Customer Reviews for

Release Me (Stark Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 636 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(319)

4 Star

(194)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(28)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

43 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Much more beautifully crafted than that other ER book ;)

ABOUT THE BOOK:
For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I c...
ABOUT THE BOOK:
For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.

Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

REVIEW: This was my first book by J. Kenner and it definitely won’t be my last. I am bound by my honesty to people following my reviews, so I’m going to give it to you straight.

I was a bit leery heading into this seeing as it has had so much comparison to 50 Shades. It’s not like I didn’t like 50 Shades, cause I did – to a point, but more so because there seem to be a LOT of books coming out right now all claiming the same thing. This book is very similar to all those books; however, it is written very nicely and much, much better than the original.

That being said I took off a star as there seemed to be a few things missing from the character development in the story, but I’m hoping all of it will come back in book 2, as the ending simply gives that fact away. At least I hope so…too many ties are left undone at the end.

The romance and erotic scenes between these two were very hot and I love how Damien has been able to break down the self-conscious tendencies she seems to have from the beginning of the story. I would love to see more depth of the characters instead of so much sex, but still it was all very well written and did keep me on the edge of my seat, much like Hurricane Sandy did.

I give it four out of five stars for a job well done and look forward to adding J. Kenner to my stalking pile.

posted by DComfort on November 4, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

75 out of 94 people found this review helpful.

Nothing New!

I don't understand why writers feel the need to write books so similar to Fifty Shades & Bared to You ( great books by the way!) . I have already read Fifty Shades & Bared to You, and am honestly tired of the "rich, powerful man with a troubled past and a submissive wom...
I don't understand why writers feel the need to write books so similar to Fifty Shades & Bared to You ( great books by the way!) . I have already read Fifty Shades & Bared to You, and am honestly tired of the "rich, powerful man with a troubled past and a submissive woman who also happens to have her own share of insecurities" like seriously come up with an original creative plot!!

posted by BeautifulLady on January 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted November 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Much more beautifully crafted than that other ER book ;)

    ABOUT THE BOOK:
    For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.

    He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.

    Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

    Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

    But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

    Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

    REVIEW: This was my first book by J. Kenner and it definitely won’t be my last. I am bound by my honesty to people following my reviews, so I’m going to give it to you straight.

    I was a bit leery heading into this seeing as it has had so much comparison to 50 Shades. It’s not like I didn’t like 50 Shades, cause I did – to a point, but more so because there seem to be a LOT of books coming out right now all claiming the same thing. This book is very similar to all those books; however, it is written very nicely and much, much better than the original.

    That being said I took off a star as there seemed to be a few things missing from the character development in the story, but I’m hoping all of it will come back in book 2, as the ending simply gives that fact away. At least I hope so…too many ties are left undone at the end.

    The romance and erotic scenes between these two were very hot and I love how Damien has been able to break down the self-conscious tendencies she seems to have from the beginning of the story. I would love to see more depth of the characters instead of so much sex, but still it was all very well written and did keep me on the edge of my seat, much like Hurricane Sandy did.

    I give it four out of five stars for a job well done and look forward to adding J. Kenner to my stalking pile.

    43 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great book!

    The next book will be out in July 2013 and the third December 2013. I hate waiting also! My only complaint is it is kinda short. Only 283 pages, good book though.

    20 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    4

    Everyone is always comparing their erotic books to 50 Shades and it drives me nuts. But this time, they're actually right. For the first time in awhile, a book finally captured the hot factor of 50 Shades, but also the love and vulnerability in the story, without feeling forced and copied. A lot of authors try to emulate the same James love formula, but they all fall flat. Bared To You was a prime example of this. While it was good, especially the caliber of writing, it felt like it was trying to wear a 50 halloween costume and ended looking like a classy drag queen. While it was entertaining and Day's writing was top notch, it lacked something. This book is comparable to 50, yet unique. I can't wait for the sequel.

    My only con: the ending was weird for me. Nikki went a little too far. And that's all I'll say so there are no spoliers.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    I honestly don¿t know where to start in reviewing this book beca

    I honestly don’t know where to start in reviewing this book because I was mind-blown. 

    I’m still grappling for words but let me start with this: Move over Christian Grey, Damien Stark has come to play!

    Story-wise, this book utilizes the exact same formula as E. L. James’ Fifty Shades, but only it’s well-written, well-paced and the characters are more relatable. This book is exactly what fans of Fifty Shades should seek out if ever they need a fix for their erotica addiction.

    Character-wise, Damien Stark is no Christian Grey, but of course, there are similarities: they’re both filthy rich, both dominant, both possessive and both go after what they want with wild abandon.

    As for Nikki Fairchild, well, she is a far cry from Anastasia Steele. I personally like Nikki better than Anastasia because she’s a perfect mix of courage and vulnerability, whereas Anastasia is just, I don’t know… confused?

    What I liked about this book is that the romance between Damien and Nikki is believable. We see the undeniable attraction between them but they don’t do the deed immediately like rabbits gone sexually rabid. There is a rising action leading to the actual thing, and that makes everything believable. 

