Customer Reviews for

Relativity: The Special and the General Theory (Barnes & Noble Library of Essential Reading)

Average Rating 3.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This book made Relativity intuitive.

Six years of college physics courses never made relativity intuitively understandable for me. Academic texts concentrate on mathematical descriptions, manipulations and proofs to present theories. Einstein, in simple text, leads us through his very logical and underst...
Six years of college physics courses never made relativity intuitively understandable for me. Academic texts concentrate on mathematical descriptions, manipulations and proofs to present theories. Einstein, in simple text, leads us through his very logical and understandable thought process, which led him to the relativity theories. I could manipulate the mathematics of relativity and come up with answers but never really had an intuitive feel for what really is going on till I read this book. I only wish I had read this first before plowing through graduate physics courses. The only other book I have ever read that was more enlightening was the Bible.

posted by Anonymous on March 18, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bad conversion to e-book.

Would have probably been a good read, but the equations are all missing. Everywhere you expect to see an equation, is a tag that says: eq. 'n': file eq'n'.gif

posted by 5958105 on January 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2003

    This book made Relativity intuitive.

    Six years of college physics courses never made relativity intuitively understandable for me. Academic texts concentrate on mathematical descriptions, manipulations and proofs to present theories. Einstein, in simple text, leads us through his very logical and understandable thought process, which led him to the relativity theories. I could manipulate the mathematics of relativity and come up with answers but never really had an intuitive feel for what really is going on till I read this book. I only wish I had read this first before plowing through graduate physics courses. The only other book I have ever read that was more enlightening was the Bible.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Couldnt

    Understand anything.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A Handbook for Relativity

    Absolutely essential for the millenium.The door,the lock,and the key for theoretical physics.It opens a window,for the layman,about his options in the real world.'May it provide someone with a few hours of suggestive thought'..mfd

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    How could you not give this 5 stars?!

    Seriously. Read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2010

    Fascinating, as new today as it was when written

    An excellent start for those who are interested in relativity. Would be an excellent book for science teachers in high school to discuss with their students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing and easy-to-read!

    I found this fascinating. This is not written for those with a PhD. It is technical, but understandable and compelling. The reason I include it on this list is twofold:

    * It is a great example of perspective and reevaluating what you think to be true
    * It is also a great example of taking a complicated or very different idea and logically walking the reader through the reasoning to an inevitable conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2004

    Superb

    This book makes you wonder. This man was such a genius. How could one comprehedn such amazing things? Well this book is sure a good way to start.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2003

    Timeless

    I first read this tome in the Perth Amboy library in 1966 while I was studying physics and calculus in honors high school. I still remember the "eureka!" effect of understanding both the verbal and mathmatical exposition of Einsein's work. It was a special treat to hear it in the words of this persistent genius. It still gives relevance to theory and math concepts for me which is why at 53 I've come looking for it again. The biggest tiny book I've ever read and understood.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2000

    My review

    I just think that the book is a very well-written, and easilly understandable piece of Albert Einstein`s genious. In-fact, it is so easy to comprehend, that even a twelve-year-old like myself may understand it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    A great read!

    This is a wonderful book for any person willing take some time to read it. It's perfect for those long essays and in depth reports for college and high school. Defenitely explains everything you need to know about reletivity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2000

    Albert Einstien

    I think that this was a great book it helped me understand his special and general theory of relativity alot better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2