Customer Reviews for

Relentless

Average Rating 4
( 262 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(92)

4 Star

(93)

3 Star

(43)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A strange but compelling thriller

...about hugely successful writer Cullen Greenwich and his "perfect" family, who are targeted by an almost super-human madman named Shearman Waxx, the literary critic that trashed Greenwich's latest novel. Extreme violence, humor and a supernatural element mix surprisin...
...about hugely successful writer Cullen Greenwich and his "perfect" family, who are targeted by an almost super-human madman named Shearman Waxx, the literary critic that trashed Greenwich's latest novel. Extreme violence, humor and a supernatural element mix surprisingly well in "Relentless" and Koontz keeps the pedal to the metal throughout - I raced through this thing in less than a day. I plan on reading it again though, more slowly, as there seems to be something else going on here beyond Koontz' usual thrills and chills. Could Waxx be Greenwich's id-like alter ego, who puts in print the writer's own true feelings about his bestselling work, and then systematically destroys his staid, picture-perfect life? Is "Relentless" an exaggerated portrayal of the trials and tribulations a bestselling author like Koontz goes through in the modern publishing world? (If you've read the forwards to the new reprint editions of Koontz' older novels you'll know what I'm talking about.) I'm also curious about the names Koontz picked for his characters, which seem carefully thought out and constructed. All in all "Relentless" is one of Koontz' more interesting recent books, well worth reading.
Also recommended: "A STRANGER LIES THERE". This website's editorial review said this mystery is "an appealing blend of SoCal noir and psychological suspense ala Dean Koontz. Two thumb way up."

posted by 156234 on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Dean Koontz Light

As a Dean Koontz fan I was excited to read his latest book. I finished reading it in one afternoon. Although the story was enjoyable, it unfortunatly missed it's mark. I liked the characters and the basic premise for the plot. Where this book let me down was that it ...
As a Dean Koontz fan I was excited to read his latest book. I finished reading it in one afternoon. Although the story was enjoyable, it unfortunatly missed it's mark. I liked the characters and the basic premise for the plot. Where this book let me down was that it never developed far enough. I can visualize this same book written by Stephen King and going on over several more hundred pages. I actually felt like Mr. Koontz couldn't wait to finish writing the book even though he knew that there was more to his story. Ultimately, the reader must do this on their own which for me was quite disappointing!

posted by storker on June 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 263 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14
  • Posted June 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Koontz hit!

    As a loyal Koontz fan I was somewhat disappointed by "Your Heart Belongs to Me" and was happy to see he was back on track with his latest "Relentless". Great characters & the plot & suspense grab immediately.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Conspiracy buffs will enjoy Dean Koontz's exciting thriller

    The latest book by bestselling author Cullen "Cubby" Greenwich receives rave reviews from fans and critics except reviewer Shearman Waxx. Cubby is outraged by the so called "nation's premier literary critic" ripping his work because he doubts the man even read it as the review is loaded with factual errors about the story line. On a whim, he goes with his six year old son Milla to confront Waxx at a restaurant in Newport Beach, California. In the bathroom Cubby's son almost urinates on Waxx so the critic has one word to say to the writer: "Doom"---------

    Cubby soon sees Waxx has been in his house, disabling security system and cutting off electricity and the phone lines. Soon afterward the house explodes though the family gets out in time. Cubby receives a warning from another author whom claims Waxx killed his parents, wife and children over an unfair disputed review. In order to keep his family safe, Cubby must kill Waxx and those conspirators abetting the man's terrorist campaign especially the leader of this silent group of deadly operatives; however he only knows of Waxx.------------

    Conspiracy buffs will enjoy Dean Koontz's exciting thriller even if the secret society does not ring true and Waxx's motives never fully surface. Milo in some ways steals the show with his "Inspector Gadget" gizmos that even his parents are awed by him and unsure what he will do next. He may be a prodigy, but he has vulnerabilities and fears. Fans of Mr. Koontz and those willing to accept an over the Sierra Mountains plot with an even higher over the stratosphere villain will enjoy RELENTLESS as Waxx and company leave a violent calling card.---------

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Hummmmmm

    The book is a great read. I had a blast running with this adventure but the book gets wild towards the end. Still entertaining and I couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Koontzeriffic!

    LOVED it! I've loved most of them from this author, but he outdid himself with this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Very creative.

    I have read almost all of koonts books and most were very intereasting,
    This book is kinda boring in the begining but the ending is funny.
    The bodlie of this book is verry creative.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great book

    Could not put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Are you kidding me Koontz?

