Customer Reviews for

Reign of Blood

Average Rating 4
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Alexia Purdy¿s Reign of Blood takes vampire tales into a whole n

Alexia Purdy’s Reign of Blood takes vampire tales into a whole new reality. There were times when I just did not want to put it down regardless of the fact that I was heading to work or getting off the train at my stop.

In Reign of Blood, 17 year old April Tate – al...
Alexia Purdy’s Reign of Blood takes vampire tales into a whole new reality. There were times when I just did not want to put it down regardless of the fact that I was heading to work or getting off the train at my stop.

In Reign of Blood, 17 year old April Tate – along with her mother and little brother -- is alone in the world. They are seemingly the only humans left in a world that has been ravaged by a epidemic that has either killed everyone else or turned them into vampires. It’s a little like the tales of zombie epidemics, but I truly love the twist through which they have become blood drinkers – not brain/body eaters.

Set in the post-apocalyptic city of what was once Las Vegas, April and her family has managed to find secure shelter and create a way of life for themselves – that is until one fateful day when her family is abducted. April’s retaliatory search for her family brings her face to face with a new breed of vampire unlike the ones she has come to know.

It is while she is with this new breed that April has to come to terms with how her world has changed – including a possible love story for the almost fearless young woman.

I absolutely LOVED this first in the Reign of Blood series. I have never been to Las Vegas but Purdy is so skilled at describing the world that I never once had to wonder what it was like. There were a few things that I saw coming – but hey, you read enough books by the same author and you start to understand their writing – and knowing it was probably going to happen only made me anticipate the coming pages more. I can’t wait to pick up Disarming (book 2).

posted by Year-in-Books on July 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fail

Started out fantastic then it got so campy an into teen fantasy novel stereotypes that i was just disgusted.

posted by 8338756 on May 6, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Alexia Purdy¿s Reign of Blood takes vampire tales into a whole n

    Alexia Purdy’s Reign of Blood takes vampire tales into a whole new reality. There were times when I just did not want to put it down regardless of the fact that I was heading to work or getting off the train at my stop.

    In Reign of Blood, 17 year old April Tate – along with her mother and little brother -- is alone in the world. They are seemingly the only humans left in a world that has been ravaged by a epidemic that has either killed everyone else or turned them into vampires. It’s a little like the tales of zombie epidemics, but I truly love the twist through which they have become blood drinkers – not brain/body eaters.

    Set in the post-apocalyptic city of what was once Las Vegas, April and her family has managed to find secure shelter and create a way of life for themselves – that is until one fateful day when her family is abducted. April’s retaliatory search for her family brings her face to face with a new breed of vampire unlike the ones she has come to know.

    It is while she is with this new breed that April has to come to terms with how her world has changed – including a possible love story for the almost fearless young woman.

    I absolutely LOVED this first in the Reign of Blood series. I have never been to Las Vegas but Purdy is so skilled at describing the world that I never once had to wonder what it was like. There were a few things that I saw coming – but hey, you read enough books by the same author and you start to understand their writing – and knowing it was probably going to happen only made me anticipate the coming pages more. I can’t wait to pick up Disarming (book 2).

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2014

    The book started out well enough, and I liked the descriptions o

    The book started out well enough, and I liked the descriptions of the ruins of Vegas and the whole end-of-the-world vibe it had going. However, there were aspects to the main character, April, that I found hard to believe. Yes, she kicked butt, but I don't know how since her survival instincts seemed to be completely overrun by her emotions. And I have to agree with one of the other reviewers; as the story progressed, it got more and more stereotypical and it lost me.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Fail

    Started out fantastic then it got so campy an into teen fantasy novel stereotypes that i was just disgusted.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Such potential

    Great setting, great end of the world idea, WHERE was the character development?! Such a great "Bad Guy" and arch nemesis Hive and they were completely undeveloped. Such potential from some great. I hope the author reworks this story someday. There is soooooo much more to the story than you wrote!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    You can almost taste it!

    Well written, thought ending was rather abrupt. Human, vampire, other .... sometimes unclear who is what. Given Anne Rice's imprint on vampires, this story loses believability. Can humans drink blood, vampire blood, and not be turned????

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    An entire story instead of one or two chapters

    Was good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2014

    Amazing!

    Wow, I am going to have to list this book on my favorites. Vampires, hybrids, and another amazing species as well. This bookstarted of with action, and kept me going, while on the edge of my seat. Oh, and there was even a bit of romance. This is clearly a five star book.

    Note this book is brutally violent, and do recommend that readers be at least 16 years of age, and mature to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    good book

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    REAL READERS WOULD LOVE THIS!!!

    This is such a great book that i havent been able to put it down sinve i got it and the series just gets better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    It might be a good book, but I never got a chance to read it.

