Customer Reviews for

Relentless

Average Rating 4
( 260 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(92)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A strange but compelling thriller

...about hugely successful writer Cullen Greenwich and his "perfect" family, who are targeted by an almost super-human madman named Shearman Waxx, the literary critic that trashed Greenwich's latest novel. Extreme violence, humor and a supernatural element mix surprisin...
...about hugely successful writer Cullen Greenwich and his "perfect" family, who are targeted by an almost super-human madman named Shearman Waxx, the literary critic that trashed Greenwich's latest novel. Extreme violence, humor and a supernatural element mix surprisingly well in "Relentless" and Koontz keeps the pedal to the metal throughout - I raced through this thing in less than a day. I plan on reading it again though, more slowly, as there seems to be something else going on here beyond Koontz' usual thrills and chills. Could Waxx be Greenwich's id-like alter ego, who puts in print the writer's own true feelings about his bestselling work, and then systematically destroys his staid, picture-perfect life? Is "Relentless" an exaggerated portrayal of the trials and tribulations a bestselling author like Koontz goes through in the modern publishing world? (If you've read the forwards to the new reprint editions of Koontz' older novels you'll know what I'm talking about.) I'm also curious about the names Koontz picked for his characters, which seem carefully thought out and constructed. All in all "Relentless" is one of Koontz' more interesting recent books, well worth reading.
Also recommended: "A STRANGER LIES THERE". This website's editorial review said this mystery is "an appealing blend of SoCal noir and psychological suspense ala Dean Koontz. Two thumb way up."

posted by 156234 on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

What happened?

An excellent book, typical of Dean Koontz, for about two-thirds of the book. After that, I thought the book made a turn for the worse. I won't divulge what happened, but it lost my interest and I didn't understand the ending. Maybe next time.

posted by lemme14 on August 25, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    What happened?

    An excellent book, typical of Dean Koontz, for about two-thirds of the book. After that, I thought the book made a turn for the worse. I won't divulge what happened, but it lost my interest and I didn't understand the ending. Maybe next time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dean Koontz Light

    As a Dean Koontz fan I was excited to read his latest book. I finished reading it in one afternoon. Although the story was enjoyable, it unfortunatly missed it's mark. I liked the characters and the basic premise for the plot. Where this book let me down was that it never developed far enough. I can visualize this same book written by Stephen King and going on over several more hundred pages. I actually felt like Mr. Koontz couldn't wait to finish writing the book even though he knew that there was more to his story. Ultimately, the reader must do this on their own which for me was quite disappointing!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Awesome Thrills and Chills

    This book was classic Dean Koontz entertainment. I love the way Koontz pulls you in to the story and makes you care about the characters very quickly. I read this in two days, because I simply could not put it down. Koontz books seem formulaic, but it's a structure that works! If it ain't broken, as they say.

    Even after I finished this I was hungry for more about the characters. They seem so real and I love how he describes relationships amongst them-I always find myself wishing I was part of a social circle like those in his stories!

    Finally, the story is so gripping and mysterious. I love how Koontz is able to take a believable, real situation and twist it with a supernatural effect. How is Waxx able to do so much? What is the source of his seemingly limitless resources? Who will be shot, forever changing the lives of the family members, as foreshadowed multiple times?

    A GREAT story - buy this and read it you will love it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A strange but compelling thriller

    ...about hugely successful writer Cullen Greenwich and his "perfect" family, who are targeted by an almost super-human madman named Shearman Waxx, the literary critic that trashed Greenwich's latest novel. Extreme violence, humor and a supernatural element mix surprisingly well in "Relentless" and Koontz keeps the pedal to the metal throughout - I raced through this thing in less than a day. I plan on reading it again though, more slowly, as there seems to be something else going on here beyond Koontz' usual thrills and chills. Could Waxx be Greenwich's id-like alter ego, who puts in print the writer's own true feelings about his bestselling work, and then systematically destroys his staid, picture-perfect life? Is "Relentless" an exaggerated portrayal of the trials and tribulations a bestselling author like Koontz goes through in the modern publishing world? (If you've read the forwards to the new reprint editions of Koontz' older novels you'll know what I'm talking about.) I'm also curious about the names Koontz picked for his characters, which seem carefully thought out and constructed. All in all "Relentless" is one of Koontz' more interesting recent books, well worth reading.
    Also recommended: "A STRANGER LIES THERE". This website's editorial review said this mystery is "an appealing blend of SoCal noir and psychological suspense ala Dean Koontz. Two thumb way up."

