Customer Reviews for

The Reincarnationist

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

GREAT READ! GREAT CONCEPT

The Reincarnationist is a very fast-paced, suspenseful, exciting read. Others reviewers have written an excellent synopsis of the book, so I'd just add that after having read numerous books on reincarnation, as well as my own personal experience with the subject, I thou...
The Reincarnationist is a very fast-paced, suspenseful, exciting read. Others reviewers have written an excellent synopsis of the book, so I'd just add that after having read numerous books on reincarnation, as well as my own personal experience with the subject, I thought that Ms. Rose did her homework. Her characters show how our past lifetimes often intertwine with the present, and she brings fate and destiny into question. Are we fated to experience a specific outcome in this lifetime, or do we have freewill?
I agree with some comments that it was a bit difficult to follow several of the characters between lifetimes. I found myself asking, "Now, who is this again?" a couple of times. The ending felt abrupt, and left me wanting to know what happened to everyone else not in the final scene, but perhaps there will be a sequel?
You certainly don't need to know anything about reincarnation, or believe in it, to enjoy the book. Overall, the complex plot had a few holes, but it was still an engaging, thought-provoking, novel.

posted by Jessi-21 on January 9, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Less than Thrilling

I read about a dozen chapters in this book, and realized it wasn't going to get any better. The writing is just plain mediocre, and the plot about a guy reliving a past life, including a love affair with a vestal virgin, is lame. And don't forget the 'secret treasure' ...
I read about a dozen chapters in this book, and realized it wasn't going to get any better. The writing is just plain mediocre, and the plot about a guy reliving a past life, including a love affair with a vestal virgin, is lame. And don't forget the 'secret treasure' that everyone wants - in other words, yet another Da Vinci Code wannabe. Wide margins and double spacing between lines are also clues that the publishers are trying to stretch a flimsy novel into more pages than it deserves. I'd give this one a pass.

posted by Anonymous on April 15, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    Terrific, thought provoking thriller

    I stayed up late finishing this book and was left with a lot to thing about. The author did a seamless job of weaving together three stories from different centuries and told each tale with pathos and credibility. Highly recommended for readers who like suspense and smart fiction.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Amazing, heart-felt

    Love these kinds of stories!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    "The Reincarnationist" by M.J. Rose, review by Patti Phillips

    A blinding flash from an explosion sends photojournalist Josh Ryder back into another era and into the life he left behind, over 1600 years ago. When he recovers from his near fatal injuries, he is back in the present, but his 21st century life has changed forever.

    "The Reincarnationist" takes the reader on a quest to get to the root of Josh's desperately disturbing images, a quest that uncovers a forbidden love in the time of ancient Rome and secrets which could change how the past merges with the present. Secrets for which people are willing to kill, no matter what the century.

    Meticulously researched, "The Reincarnationist" delivers. Whether you believe in reincarnation or not, you will be intrigued by the plotting, the characters and the flashbacks between the centuries. And, you will completely believe that love has the power to reach across the ages to bring answers to the future that must be revealed.

    I have a moviegoer's approach when reading a work of fiction. I see the action and hear the dialogue as if I'm sitting in a movie theater and I become immersed as if I'm one of the participants. If the scenes don't come alive for me, the author has left something on the editing floor.

    In the case of "The Reincarnationist," M.J. Rose has created an emotional, mental and visual canvas, a work easily transferred to the small or large screen. I hope that one day a movie producer will see the potential in this intelligent, fascinating tale. I'd love to have the DVD next to the book on my shelf.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    The Reincarnationist by M. J. Rose

    This is a very clever and very interesting book. The plot weaves through different eras and different stories to create a unique and intriguing story that captures one's attention and doesn't let go. I highly recommend this book for anybody who likes both history and intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    the Reincarnationist, Series #1 - Awesome!

    Even if you find the subject of reincarnation uncomfortable, this book is a veritable history lesson....and the reader is right in the middle. the style is fast-paced, intelligent and never lets you lose interest. I'm definitely moving on to the next series books....couldn't put this one down!

    ZenReader

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What can I say about The Reincarnationist besides FABULOUS?

    After an accident in Rome, photojournalist Josh Ryder begins experiencing flashes of past memories?from another life, another era. As these flashes intensify, he's drawn back to the time of ancient Rome, Vestal Virgins and the mysterious Memory Stones. Through the eyes of Julius, he is reunited with a powerful love for Sabina, the Vestal Virgin he has sworn to protect and would willingly die for, a woman whom would be buried alive if their secret love were ever discovered.

    In present day Rome, Josh assists at the Phoenix Foundation, an organization that explores and researches claims of reincarnation or incidences of memory flashes, especially in children. Led by impulse, he finds himself at the edge of a freshly unearthed tomb and witnesses a murder.

    His search for answers, for the Memory Stones stolen from the tomb of the Vestal Virgin Sabina, for the truth about what happened in ancient Rome, leads him to two women?Professor Gabriella Chase and Rachel Palmer, a young woman who is haunted by her own past life memories.

    Is either of these women the Sabina he once knew? And will Josh ever reconcile his past with his present? These are just some of the questions I found myself asking along the way. I found the premise of this novel intriguing. I couldn't put the book down once I started it.

    Author M.J. Rose tells a compelling story that weaves history and religion into a fateful adventure filled with intrigue, romance, murder and deception. Her writing is detailed but not overloaded, just the right mix of fact and fiction to make me a believer and her characters are ones I'll remember for a long time. The flashes of past and present are so seamlessly woven yet clearly defined, that I was never jolted from the story, but swept along and taken on a ride that left me breathless by the end.

