Customer Reviews for

The Reincarnationist

Average Rating 3.5
( 55 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

GREAT READ! GREAT CONCEPT

The Reincarnationist is a very fast-paced, suspenseful, exciting read. Others reviewers have written an excellent synopsis of the book, so I'd just add that after having read numerous books on reincarnation, as well as my own personal experience with the subject, I thou...
The Reincarnationist is a very fast-paced, suspenseful, exciting read. Others reviewers have written an excellent synopsis of the book, so I'd just add that after having read numerous books on reincarnation, as well as my own personal experience with the subject, I thought that Ms. Rose did her homework. Her characters show how our past lifetimes often intertwine with the present, and she brings fate and destiny into question. Are we fated to experience a specific outcome in this lifetime, or do we have freewill?
I agree with some comments that it was a bit difficult to follow several of the characters between lifetimes. I found myself asking, "Now, who is this again?" a couple of times. The ending felt abrupt, and left me wanting to know what happened to everyone else not in the final scene, but perhaps there will be a sequel?
You certainly don't need to know anything about reincarnation, or believe in it, to enjoy the book. Overall, the complex plot had a few holes, but it was still an engaging, thought-provoking, novel.

posted by Jessi-21 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Less than Thrilling

I read about a dozen chapters in this book, and realized it wasn't going to get any better. The writing is just plain mediocre, and the plot about a guy reliving a past life, including a love affair with a vestal virgin, is lame. And don't forget the 'secret treasure' ...
I read about a dozen chapters in this book, and realized it wasn't going to get any better. The writing is just plain mediocre, and the plot about a guy reliving a past life, including a love affair with a vestal virgin, is lame. And don't forget the 'secret treasure' that everyone wants - in other words, yet another Da Vinci Code wannabe. Wide margins and double spacing between lines are also clues that the publishers are trying to stretch a flimsy novel into more pages than it deserves. I'd give this one a pass.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    GREAT READ! GREAT CONCEPT

    The Reincarnationist is a very fast-paced, suspenseful, exciting read. Others reviewers have written an excellent synopsis of the book, so I'd just add that after having read numerous books on reincarnation, as well as my own personal experience with the subject, I thought that Ms. Rose did her homework. Her characters show how our past lifetimes often intertwine with the present, and she brings fate and destiny into question. Are we fated to experience a specific outcome in this lifetime, or do we have freewill? <BR/>I agree with some comments that it was a bit difficult to follow several of the characters between lifetimes. I found myself asking, "Now, who is this again?" a couple of times. The ending felt abrupt, and left me wanting to know what happened to everyone else not in the final scene, but perhaps there will be a sequel? <BR/>You certainly don't need to know anything about reincarnation, or believe in it, to enjoy the book. Overall, the complex plot had a few holes, but it was still an engaging, thought-provoking, novel.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Terrific, thought provoking thriller

    I stayed up late finishing this book and was left with a lot to thing about. The author did a seamless job of weaving together three stories from different centuries and told each tale with pathos and credibility. Highly recommended for readers who like suspense and smart fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2008

    Less than Thrilling

    I read about a dozen chapters in this book, and realized it wasn't going to get any better. The writing is just plain mediocre, and the plot about a guy reliving a past life, including a love affair with a vestal virgin, is lame. And don't forget the 'secret treasure' that everyone wants - in other words, yet another Da Vinci Code wannabe. Wide margins and double spacing between lines are also clues that the publishers are trying to stretch a flimsy novel into more pages than it deserves. I'd give this one a pass.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2008

    Reincarnationist

    Given the fact that the author can write, I'm not giving this book one star. But, as other reviewers here have pointed out, the astounding number of loose threads and totally disappointing ending 'or lack thereof' makes this a two star book. I'm sure this is going to be a series, but even that doesn't excuse such an untidy ending. There are other authors who manage to wrap things up while still leaving one or two things a cliffhanger. Rose wraps up almost nothing, hoping to drag the reader into further books, which I for one won't have the patience to read. If you like reincarnation and are into series that have no ending, pick this up, otherwise, find something else.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    An Ambitious Book

    "The Rein­car­na­tion­ist" by M. J. Rose is a fic­tional story involv­ing past lives and reli­gious myth. It is the first of a series, I bought this book because I'm on a book tour for the third one.

    While on an assign­ment in Rome, pho­to­jour­nal­ist Josh Ryder expe­ri­ences strange feel­ings of déjà vu and strange mem­o­ries of a pre­vi­ous life. Josh enlists the Pheonix Foun­da­tion, which spe­cial­izes in past life research, for help.

    Soon Josh gets involved with dis­cov­er­ing an ancient tomb which he feels con­nected to. His past life expe­ri­ences help him solve present day mur­ders involv­ing mys­ti­cal artifacts.


    If I had to choose one word to describe "The Rein­car­na­tion­ist" by M. J. Rose it would be "ambi­tious". Ms. Rose fills the plot of the book with many twists and turns, as well as expla­na­tion of the com­plex sub­ject and beliefs of rein­car­na­tion.