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ugh...

    Looking for something to read while traveling I grabbed Relentless based entirely on the reputation of Dean Koontz. I had not had an opportunity to read his work before and after reading this book, I probably won't pick up another.

    The characters were simply not believable. Plot elements were left unexplained or required an uncomfortable leap of faith in order to swallow. The ending left me baffled which was par for the course considering the laundry list of unexplainable things happening throughout the book.

    It was a quick read with well paced chapters but disappointing. I wish I had picked up an older Koontz novel (as some suggest) because Relentless ended up being a poor choice.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Other Side of the Woods (Relentless original title)

    For those familiar with Koontz and his style this book fits nicely into his cannon of fiction. For someone not aware of what Koontz has to offer is in for a real treat. Relentless is one of Koontz's pageturners, where you will have papercuts after finishing one of these because they are so fast paced. The initial premise of the book may cause the reader to go...REALLY, sounds lame. As any fan will tell you it will not go where you beleive it will. As is typical there is a dog and it is not just an ordinary dog, but the characters are so well rounded and given moments of humor and even slapstick, too. Cullen Greenwich is a writer and he gets a bad review on his latest book. The reviewer is an illiterate geek and Cullen gets an opportunity to get a good look at him - then all hell breaks loose. After chapter 3 you are not going to be able to put this book down. It doesn't have the large canvas and scope of some of his other novels, but what it lacks in depth it recreates in tense dramatic scenes that are truly relentless. There are two bits of trivia/gossip about this book. One, the original title was The Other Side of the Woods, which is the name of Cullen Greenwich's wife's new children's book and is pertinant to the novel itself. The other interesting fact is Cullen's work that gets ravaged by the deranged literary critic is called One O'Clock Jump - which was the original title of Koontz's own novel, The Bad Place!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    Quite the parody

    Totally nonsensical. Interesting premise about critics offing authors and well-written, but the ending is so ludicrously contrived that it validates the case for justifiable homicide.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A tense thriller with a disappointing ending

    Relentless is a classic Dean Koontz novel with some small variations. It's written in first person, which is unusual for Koontz (I can only think of one or two other novels he's written in first person voice). It has a great cast of characters -- Cubby (the narrator), his wife Penny, his son Milo, and their dog Lassie -- and a villain who is unique and interesting through most of the book.

    Unfortunately, when the mystery is revealed, it's a lot like ones Mr. Koontz has done a few times before, and I was disappointed in that. I was able to predict most of what happened at the end before it happened, which is unusual for a Koontz novel. Perhaps I've just read too many of his books, and am too used to his style. But this book's "reveal" will not be a big surprise to people who have read some of Koontz's other work.

    The novel is well worth a read, and I enjoyed it... but the ending left something to be desired, by my lights.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Awful.

    I was incredibly disappointed in this book. I have read several books by Koontz. When he writes well, I love his books. This is not his best by any means. I feel like Koontz has distinct patterns in his novels, and they disturb me greatly. This one has the worst of them: main character is a complete, dysfunctional dufus other than his ability to write five star novels; the wife is indescribably beautiful, kind, funny, smart, and perfect; ANOTHER completely unexplained and unrealistic genius child; homeschooling; perfect perfect perfect family; overwhelming preaching. I agree with the other reviewers that this story was cookie-cutter formulaic. Total waste of time. Don't swear off Koontz's other books; you just have to dig a little to find the hidden gems.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Relentless

    Dean Koontz's Relentless is one of those books that seem to feel like you don't know where the book's getting at. Cubby Greenwich is an author who has a loving wife and child, but when one of his books gets poorly reviewed by one of america's top critics Cubby is on the run for his life from the "Relentless" critic that is determined to end his career. The book has an okay plot when said but as the book progresses, and as you think about it it seems a little far fetched. The book started off great and by halfway through it seemed that Mr. Koontz was trying to find something to add that shouldn't of been there. And also it felt like he was cramming to many details to end the book when they should of been spread out. Overall a good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    Boring and formulaic

    Let me begin by saying that I have read every Koontz book and that I believe he has written some of the best contemporary horror/thriller fiction around. That being said, I found this book to be formulaic and boring. I finished it only because I had started it and I had hoped that it would get better. There is no real character development of Waxx, his motives are not clear, and to be honest, simply not believable. I didn't particularly like the "heroes" either.

