Customer Reviews for

Release Me (Stark Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 627 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(312)

4 Star

(192)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Much more beautifully crafted than that other ER book ;)

ABOUT THE BOOK:
For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I c...
ABOUT THE BOOK:
For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.

Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

REVIEW: This was my first book by J. Kenner and it definitely won’t be my last. I am bound by my honesty to people following my reviews, so I’m going to give it to you straight.

I was a bit leery heading into this seeing as it has had so much comparison to 50 Shades. It’s not like I didn’t like 50 Shades, cause I did – to a point, but more so because there seem to be a LOT of books coming out right now all claiming the same thing. This book is very similar to all those books; however, it is written very nicely and much, much better than the original.

That being said I took off a star as there seemed to be a few things missing from the character development in the story, but I’m hoping all of it will come back in book 2, as the ending simply gives that fact away. At least I hope so…too many ties are left undone at the end.

The romance and erotic scenes between these two were very hot and I love how Damien has been able to break down the self-conscious tendencies she seems to have from the beginning of the story. I would love to see more depth of the characters instead of so much sex, but still it was all very well written and did keep me on the edge of my seat, much like Hurricane Sandy did.

I give it four out of five stars for a job well done and look forward to adding J. Kenner to my stalking pile.

posted by DComfort on November 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

74 out of 93 people found this review helpful.

Nothing New!

I don't understand why writers feel the need to write books so similar to Fifty Shades & Bared to You ( great books by the way!) . I have already read Fifty Shades & Bared to You, and am honestly tired of the "rich, powerful man with a troubled past and a submissive wom...
I don't understand why writers feel the need to write books so similar to Fifty Shades & Bared to You ( great books by the way!) . I have already read Fifty Shades & Bared to You, and am honestly tired of the "rich, powerful man with a troubled past and a submissive woman who also happens to have her own share of insecurities" like seriously come up with an original creative plot!!

posted by BeautifulLady on January 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Ok read

    Not a to bad of a read. Not crazy about a certain "C" word that is written. Took me awhile to get into the story. Not sure it was worth what I paid.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Would definitely recommend it to all I know....

    Would definitely recommend it to all I know....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Great Book!  

    Great Book!  

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Good read

    I enjoyed the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Do not compare it to fifty.

    I was very disappointed. It kept my attention, but it was not really what I was hoping for. I didn't expect it to be identical to Fifty Shades, but after reading it, I realized that was what I was hoping for. Sure, Stark and Grey have a few similarities, but still shouldn't be compared. If you want to read something like Fifty after you have already read it, just reread it. The sex, the growth in the relationship, and really the entire storyline is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Recommend

    It as is good as 50 Shades of Grey. Although it seems like there is A LOT of Sex scene instead of content of the story. Still a good read and would read it again and recommend to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    No real storyline

    I love a good romance. And while this had the billionaire with emotional issues &some serious BDSM, I couldn't get into the story. I had to force myself to finish the book. I love the fifty books & crossfire series & this book just didn't have the same vibe. It was mostly sex with no real story. I don't know what direction the author plans on taking the series & I will not be buying any more to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    A little too much!

    For my own taste, it was a little too much and not enough story. I will not say it was not a good book, it was scattered. Bought all three books and it was pretty much the same in all. Some will love it and some will not...I did not love it. This is probably a generic review but I would say read it and judge for yourself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Read this before?

    Finally got around to reading this and almost felt I was rereading 50 Shades or The Crossfire Series bc this book was so similiar. Good, but predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2013

    was expecting it to be better

    was expecting it to be better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    A knockoff

    Althouh I did like the book for the most part, there were way too many similarities to 50 shades of grey. Wish authors would quit trying to copy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Not Fifty

    I read Claim Me so I had to read this one too, but again tried too hard to be like Fifty Shades

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Anonymous

    Enjoyed the book. Looking forward to book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Good book!

    I enjoyed this book. I especially liked the character, Nikki. She is a real character and not fake. I am in the middle of the second installment of this series and so far I am disappointed. This book however is a decent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Alright Read!

