Customer Reviews for

Reign of Error: The Hoax of the Privatization Movement and the Danger to America's Public Schools

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'm not sure if the previous reviewer actually read THIS book, b

    I'm not sure if the previous reviewer actually read THIS book, but Dr. Ravitch most certainly does NOT defend the status quo which is being upheld by the supposed reformers at work who are not educators, but politicians and the media pundits attached to them. My guess is he or she was someone who, like those same reformers, doesn't like the stark facts that show the extensive damage the reform movement is wreaking on our education system, the teachers, and the students it purportedly serves. Dr. Ravitch has worked tirelessly to point out using PROOF and FACTS exactly what is being done to our educational system and students all in the name of GREED. This book is a must read for anyone who cares about the future of our educational system and our most precious resource, our children. BRAVO, Dr. Ravitch!

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    School reformers, particularly the bullies, will hate this book.

    School reformers, particularly the bullies, will hate this book.

    In it, Ravitch absolutely skewers the current infatuation with school closings and privatization.

    It’s a stupid approach because students benefit from stable schools with caring, experienced educators.

    Our country’s rapid-fire, inconsistent approach to school improvement is based on a business model which is appropriate for commoditites, not human beings.

    Would you regularly test your spouse’s loyalty and threaten them with divorce if they didn’t show continuous improvement?

    Would you assess your children’s ability to follow directions and put them up for adoption if they didn’t pull their weight?

    Then why would you support the insane school reforms encouraged by the US Department of Education?

    Education is an incremental, loving, emotional journey, not purely an intellectual one.

    The reformers send their own children to stable, test-free, accountability-free schools.

    Why subject the rest of us to something different?

    I give this book my highest recommendation.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Well thought out and extensively documented refutation of educat

    Well thought out and extensively documented refutation of education privatization and so-called "reform". 

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Informative review of education reform.

    This book obviously has a bias, but she supports her opinions so well with outside research and sources, not just preachers to the choir, but people who oppose her and have their own agendas. I think she has hit on something and is interested in reform that works, but very opposed to the reform that is happening.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2013

    Some truths, mostly excuses and weak alibis for our dysfunctiona

    Some truths, mostly excuses and weak alibis for our dysfunctional K-12 education system that has quadrupled per-pupil inflation-adjusted spending since the late 1960s with very little, if any improvement in dropout rates and pupil achievement.

    4 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2013

    The former U.S. assistant Secretary of Education defending the r

    The former U.S. assistant Secretary of Education defending the relevance and success of public schools, that should be news?  Any shocking conclusions come to in this tome?   No, but what you won't find is the lowering of the bar so that more kids DO pass, more teachers are taught to TEACH TESTS, and PASS STUDENTS who fall below the bar to retain funding.   Basically, this book is a defense of the policies that have been enacted over the last 30 years in the public school system and exacerbated by the "No Child Left Behind" policy.   
    Again, how did we survive for all this time WITHOUT state-funded schools again?   Must have been a fluke accident or something. 

    4 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2013

    Some people are saying that it is a biased book... It's not. It

    Some people are saying that it is a biased book... It's not. It's characterized as a biased book because it opposes corporate reform. Saying that is biased is like saying, "global warming (AKA: Climate Change) is just an opinion." Would it be Bias to say that 2+2 = 4? Only in a political climate that trying to make it 7. This book is insightful and grounded in its political sobriety. She writes from a place of wholeness backed up with data. The only unfortunate thing about the book is that it had to be written, but thank goodness it was...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I had about 40 years in engineering when I enrolled at a major p

    I had about 40 years in engineering when I enrolled at a major private for-profit teacher education school. "America needs more math and science teachers." I got straight A's in all my education classes and I wanted to teach math and physics and chemistry in high school. But as student teaching arrived, I was assigned to a junior high school, with over 40 students per class and a Master Teacher whose mantra was "You want everyone to succeed, don't you?" Her idea of middle-school science was having the children color their notebook covers, listen to quotes from her old school book (1950's), and make plenty of science errors. She did not allow me to meet the parents even at Open House. I eventually discovered that 20% of the class was English as a Second Language, and there were several students who were on drugs for ADHD and were disruptive and attacked others with their pencil points. No low grades were allowed to be given, even when nothing was turned in, the tests were flunked, and warnings only made parents change their class. I spent at least 85% of my time doing discipline, and that was what I was graded on. This is warehousing at its worst. This book follows closely with what I heard her say on C-Span, a familiar diatribe against haters of the present system. I was eventually drummed out of the teacher education after being told I needed to re-take classes that I had already gotten A's in, and submit to video taped examination. At last, I had to fight with the School to recover the thousand dollars for student teaching. My Master Teacher spent almost all her time in the teachers' lounge. but she was right there at my inquisition demanding more classes for me. My last conversation with the Financial person at the teacher school ended with the honest lady saying "Schools today are not like they were when you went to school; engineers can't take the chaos." Or the warehousing. Watch the documentary WAITING FOR SUPERMAN.

    1 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1