    Also, I really appreciate Nikki’s well-fleshed-out inner conflict and reservations about her dealings with Damien. Like I said, she’s a perfect mix of courage and vulnerability.

    I will not comment on the sex scenes in this book. Yes, they are hot, as most erotic sex scenes are, but like I said, I will not comment on them because I always find myself desensitized to sex scenes after reading an erotica. I usually just skim over them and move on to the next scene. 

    All in all, I really liked reading this book. I think it’s better than Fifty Shades. Also, at the end part of the book, it gives little tip-offs about what could be potential problems in having a possessive billionaire as a boyfriend, which I think, is a source of conflict for the next installment of the book.

    I highly recommend this book to fans of erotic romances and even for readers looking for their Fifty Shades fix!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    My new favorite kind of read

    After reading 50 shades last year, I have had an obsession with reading romantic/love stories. Some I have loved, some not......this one is a love. It is 50 Shades ish in the fact that there is a powerful, weathly younger man wanting a beautfil younger woman. However, he is less demanding and she is less than perfect herself. I will definately be reading the rest in this series. I would recommend giving it a shot.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2013

    Couldn't put it down!  Looking forward to book #2!

    Couldn't put it down!  Looking forward to book #2!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Great book!

    Great book!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Loved it!

    Enjoyed this book from start to finish.Please let there be a second book!!And really soon!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    3rd place

    This series falls into a solid 3rd behind Crossfire and 50 Shades. I read them very quick but the plot is not quite as developed as the other series. There are A LOT of similarities to Crossfire a bit too many, but if you love the other series as I did you will still really like reading these.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Check it out! You won't put it down!

    Not as kinky as the Fifty Shades of Gray Trilogy and not as emotional damaged and scarred as the Crossfire Series, but there is some emotional damage with this couple. Mystery surrounding their romance, secrets that needs to be revealed...enjoyed the book so much I bought the second one Complete Me. I am waiting on the third book to read how everything comes together.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    I can't wait for the second book

    This book was great; I loved it from the beginning. It does have a kind of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You vibe, but not completely. I think the thing that makes the book different is that Damien’s infatuation with Nikki is something that brought them together from their past. The fact that both of them has had bad lives I believe is what makes them human and easier to relate to and the fact that he is rich is what makes up read the book. Honestly, who wants to read about two broke people rolling around in the bedroom. Wealth is intriguing, which is the reason that all three books have rich men. I will recommend this book to anyone who loves a good love story with a twist.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Great read. Impressive can't wait for the next.
    Just the way I like it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Good story line!

    Hope there's a pt 2 coming soon!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Cannot wait to read more! First of all, I won't go into much


    Cannot wait to read more!


    First of all, I won't go into much detail and tell you what the book is about. You get the book description and that should be enough. Why? Because (for me) it makes me want to read the book even more. The less I know, the more I want to read on my own.

    Nikki Fairchild lives in L.A. but originally from Texas and she just started working for a business who comes up with new technology. Her boss is sleazy!
    Damien Stark owns his own business and is a part of a educational foundation. They both meet at a party (where Nikki is supposed to get a business meeting from talking to Damien). After the meeting at the party, she cannot stop thinking about him and he can't stop pursuing her. It is an emotional roller coaster for Nikki as well as Damien.
    The story is of passion. Nikki and Damien are intense when they are together. Their chemistry is just sizzling. The sex scenes in the book were NICE. I liked how the author didn't go over the top, just about right.
    I was emotionally invested in the book. Nikki has always been controlled in her life by her mother (doing pageants) and she finally was able to get away from that only until she met Damien. She felt like he was trying to control everything too (hell I felt that way too!) But I think they both came into an agreement later on in the book.

    One thing I did not like about the book...the fact that it is being compared to 50 shades. Similar? Yes. But each book is different and the writing is different. Yes both men come from a troubled past, but who doesn't these days?

    I enjoyed this book. Loved the ending. Not a big cliffhanger but leaves you wanting more and more. Cannot wait to read the next book. This author has a lot of good potential with this kind of writing. And I cannot wait to read what also happens to Nikki's best friends, Jamie and Oliver.

    I received an ARC of this book through NetGalley in exchange for my review.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    I was so engrossed in the story this morning that I almost misse

    I was so engrossed in the story this morning that I almost missed the time to leave for an auto service appointment!!
    A total page turner.

    I enjoyed the dynamics between Nikki and Damien and how their past secrets played out. Since this is the 1st book in a trilogy, the secrets revealed were mostly Nikki's, but Damien is breaking down and revealing his inner demons as well.

    The secondary characters are well developed, not just throw aways used as an easy way to reveal Nikki's and Damien's backstory. I suspect we'll be seeing a bit more of Ollie and Jamie in future stories.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Better than FSoG

    This book is better than FSoG! There was no repetitive sentences and the Nikki wasn't as whiner like Anastasia. Damien Stark has a more in depth character than Christian Grey did, still has his secrets but he's willing to share some parts of his life with Nikki as CS wasn't.