    It seems like Koontz lately is simply trying to cash in on his former glory. Give me another Strangers or Watchers - original, fun, scary, moving. And could he please stop preaching - the bashing of intellectuals, the belittling of various fields and disciplines with which he has no real understanding based on what he writes. Disappointed and disillusioned with his work lately would be an understatement.

    What a waste of $10 - I'd like my money and my time back.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating!

    As per the norm, with Koontz, I had a hard time pulling myself away from this story. The characters were so easy to become attached to and the story line had me trying to turn pages faster than I could read in order to see what was coming next. Family, a little Sci-Fi, murder, mystery and twists.. a little of everything you could want and everything you get in a Koontz book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great one from DK!

    Yet again I find myself trying to decide if I have a new favorite from Dean Koontz! He is the master of all. This book had me from cover to cover in every aspect! I found myself constantly lauging while sitting on the edge of my seat. I feel there were very few instances, if any, where there were frequent ramblings on one particular subject that will cause you to skim a page or two in some of Koontz's novels. There just isnt much to say bad about this one. He finishes the book pretty well and it feels like he took his time to close this one out rather than rush the ending and leaving so many questions unanswered. This is a great book for anyone! Especially a Dean Koontz fan! You will love it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2009

    Fast, exciting read

    If you want yet another amazing "summer" read, pick up RELENTLESS By Dean. It's fast and furious, mixing romance, comedy (he's amazingly funny--Dave Berry or George Waters funny)Suspence, Thrills and Chills. He's a master at figuring out the evil mind, and brilliant at figuring out the rest of us--heros we aren't but he gives us regular people wings to fly and a sense that we are doing the right thing by just caring about humanity at it's most depraved and it's very best. Dean has come a long way from "Whispers" folks--he believes in the regular guy, he has our dreams figured out (Dogs are really angels)and he inspires us to be more than we are. "A plus" reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A better Koontz than the last few...

    This was tough to put down...aside from the "Odd" series Koontz has written a few disappointing novels, as of late (for me). I appreciate a well developed character and I like that he ends on the up side, in general. I genuinely liked his characters and I really didn't figure out the end...until he was ready to reveal. I liked it. Watchers and Servants of Twilight are still my favorites, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2009

    Classic Koontz

    Anyone who has read any of Koontz's work can begin to recognize certain patterns. He still manages to make these plots and characters work. If you have enjoyed his past books you will not be disappointed here. Escapist and entertaining.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Dean Koontz Thriller

    In my opinion, this story was a little different from most of Dean's books. The co-main character, usually a well-disciplined, very capable individual, is less so in this story. He seemed to be hesitant, self-doubting and less capable of handling tough situations. The wife seemed more in charge. This is a good divergence from most of his books. It was a thoroughly enjoyable reading. Dean presented very believeable characters - ones you can identify with and feel for. While the ending was somewhat predictable and not as spellbinding as most of his books, I highly recommend it for established Koontz readers as well as new.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    started out good ...

    when i first cracked this one open i saw myself really enjoying it. the book didn't live up to this premonition. i found myself saying "well, ok that was alright if you really think about it" in too many places . i also just thought the idea, as it played out, was unremarkably silly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pleasant but not the usual Koontz

    As a big fan of Dean Koontz I must say that he seems to be loosing his grip on writing at the same high level he used to.
    The first 2/3 of this book is a pleasant and sometimes fun reading the characters are great, but the ending of the plot is a deception. Almost like Mr. Koontz was in a rush to finish.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Awful

    I rarely write a review of something I dislike this much. This was silly and juvenile and I can see it appealing to 15 year old boys. Truly, I couldn't get past page 50. What happened to him as a writer....could this book have been written by the man who wrote "Watchers?" Not worth buying.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 261 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 14