nook, but still. I would suggest going to buy the actual book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Regulators

    I am currently reading this book, about 3/4 of the way through. It is a great read, pure macabre, though. I will try to make this as little of a spoiler as possible. It is about a suburban neighborhood in the fictional town of Wentworth, Ohio. A typical afternoon, about a week after Independence Day; the Carver kids are bickering at the corner convenience store; Gary's firing up the backyard grill; the paperboy is making his rounds; a Frisbee is flying over the Reeds' lawn. The only thing that just doesn't seem to fit the almost perfect picture is the red van with the weird radar doohickey thing on the top, idling just up the hill. Soon it will begin to roll, and the killing will begin.....



    Don't miss the companion novel, Desperation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2005

    Liked Desperation? Pick this book up.

    This book is tied into Steven King's book Desperation. So if you liked Desperation, this book will keep the story alive. Instead of taking place in the middle of nowhere, The Regulators takes place in the middle of a nice normal suburb neighborhood. But things start to happen that are far from the norm. Watch as things go from odd to worse in this weird tale. I thought it was a great book, but hey, why don't you judge for yourself? :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Amazing!

    First novel by Richard Bachman (Stephen King) that I read. Made me a solid fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    absolutely could not put this book down. i read this in two weeks, while working mad hours and going to class and taking finals!!!!! i found myself studying, then lying in bed til 4am reading this thing. absolutely amazing and i recommend this to anyone. i read desperation then the regulators......both are an addiction in themselves.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2005

    pretty good

    this was a great book, almost as good as desperation, this is now one of my favorite books not only by king but off all books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2005

    As only King could....

    I loved this book! I could not tell you if it is better than Desperation or not. They both took me in. I think they are probably my favorite King books now. But I do agree that you need to take them as seperate works of art.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2004

    Some people get it....

    ...and apparently some don't so don't let the number of stars rule your decision to attempt this book. There is a lot of detail that will keep your mind busy and if you pay attention you won't get too confused. Also, I honestly don't know that I would consider Desperation a prequel or a sequel to the Regulators at all - again if you pay attention to detail, you will discover that though the name might be the same, that character's demographics are not. Mr. King is an artist, and a playful one at that... take each book as a seperate creature and enjoy them as such. Only you know what type of book you like - personal preference does not belong in a review of a book, characteristics of the book do. If you like this type of book, you will LOVE this book. How's that? ;o)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2004

    Outstanding

    King outdid himself with this one. The story leaves a great lead in for some missing pieces for some of his other works where he has a couple of his worlds collide. The easy way it was written provides for the quick read that keeps you in the book and the world of King's mind.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2003

    Revv for each turn

    The Regulators Page by page you never know what to expect next in the novel, that keeps you in suspense `til the last letter. The Regulators by Richard Bachman, is something with quite a twist, something you¿d never expect. Set in a chimerical town, Winston, Ohio, everything¿s perfect, until this van with a capricious gadget on its roof has been idling at the end of Poplar Street. The Regulators starts off with a diplomatic neighborhood, Carry the deliverer of The Shopper making his weekly deliveries, men out washing their cars, women pampering with their gardens, girls exchanging giggles and secrets, boys clinking their bats on baseballs, it¿s the perfect day. But when that futuristic van on the end of Poplar Street from uphill makes its turn¿a killing spree commences. After the van leaves the traumatized neighborhood they realized that it wasn¿t the only van that decided to stop for a visit. Could it have to do with the neighbor with that odd kid named Seth that if you said something to him he would just stare back with his chocolate colored eyes? Why that neighborhood, why Ohio? The author did an astounding job at giving in-depth detail about each character; he was very descriptive for each character, and even subtle background information about each one. The suspension was infallible and very effective, it fitted perfectly in the novel, and you truly didn¿t exactly know what to anticipate on the following pages. Some fallbacks were that the introduction was too extensive, yet this can be advantageous to some people, for further background information. Overall this book was classified as a 5 star rated novel, because of the in depth information it had for each detail. I personally elected this novel as a real ¿page turner¿ it truly adds the starvation for more about each conflict. I recommend those that are interested in science fiction or books with great suspense and shock. It was truly a pleasure reading The Regulators I highly recommend it, a word of caution, don¿t read it unless you have nothing to do that day, it¿s like a strong magnet and will keep you reading all day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2003

    very thrilling

    I loved the Regulators. It kept my attention all of the time. I was on the edge of my seat always wondering what will happen next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    Still the King

    I read this book not long after reading Desperation, and like Desperation, I couldn't put it down until I'd finished. The character parallels between the two novels are interesting, and this novel is very strange and scary. It is definitely a nightmare that I'm glad King offered to us, I've never read anything so bizarre and unnerving. It is also more heart-wrenching than Desperation, I found that the end was great, but it also made me sad. It's definitely not a book you want to miss. Especially if you've read Desperation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2002

    A Real Page-Turner!

    It took me quite a long time to read this book, simply because I became too spooked by it and had to grasp reality again. The story flows smooth with many memorable characters and some descriptive gore. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2001

    Harrowing story

    I read this book in one day, this is the third book I have ever dont that with, it was just so great, the action started with the first 20 pages and just never stopped. I highly recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2000

    Best book I've read in years!

    I don't get a chance to read very often so when I bought this book, I really looked forward to it. Stephen King (as Richard Bachman) didn't disappoint! I could hardly wait to pick it up and would almost fall asleep trying to read more. The story was interwoven so well and you felt a lot of things for the characters, especially Seth. If you haven't read it, it is a must! Hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2000

    Awesome Book!!!

    This is an awesome book! It is funny, clever, and entertaining. If you read this, you will want to buy it. If you buy it, you will be sure to read it over and over again. I should know....lol(laughing out loud). Anyway, this is a book you won't want to put down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 45 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3