    I highly recommend this novel to anyone interested in the theory of reincarnation or anyone who enjoys a suspenseful, thrilling journey to the past. It would also make an exceptional read for a book club.

    The Reincarnationist is the inspiration for a new television series that will be airing soon. I can't wait to watch Past Life. If it is anything like M.J. Rose's novel, it is going to be an adventure of a lifetime.

    ~Cheryl Kaye Tardif,
    author of The River

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Escape

    Fun book, great escape reading, nice change of pace. I gets old having the same authors over and over on Barnes and Noble. Bought the book for two friends they also enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    OMG I Can't Put It Down

    I am senior in high school and I can't put this thing down. I just bought it yesterday and I am already on chapter 32. I might have to give up playing football because it takes my whole day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing book!

    This book is a good mixture of fiction and Eastern philosophy. Using the concept of reincarnation as its basis, the author has managed to create lively and invigorating characters that touch you as they journey through this life and several past ones on a journey of discovery. The book was well written with highly believable characters. I would recommend this book to anyone with any interest in the ideas of reincarnation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2008

    Discovering MJ Rose!

    It was about this time last year that I first read MJ Rose¿s book ¿The Reincarnationist¿, and I absolutely loved this story. The characters are the ones you cherish; the ones you think about long after you have read the last page. The setting alternates between the present day and the past, inside New York City and Rome. The story is a mystery of secrets, rituals, religious ceremonies, murders, greed, family loyalty and love that not only take place within the past yet in the present as well. I cannot imagine the extensive research MJ had to do in order to have at her fingertips the wealth of information she shares with us about the history of Rome, concerning beliefs on witches, the church, magic and burial customs. Along with information pertaining to the present day trade of selling and acquiring works of art. What captivated me was that the characters were not merely living their own lives yet they experienced flash backs to a life they lived many centuries prior. Reincarnation has always fascinated me and MJ¿s story telling skills make it easy to believe that if reincarnation is real, perhaps it does occur the way her story reads. When I finished ¿The Reincarnationist¿, I felt lost, for this was a book I had not wanted to end even though I had read it like I was in a race to the end! Imagine my excitement when I found out that this is going to be a series, for the second book ¿The Memorist¿, hits book shelves this week!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2008

    i loved it

    it was a great book and i couldnt put it down. i recommended it to all my friends

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2008

    Fabuous book, Fabulous Ending

    This book was an amazing page turner with an ending I totally didn't see coming. The writing was so riviting and the story was amazing. It made me think long and hard about reincarnation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2008

    OUTSTANDING BOOK AND READ!

    I just picked this book up 3 days ago and I finished it in just 48 hours. It was the best read I have had in a long time. I can not even recommend this book highly enough. The end shocked me and left me wanting more¿. It¿s worth every penny of every dollar spent to buy it! PICK IT UP TODAY!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    I love books that make you WANT to stay up all night...

    This book did just that. I couldn't put this book down. I was skeptical at first but I LOVED the story. It really made me think about reincarnation. The Reincarnationist is really a great 'What if' mystery that surpasses Dan Brown's The Da Vinci Code.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2007

    Riveting!

    For true entertainment--thrills, chills, and a wild ride--The Reincarnationist fills the bill and then some. ***** Since his near-death caused by a suicide bomber, photo-journalist Josh Ryder's life has become impossible. Gone are his job, his wife, and all he knew. Without warning, Josh becomes Julius, a Roman priest a Roman priest in 391AD, fighting for not only his life but that of his lover's, as well as the sacred rites they've held holy for thousands of years. Just as quickly, he returns to present day as Josh. ***** His world is even more confused when an archeologist who's excavating a tomb of a Vestal Virgin, is murdered. Josh describes the killer to Rome's police, but is held as a suspect. The beautiful archeologist Gabriella Chase gets him released from prison, but then he's caught up in a web of love, both past and present, murder, extortion, and deceit. ***** The pages fly by as Josh and Gabriella are tossed from one mystery to another, sometimes fighting for their very lives. I thoroughly enjoyed The Reincarnationist from cover to cover and I highly recommend this book. Take a comfy seat and let M.J. Rose unravel this mysterious adventure for you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Superb storytelling

    In modern day Rome, a terrorist bomb explodes near photographer Josh Ryder, but he fortunately survives the attack. However, his reaction shakes him to the core of soul. He has visions of a pagan priest Julius willing to die to protect the holy statues of his gods as well as keeping his virginal lover safe against the sanctimonious Roman emperor¿s directed implementation by the sword of Christianity in AD 391.-------------- Six months later, the Phoenix Foundation leads a mission to study pagan memory stones found in a tomb that allegedly can cause past life regression incidents if true this will affirm the reincarnation theory and cause doubts re the major three religions. Josh who wonders if he was once Julius has joined the expedition. However, the Foundation is not the only group interested in the stones as others are willing to kill to take these artifacts away.----------------- THE REINCARNATIONIST is an enjoyable Da Vinci code derivative that is refreshed by the premise of past lives being the theme that could destroy the Jewish-Christian concept of the heavenly afterlife. Josh is a fascinating protagonist as he ponders whether he was once Julius and hopes the stones can do what they allegedly are said to be able to perform so that he learns the truth. M.J. Rose provides a strong thriller that will please her fans and those who enjoy a brisk invigorating Brownian like story line.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2