    The pro­tag­o­nist of the story, Josh Ryder, seems to suf­fer many black­outs in which he remem­bers his past life as a pagan priest named Julius liv­ing in 391 AD. These black­outs have to move the story along until Josh suc­cumbs to his fate which is dic­tated by karma.

    While I found the story of Julius, the pagan priest, inter­est­ing, present day nar­ra­tive threw me for a loop here and there. The many char­ac­ters which the author threw mer­ci­lessly at me seem to jum­ble up towards the last quar­ter of the book and I fig­ured out the mys­tery before I fin­ished half the story.

    Over­all I liked the book, I didn't have any epiphany regard­ing rein­car­na­tion but I cer­tainly appre­ci­ated the research the author did and learned a thing or two about the sub­ject in a fun and pleas­ant way. Ms. Rose also includes a "rec­om­mended read­ing" sec­tion at the end if one would like to inves­ti­gate rein­car­na­tion more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    What happened to this story?

    The book started out great and it had the potential to have some mind blowing twists in the plot but it just fell apart. The closer I got to the end the more I wondered how the author was gonna wrap it up so quickly. Well it never wrapped up, it was full of loose holes. This book does not deliver a good reincarnation story. The author actually spent more time on explicit sex than reincarnation.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2008

    Reincarnationist

    I found this book to be very poorly written, truly superficial, and totally unbelievable. Even all of that could be forgiven, however, if not for the truly horrible ending which left nothing wrapped up and made the entire book a complete waste of time. If you really feel compelled to read this, do yourself a favor and get it at the library. Better yet, do yourself an even bigger favor and skip the book entirely.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Loved this Novel and the Reincarnation Theme

    I really enjoyed this book and recommend it for light reading but especially for people like me who are intrigued by the idea of reincarnation. The characters were interesting and ones I cared about. I will be on the lookout for book 2 in the series and definitely want to read on to see what happens next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Amazing, heart-felt

    Love these kinds of stories!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2011

    Good Story

    I thought the idea behind the story was excellent but the book itself was confusing to follow. There was no transition from one chapter to another and the ending left me scratching my head. Is there a sequel?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All the right elements

    If there is such a thing as reincarnation, wouldn't it be wonderful to be able to tap into one's past lives? What if you had the power to do that? That question drives the plot of "The Reincarnationist." It has all the right elements -- mystery, suspense, romance. M.J. Rose was able to steer the storytelling away from being obvious and cliche. The ending is especially well played. I look forward to reading the rest of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Very interesting

    The Reincarnationist by M.J. Rose is a fast paced suspense about many lives that intertwine over centuries. Josh Ryder is a photojournalist who is caught in the blast of a bomb. Since his accident, he has been experiencing something he refers to as "lurches" in time. He is often taken back to early Christian Rome and a man named Julius. Is this man Julius really a past incarnation of the modern day Josh Ryder, or is Josh just losing his mind to hallucinations? On his journey to figure out what is going on with his sanity, Josh finds himself back in modern day Rome where he meets Professor Gabriella Chase.

    Professor Chase discovers an ancient Roman tomb believed to be the final resting place of a Vestal Virgin. From here everything gets turned upside down. Murder, kidnapping, and betrayal, and the mixing of several lives in various times keeps the main characters running in a race against the clock; both ancient and modern.

    This was a very interesting book. It explored the possibility of past lives and history repeating itself, while showing the interconnectedness of the characters. Are the villains always villains or can there be redemption for wrongs righted? And are the seemingly good really good?

    The easy prose and style of this writer made the story easy to read, and the character development was done fairly well. There were a couple of holes that I would have preferred to have filled in, but having more background wasn't integral to the story. Overall, I really liked this book.

    On a scale of 1-4, I give this book a 3, because of my desire to have more back story on a couple of characters, and because I would have preferred a more concrete ending.

    This book was published by Mira Books.
    ISBN: 978-0-7783-2420-1

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    "The Reincarnationist" by M.J. Rose, review by Patti Phillips

    A blinding flash from an explosion sends photojournalist Josh Ryder back into another era and into the life he left behind, over 1600 years ago. When he recovers from his near fatal injuries, he is back in the present, but his 21st century life has changed forever.

    "The Reincarnationist" takes the reader on a quest to get to the root of Josh's desperately disturbing images, a quest that uncovers a forbidden love in the time of ancient Rome and secrets which could change how the past merges with the present. Secrets for which people are willing to kill, no matter what the century.

    Meticulously researched, "The Reincarnationist" delivers. Whether you believe in reincarnation or not, you will be intrigued by the plotting, the characters and the flashbacks between the centuries. And, you will completely believe that love has the power to reach across the ages to bring answers to the future that must be revealed.

    I have a moviegoer's approach when reading a work of fiction. I see the action and hear the dialogue as if I'm sitting in a movie theater and I become immersed as if I'm one of the participants. If the scenes don't come alive for me, the author has left something on the editing floor.

