BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Relativity: The Special and General Theory

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book made Relativity intuitive.

Six years of college physics courses never made relativity intuitively understandable for me. Academic texts concentrate on mathematical descriptions, manipulations and proofs to present theories. Einstein, in simple text, leads us through his very logical and underst...
Six years of college physics courses never made relativity intuitively understandable for me. Academic texts concentrate on mathematical descriptions, manipulations and proofs to present theories. Einstein, in simple text, leads us through his very logical and understandable thought process, which led him to the relativity theories. I could manipulate the mathematics of relativity and come up with answers but never really had an intuitive feel for what really is going on till I read this book. I only wish I had read this first before plowing through graduate physics courses. The only other book I have ever read that was more enlightening was the Bible.

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bad conversion to e-book.

Would have probably been a good read, but the equations are all missing. Everywhere you expect to see an equation, is a tag that says: eq. 'n': file eq'n'.gif

posted by 5958105 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    This book made Relativity intuitive.

    Six years of college physics courses never made relativity intuitively understandable for me. Academic texts concentrate on mathematical descriptions, manipulations and proofs to present theories. Einstein, in simple text, leads us through his very logical and understandable thought process, which led him to the relativity theories. I could manipulate the mathematics of relativity and come up with answers but never really had an intuitive feel for what really is going on till I read this book. I only wish I had read this first before plowing through graduate physics courses. The only other book I have ever read that was more enlightening was the Bible.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    Bad conversion to e-book.

    Would have probably been a good read, but the equations are all missing.

    Everywhere you expect to see an equation, is a tag that says:

    eq. 'n': file eq'n'.gif

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    fatally flawed version - equations missing.

    While this is obviously an excellent book that everyone should have to read at some point in their life, this version suffers---as others have warned---from a glitch that fails to print the majority of the equations. DO NOT BUY THIS VERSION, find a complete version somewhere else.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    equations missing

    equations missing on android. Don't spend a penny on this version; get it free (with equations) as an android play store book.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Difficult to enjoy

    Text conversion fail. Spend enough time translating to lose the author... not good for this kind of book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    Equations do not render (references a .gif file) on PC app or on

    Equations do not render (references a .gif file) on PC app or on the Nook Glowlight

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2003

    do not be content with just this book

    I hate bashing titles-- especially someone with as great an intellect as A. Einstein, but I would rather those wanting to learn about relativity not take the short road nor try to learn it half way. This book is no way an introduction of any sort. It's that snack that ruins the dinner. Herman Weyl's Space-Time-Matter is a difficult book to follow, but there is enough philosophy there to hold your attention. Many times we focus on Einstein as a person when we should be more interested in the theory-- especially the general theory.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Couldnt

    Understand anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Handbook for Relativity

    Absolutely essential for the millenium.The door,the lock,and the key for theoretical physics.It opens a window,for the layman,about his options in the real world.'May it provide someone with a few hours of suggestive thought'..mfd

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    This is a very good book. Just got it yesterday and I'm already

    This is a very good book. Just got it yesterday and I'm already about halfway done. I dearly recommend this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    Hard to read

    Text conversion failed horribly , unable to get over mispelled words

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    ?

    I love him

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    How could you not give this 5 stars?!

    Seriously. Read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Fascinating, as new today as it was when written

    An excellent start for those who are interested in relativity. Would be an excellent book for science teachers in high school to discuss with their students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing and easy-to-read!

    I found this fascinating. This is not written for those with a PhD. It is technical, but understandable and compelling. The reason I include it on this list is twofold:

    * It is a great example of perspective and reevaluating what you think to be true
    * It is also a great example of taking a complicated or very different idea and logically walking the reader through the reasoning to an inevitable conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting to read Albert Einsteins own (translated) words.

    This book avoids the mathematics required for a complete grasp of the subject. Without the more advanced mathematics necessary for a complete understanding of this subject, I must be satisfied with trying to understand the basics of the theory. A few current books advance a few steps forward in explaining relativity subjects. Nevertheless it is very interesting to read Einsteins own explanation of relativity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2009

    Surprisingly well-written.

    Though this treatise deals with a difficult subject, Einstein gains obvious benefit from his background as a teacher. A bit redundant, and at times overly reliant on quantification and graphical representation of research findings, I would still recommend. A good primer for early astrophysics research.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    Superb

    This book makes you wonder. This man was such a genius. How could one comprehedn such amazing things? Well this book is sure a good way to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    Timeless

    I first read this tome in the Perth Amboy library in 1966 while I was studying physics and calculus in honors high school. I still remember the "eureka!" effect of understanding both the verbal and mathmatical exposition of Einsein's work. It was a special treat to hear it in the words of this persistent genius. It still gives relevance to theory and math concepts for me which is why at 53 I've come looking for it again. The biggest tiny book I've ever read and understood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 78 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4