Customer Reviews for

Reilly's Luck

Average Rating 4.5
( 40 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2000

    Reillys Luck a winner.

    Although westerns can get a bit typical, Reillys Luck was a breath of fresh air. I was pleasantly surprised. Author Lamour comes at this book from a different angle, right from the start. We are watching the world from the eyes of a child. Excellent reading. A must read for western enthusiasts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    a good piece of literature

    A Review of Reilly¿s Luck In a time of outlaws, gamblers, and rifleman. Will Reilly be able to put aside his ways of being a gentleman, gambler, and a gunslinger for a boy who is in help. Reilly is a man who knows his odds and goes with them, but will taking in this frightened young boy help him or in the end hurt or maybe even get him killed? Reilly goes against everything he has ever done and takes the child in thinking he can help him. Reilly does everything he can too help the boy. This is the first time that Reilly has ever had anything to do with any child. Reilly has to change a lot of his ways since now he has a boy to worry about but will he be able to do it or will he let the boy go and return to his old ways of gambling, and being a gunslinger? Reilly has to make up his mind to raise the boy as his own and teach him the ways of being a gentlemen, gambler, and gunslinger or let the boy go. Reilly is a tough man but is he tough enough to just put the one that he has helped back on the streets just like his parents did to him?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    Excellent read -- never grows stale!

    Would love to see another writer of Louis L'Amour's caliber in the western genre, but not likely to happen these days, I suppose.

    Excellent story line, good detail and follow through, just overall worthwhile reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Angel to both

    Gem. Please dont tell him please! I really really do like him. Kels. Yeahh

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Gem

    I wont

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Yyyyyyy

    Bhhhhj

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    Good

    L'Amour as usual, good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Missy

    So im being left out? I c how it is then

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Diana

    Swallows moaning

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Danny

    Flips you over and slowly rubs my d i c k along your wet sli t.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    Great Story Teller

    I love Louis L'Amour. This is the first one I read and now own nearly all of his books. He spins formulaic yarns where the undeservedly oppressed good guy takes a beating, maintains his integrity, keeps fighting and wins in the end and gets the girl! A fool proof formula for me! This particular novel has a strong male influence in Will Reilly, who raises an abandoned boy who develops into a fine man and wreaks vengeance on Will Reilly's oppressors. Louis always champions strong character, values, and common decency and respect for his fellow man. Read and enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    LOVED IT!!

    Another Lamour awesome book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2012

    Magnificent

    Each L'Amour novel is just one more great read in a long list of superb stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2011

    Great Book

    Yet another great book by L'Amour....This may not be his best but it is still fun to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Well worthy, I like it a great deal

    I thought this book was pretty good, cool and interesting, it was well worthy to spend $5 bucks on a book that would keep you entertain at the airport waiting for your flight or at the hotel after a hard working day at the office on a business trip. I am going to look forward to buy more western books like this one. Good job Louis, you keep us all entertained.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Classic L'Amour - Great Storyline

    Will Reilly, professional gambler, gentleman, man of the world. Valentine Darrant, four years old, abandoned by his mother, with no one to care for him -- except Will Reilly. This exceptional and riveting story follows Val as he grows into an astute young man, learning so much of life and the world from this most unusual of mentors, whose violent demise he must now avenge. A real page turner, almost impossible to put down. A must read from one of America's premier Western storytellers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2010

    A Must Read

    First Western novel I ever read and could not put it down. I plan to read more of Louis L'Amour novels. Even when it ended I wanted to keep reading about the characters to see how their lives continued. Will Reilly seemed like a real person. This book should be made into a movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2009

    love louis l'amour

    just like most of louis l'amour books great reading very good once you start reading its hard to put book down reilly's luck is one of my top three books of louis l'amour along with ride the dark trail and high lonesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2