    In the case of "The Reincarnationist," M.J. Rose has created an emotional, mental and visual canvas, a work easily transferred to the small or large screen. I hope that one day a movie producer will see the potential in this intelligent, fascinating tale. I'd love to have the DVD next to the book on my shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2010

    Could have been soooo much better!

    I was expecting so much more from this book. The characters were, to me, one dimensional, or too predictable. The plot and story line COULD have been so much more interesting had the author taken time to actually develop it, but I simply came away feeling, well, cheated. Probably will not purchase any of the other books. Sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    The Reincarnationist by M. J. Rose

    This is a very clever and very interesting book. The plot weaves through different eras and different stories to create a unique and intriguing story that captures one's attention and doesn't let go. I highly recommend this book for anybody who likes both history and intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the Reincarnationist, Series #1 - Awesome!

    Even if you find the subject of reincarnation uncomfortable, this book is a veritable history lesson....and the reader is right in the middle. the style is fast-paced, intelligent and never lets you lose interest. I'm definitely moving on to the next series books....couldn't put this one down!

    ZenReader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Awful book.

    The characters were so cookie-cutter and cliche that I had a hard time developing any real care about them. The reincarnation thing could've been played soooo much better. The plot was completely affected by the way that it was written. Flashing to characters from the relative beginning and then not seeing them until the end was confusing and unnecessary. There was a lot of unnecessary and confusing scenes. I got so frustrated that I gave up, and read the ending after going 3/4 of the way through it. SO CLICHE!!! The idea of this topic, and even the plot, I suppose, is awesome and original, but the writing, itself, destroyed the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Reincarnating your soul to believe

    This page-turning wonder delves squarely into the belief of reincarnation in such a smart way, even a non-believer would sit up & take notice. This book incouraged me to reach further, and nab it's sequel,"The Memorist", which is equally mesmorizing. Both books tap boldly into the reader's consciousness,provoking further thought into Einstein's theory of timelessness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2009

    Great writing ruined by unresolved ending

    This book was well written and extremely engaging. Unfortunately, the ending ruined the entire book. I knew the villain around page 250 and hoped it was something that was so obvious it had to be a red herring. Nope. The ending? Pointless. Things I was waiting to be resolved - including the main plot point of the book - are never resolved. Instead, the ending had a history that repeated itself that had already ended well the first time around. Why?

    I was planning on buying the next book but I've learned my lesson from this one. What's the point of writing a book and not resolving the main point of the story? This is so frustrating. I feel like I wasted time better spent watching paint dry. At least I know that at the end the paint will be dry. The paint is still wet on this book and I hate the shade that it developed into.

    If you like reading well written books that go nowhere, plots that are created to pointlessly be resolved and a highly unsatisfactory ending, this book's for you. Otherwise, head directly to the nearest Home Depot and buy that paint. One way or the other, it'll be dry at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What can I say about The Reincarnationist besides FABULOUS?

    After an accident in Rome, photojournalist Josh Ryder begins experiencing flashes of past memories?from another life, another era. As these flashes intensify, he's drawn back to the time of ancient Rome, Vestal Virgins and the mysterious Memory Stones. Through the eyes of Julius, he is reunited with a powerful love for Sabina, the Vestal Virgin he has sworn to protect and would willingly die for, a woman whom would be buried alive if their secret love were ever discovered.

    In present day Rome, Josh assists at the Phoenix Foundation, an organization that explores and researches claims of reincarnation or incidences of memory flashes, especially in children. Led by impulse, he finds himself at the edge of a freshly unearthed tomb and witnesses a murder.

    His search for answers, for the Memory Stones stolen from the tomb of the Vestal Virgin Sabina, for the truth about what happened in ancient Rome, leads him to two women?Professor Gabriella Chase and Rachel Palmer, a young woman who is haunted by her own past life memories.

    Is either of these women the Sabina he once knew? And will Josh ever reconcile his past with his present? These are just some of the questions I found myself asking along the way. I found the premise of this novel intriguing. I couldn't put the book down once I started it.

    Author M.J. Rose tells a compelling story that weaves history and religion into a fateful adventure filled with intrigue, romance, murder and deception. Her writing is detailed but not overloaded, just the right mix of fact and fiction to make me a believer and her characters are ones I'll remember for a long time. The flashes of past and present are so seamlessly woven yet clearly defined, that I was never jolted from the story, but swept along and taken on a ride that left me breathless by the end.

    I highly recommend this novel to anyone interested in the theory of reincarnation or anyone who enjoys a suspenseful, thrilling journey to the past. It would also make an exceptional read for a book club.

    The Reincarnationist is the inspiration for a new television series that will be airing soon. I can't wait to watch Past Life. If it is anything like M.J. Rose's novel, it is going to be an adventure of a lifetime.

    ~Cheryl Kaye Tardif,
    author of The River

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 55 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3