    It wasn't as good as BtY Crossfire series but still definitely worth the $$.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    To the readers who have read FSoG and the readers who are readin

    To the readers who have read FSoG and the readers who are reading the Crossfire books...you will definitely want to check out J. Kenner's release "Release Me", which comes out 1/1/13.
    I am not one of those readers who has read FSoG so I will not compare Release Me to that trilogy.  Maybe when I have downtime I will finally read the FSoG books...but as of right now it is not my top priority.  
    I will not also compare it to the Crossfire Trilogy due to the fact I believe J. Kenner has a different writing style all together from Sylvia Day.

    J. Kenner has me not hating characters, but instead feeling emotional towards them.
    Bring in the sexy billionaire, Damien Stark, who used to be a famous tennis player who has serious family issues, especially with his father.
    And bring in Nikki Fairchild who is trying to change her life and get away from what she was.  She is making her mark finally outside of school in her new home in California with some old friends and meeting new friends.  She never thought she would meet one person who would change her life and what she should be doing in a place she least expected.

    Damien has always got what he wanted, wherever and however and right now he has his eyes on Nikki and he will not take no from her.  Nikki knows she should focus on what she wants to do towards her future, but Damian is always there to try to claim her.  He will do anything to be with her, even get her fired from her job and also have her tell her darkest secret.
    Nikki will be tested so many ways from Damien, but in the end will she succumb to what he wants from her, or will she be able to walk away from a man who wants to control her life like one certain person tried to do when she was younger.
    Both Nikki has her own past she is still trying to deal with and now Nikki is learning Damien may have a dark past as well that she may end up being caught in.

    "Release Me" is an emotional, steamy, intense book that will make you want more, especially when it comes to the sex scenes between the characters. This is when I will definitely not compare J. Kenner to any other writer out there.  She gave sex scenes between the characters that were steamy, intense and even sometimes sensual.  It did involve sex toys, and several other things in the bedroom that may be uncomfortable to certain people....but Damien did not try to harm Nikki at all. (at least not physically)  In fact, he gave her choices and did not even forced himself on her.  Instead, he gave her games to play that she enjoyed herself.  She never knew what to expect, but she knew Damien would not go too far with her.
    Nikki, I have to say was the vixen sometimes.  She put herself in dilemmas that she would get punished for, but she would end up wanting it in the end.  She definitely made the book and Damien did as well.  He definitely makes the list of hotties for next year since this book comes out in 2013.  =)  He's up there with Gideon Cross and I definitely look forward to the 2nd book.
    Even the secondary characters had their own role to play in the book and they had their own problems as well...especially, Nikki's roommate.  She definitely has some serious issues to work out.
    Here's another thing with "Release Me".  There's not much of a big cliff hanger. We know there is still unfinished business because of certain things that need to be addressed, but we have no idea how J. Kenner will start off next or where she will take you....which is a definite plus.  I love not knowing.  =)
    I look forward to the next installment in this trilogy because who can stay away from the sexy billionaire and the woman who he cannot get enough of....especially one who can put him through tests as well.
    I highly recommend this to contemporary romance readers out there and fans of J. Kenner.  You will definitely enjoy this new book from her.  

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2013

    Release Me is yet another book being marketed at fans of Fifty



    Release Me is yet another book being marketed at fans of Fifty Shades, now I have not and will not read that trilogy so I can't compare them. I have however read J. Kenner's previous work published as Julie Kenner and JK Beck and I love her writing so I was intrigued with the knowledge she would be publishing under yet another name. What I found was a story based on an intense attraction, but it was more than that. Damien was likeable, yes he was a sexy playboy billionaire but he had layers and I feel as if we have merely scratched the surface. Nikki was a pleasant surprise - brains and beauty in one slightly scarred package. I liked Nikki in many ways, yes she is emotionally damaged but she puts up a good facade. I liked the speed at which we found out her secrets, the strength of the attraction she felt for Damien and the tension as they stumbled their way into a relationship. I loved the light hearted teasing between them and I hope that stays especially after we get to the bottom of Damien's secrets.

    Yes the story was formulaic but I found myself invested in the characters, I loved Evelyn & Blaine and I hope to see more of them. Jamie and Ollie I am honestly undecided on. The Carl storyline maybe the one that makes or breaks the series. I am curious as to how that will go. It'll be interesting to see how the story develops.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Love this series

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2014

    Damien Stark you can not say his name without being a little bre

    Damien Stark you can not say his name without being a little breathless. 

    This story captured me from the beginning. Damien Stark is a Ex-Pro tennis player that is use to getting what he wants when he wants it.
    However, he can not have Nikki or can he. Nikki has some insecurity issues that go back to her teenage days when her mother would tell
    her how perfect she must be. Now she has scars inside and out that she is hiding from the world but Damien wants her to open up and
    let him in.  This sex is hot and the emotions between the characters feels real. The story is just getting started for these two and
     I could not wait to read book 2. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 194 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10