    Would have liked a little less erotica and more substance.
    LA-TXN

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Too imitational of other books in this genre.

    I felt like I had read this book before. The names where different, but the story line was parallel to other books I have read of this particular subject matter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    This is not 50 shades

    Not my cup of tea, not the best thing i have ever read but certainly not the worse. I will not be reading the next installment....just did not connect with either of the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Good but a tad bizarre

    She runs from him so he won't find her scars, but agrees to humiliate herself and screw him over by agreeing to pose nude for a portrait he will pay her for? And she demands no airbrushing? What's wrong with saying, hey i have these scars but if you still want me to pose you can airbrush them. And then she agrees to get into bed with him too? Huh? Then he actually wants the portrait. Imagine putting up a huge canvas of a nude model with apparently quite prominent scarring, even if he did it out of love, people would realize that and guess who the model was, which is something she doesn't want.
    This honestly made no sense to me but i like the book anyway, go figure. It's also strange that she is supposed to be strong and normal, but the cutting of her skin and then chopping up her hair shows a very troubled person, esp since there were no drugs involved when she hacks her hair off. He just acts like that's normal for a stressed person to do and does not seem to question her sanity.
    You wonder why no one tells the author how weird these things are before the book goes out. It was very confusing about the portrait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For the people that have read either the Fifty Shades or the





    For the people that have read either the Fifty Shades or the Crossfire series this may feel like a déjà vu remix, because of the similarities. Unresolved issues from
     childhood, possessiveness, stalking, dominating, intense angst and intimacy. Let's not forget about the half truths and secrets. So many secrets. Since I enjoyed
     both of the previous stated series I decided to devour this one. I actually lost sleep attempting to get to the next chapter. I could not put it down. The story felt rushed
     in the beginning, but somehow dragged in the end. As if Ms. Kenner realized midway that this story should be savored.

    " I’m going to make you beg for it. I’m going to claim you. I’m going to tease you. I’m going to torment you. And you’re going to come for me like you've never come
    in your life.”

    Damien Stark 30yr old reclusive, former tennis star reinvents himself after making a few wise investments. He trades in his racket in for a suit, becoming a
    billionaire entrepreneur. Mr. Stark is a private individual. He goes to great lengths to keep his personal life his own and his dark past well hidden. He's sexy,
    demanding, driven, and knows exactly what he wants. Which is the one and only Nikki.

    Nikki Fairchild former pageant participant recently relocated from Texas to California. She has her own demons and unpleasant past that she must deal with,
    but manages to hold her own. Currently she is selling herself short by being an assistant, when she should be doing more considering her educational
    background. She's also drawn to Damien, but her secrets keep her from opening up.

    "He’s right, damn him. He’s right. I want this, I want this, I really shouldn't want this."

    The two encounter each other at an art after some small talk mixed with flirting and drinks things become hot and heavy for the two.The development of the
     relationship told in the span of a few days supplying the angst and drama I so crave. The erotica scenes in my opinion were rather mild BDSM and nicely done.
    On some level I wished that I didn't already read the FSOG or Crossfire series or at least allowed enough time so that I wouldn't compare this title to those. I'm
    sure some will not even give this book a try because of that same reason. The ending did imply that there is much left unsaid and questions that I'm burning to
    have answered.

    Overall the plot kept my attention and on the edge of my seat to find out what everyone is hiding. So as soon as the follow up to this series become available I will
     be all over it. I definitely recommend this to the fans of both E. L. James and Sylvia Day with the reminder to go I'm with an open mind. Yes this story is somewhat
    similar, but it also has its own twist. So if you are a fan of the either mention series than you should defiantly give Release Me a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    This book is truly nothing like Fifty Shades of Grey. The charac

    This book is truly nothing like Fifty Shades of Grey. The characters are different and really stand their own. I truly enjoyed it and can't wait for the conclusions. I was left hanging by the last chapter and I want to know what Nikki's ex-boss has up his slimy sleeve.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4