    I NEVER RECEIVED THIS BOOK! If I don't receive free books, how can I actually spend money on one? I tried to get help, but I never did.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2014

    Enjoyed

    This read did exactly what rvery book should do, it made me enjoy the story. Kudoes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2014

    I love apocalyptic stories, and this one did not disappoint.  Ap

    I love apocalyptic stories, and this one did not disappoint. 
    April, her mother Helen, and her younger brother are surviving in a bunker below a cabin in the mountains outside of what used to be Las Vegas. They've been hiding and scrounging for food, making trips into what's left of the city to stock up on needed supplies, and try to clear out nests of nasty feral vampires without being eaten. 
    Everyone they know is either dead or turned now, and it's just them as far as they know. On one of their trips into the city, April's family is abducted, leaving her alone to survive and hopefully find them. She searches for clues tries to find where they have been taken, all but giving up before she starts blowing up casinos to clear out the ferals. She's trapped inside one as it blows, when she's rescued by one that isn't feral, but isn't human either. This new friend, Miranda, leads April to a whole new world she had no idea existed where she finds help and the promise to find her mom and brother.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Reign of Blood

    Great book! Alexia Purty is an awesome author! Twists and turns at every corner..this book will keep you on your toes and it gets even greater!! Love it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Wrotten grammar but good story line

    If you don't mind terrible grammar then go ahead and read. I got so lost in the poorly written work that it was hard to tell what was going on at times. Doesn't anybody edit anymore? I read some other work of herd that was better than this and was disappointed with this one. A vegas native myself I was intrigued with her setting. I wouldn't recommend it if you are squemish either. Not for youth.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Correction to the below comment

    It's kick some ass. Not butt. Lol

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    This was a great book!I give if 4.5 out of 5 stars. I loved the

    This was a great book!I give if 4.5 out of 5 stars. I loved the main character, as strong young woman that can kick some vampire butt.
    The thing that I liked the most about this book is that the love line didn't take over the whole book. We got to know April first, and watch
     her go though an emotional break down. She was able to get over this mostly on her own and didn't rely on a boy to save her. It's
     starting to get on my nerves that a lot of vampire books have love sick teenage girls constantly relying and depend on their vampire
     boyfriends. This book and Soul's Mark: Found really let the girl be independent and not whine when it comes to their vampire love
    not always being around and saving them.
    The few reasons I wouldn't give it a 5 out of 5 is the way it ended. I read the last page without knowing and was left in shock when I
     turned to the authors info page. It wasn't as bad as a cliff hanger, but felt incomplete. Also, the fact that at times the main character
     would curse and then use a substitute in the same sentence, like darn bastard. Teens curse, no need to hide it or make it incomplete.
     Lastly, I may have missed it, but April is supposed to seventeen right, but how old was Rye? It hasn't been that long since the outbreak
    so why is a seventeen year old with a guy in their twenties with an ex-wife. I don't care if the world had only a hand full of guys left, I'd
     make my kid wait to eighteen still. But, overall it was a great book and I've already started book two. I hope it doesn't follow the second
     book curse.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    Awesome new take on vampires.  Alexia Purdy just joined my list

    Awesome new take on vampires. 
    Alexia Purdy just joined my list of favorite authors. The descriptions in this book are so well written that Alexia sucked (pun intended) me in immediately and I fell in love with her characters and her writing.




    Vampire/zombie-like creatures roam the streets of Las Vegas after the world is overcome by some viral epidemic. This is a story about April, a seventeen-year-old girl and her quest to find her family. (Hmmm … something familiar about that. LOL If you know me, then you know why I say that. Hint AA) 




    But there is nothing ordinary or familiar about April’s journey. 




    This edge of your seat story had my attention from the very first chapter. Though in the beginning, I must admit, when I first started reading this, I was worried how the story would progress, because the first part spends a lot of time with April being by herself and narrated by her without much dialogue. Most books like that would be boring, but Alexia Purdy has managed to pull it off without much of a problem and made it very interesting. Things quickly change as the story continues … I won’t say anymore than that so I don’t give any spoilers. 




    I’m excited to read the next book, Disarming (Reign of Blood book 2) because this one was so good and I need to find out how April is coping. She stole my heart in this first one and I’m looking forward to following her further.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Very good story jmm44

    Really good vampire story & it has a good "dose" of family loyalty thrown in too!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2013

    Best first line ever!

    I read the first sentence and was hooked..."Never tease anything that's trying to eat you." Read it, you won't be sorry!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2013

    I had a hard time getting into Reign of Blood initially, but onc

    I had a hard time getting into Reign of Blood initially, but once I hit chapter 7 or so I ended up awake until 2 AM finishing up the entire book. I love that Alexia Purdy slipped unexpected twists in the book for the main character, April. April loses her family during an outting for supplies and during her search for them she comes into contact with one of the hybrid hives that live in the area. At first April is hesitant to join them in any way, but grows fond of a few of the people there. In particula, Rye. During her stay in the hive she finds out some hard truths about her life, meets people integral to the rescue of her family and becomes close to Rye. She and Rye are meant for each other and not finding out what happens with them is one of my sole frustrations about the ending of this book. That's okay though! There's a part two and I'll devour that one too so I can find out.



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3