    First let me say I am a Koontz fan and have read quite a few of his books, but come on!!! This book was so bad I had to will myself to finish it. Without giving anything away (though I strongly suggest you don't bother, every character including the dog seems to be over done. I mean the in-laws just happen to be trained in combat, their 6 year old son just happens to be a genius who can invent these crazy things that do what they do, and their dog...really. The book reads as a thriller then right when it's mercifully about to end it turns into a sci-fi novel. Koontz seemed to have been writing this book not sure of how to tie it all together, so he writes one scene to end it where not only does the genre of the book change, new characters who bring absolutely nothing to the story are introduced, and no real detailed reason why they were being hunted is even given. And having just finished Life Expectancy it's like these books were written by two completely different authors. This book is so bad there is no way I would ever recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Kind of stupid

    Too far fetched.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Absolutamente Fantastico, loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Completely enthralling

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Silly ending but overall fun

    Cullen Greenwich is a bestselling author with the perfect life. He has a loving wife, Penny, also an author, and a six-year-old son Milo, a prodigy who, "...was chronologically six, intellectually twenty-something, and emotionally maybe ten or eleven." (pg. 124) And we can't forget Lassie, an Australian shepherd mix with personality plus. Cullen's newest novel, One O'Clock Jump has just been released and like his previous books, this one promises to be a bestseller. Life is good. That is until a scathing review comes out from Shearman Waxx, the esteemed senior critic from one of the nation's top newspapers. Cubby, as his friends call Cullen, tries to ignore the bad review and focus on all the good ones, but it's hard when everybody keeps reminding him not to think about the Waxx review. When Cubby and Milo run into Waxx at a local restaurant, the real problems begin. After a rather odd bathroom encounter, where young Milo almost "sprinkles" Waxx, the critic walks by the author and says one word, "Doom." While Cubby thinks the whole encounter strange, he's not worried until later that day when he finds Waxx in their house. Going after him, Cubby is unable to catch him and Waxx escapes, leaving no proof of his crime. Cubby thinks of calling 911, but with no proof, what would they do? But that night, Waxx enters their house again, tasering both Cubby and his wife. Again, Waxx gets away, leaving no sign that he had been in the house. Should they call the police? After receiving a call from another author who was also a victim of Waxx's wrath, who tells Cubby how Waxx killed his wife and two daughters, Cubby realizes Waxx isn't just after him, but also his wife and son. The police will never believe them. Soon after, Waxx makes another appearance and the family barely escapes before their house blows up. Realizing they are in mortal danger, the family begins a terrifying ordeal of trying to stay one step ahead of Waxx, who, for whatever reason, is bent on killing the family. Traveling by car, switching cars, taking a bus, not using credit cards, going places they have no connection to should keep them safe, but Waxx has an uncanny ability to find them again and again. The tension the author builds in this story, and the constant, fast pace, keep the story moving along quickly. Indeed, it's apt to be a book you'll read in one sitting, simply to find out what's up with Waxx. How does he do the things he does and more importantly, why? While the character of Milo gets a little annoying - he seems much smarter than a "twenty-something" and seems to grow smarter as the story progresses (perhaps because it was necessary to the plot for Milo to be very, very smart), the other characters were compelling enough to make me care about their safety. Lassie was perhaps the star, with her uncanny ability to crawl into tight spaces, stay hidden, and be perfectly happy about her cramped quarters when found. The ending may leave some readers a bit unsatisfied as it mixes elements of science fiction into the plot, and is something that's been used in numerous other stories, but overall, Relentless is a good, fun read that will keep you guessing. Quill says: If you like your books to offer lots of action and keep you guessing, check out Relentless to see what awful things can come from one bad review!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2011

    Demagoguery

    Many reviewers couldn't buy the premise here, and I didn't have the same problem. And in fact, I loved the sort of tongue-in-cheek humor and the fact that the story didn't take itself so seriously. But the strange meanderings into ideological vent sessions? Not so much. I hate to say it, but this seemed like a thinly veiled, conservative manifesto. Traditional, gun-loving family (with inexplicable genius kid) is menaced by intellectuals who want to destroy their way of life? Koontz adds strange little paeans to "tradition" and then skewers the "politicians" (not the bankers--viva capitalism!) who ruined the economy, including the current administration. Those who are irreligious in the book are bigots and hatemongers. Every author has a point of view and it's their prerogative if they would like to place it their book. The thing is, it didn't belong in this book. The rants were gratuitous and clearly showed the hand of the author, and would have no matter which way they leaned politically. Koontz, as an expert storyteller, knows better. If he wished to write a story that needed this demagoguery, he should have written THAT story. Perhaps called it "Demagoguery." But this was a thriller, and a light one at that, and the commentary should have been used to serve the story, not the author's bone to pick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling Read

    Relentless was a fast-paced thriller that kept me reading. The premise is that Cubby, a best-selling novelist, has one of his books reviewed for the first time by the renowned book reviewer Shearman Waxx. Waxx hates Cubby's newest novel and writes a scathing review of it. Cubby is willing to let it go, but he can't resist catching a glimpse of the enigmatic book reviewer when he finds out the location of his favorite lunch spot. What started out as a harmless encounter ends with the book reviewer furious with Cubby and leaving him with one chilling word: "Doom."

    After that Cubby realizes he has a sociopath on his hands and one that's out not only for his blood but for the blood of his family. He takes his wife, Penny, and his prodigy son, Milo, on the run and together they seek answers to the nature of Waxx's obsession. Relentless was narrated by Cubby, who had a laid-back often humorous voice that juxtaposed with the grim plotline and details of Waxx's previous grisly murders. The characters were very original and entertaining. I found some of the climax and revelations that were made during that part of the book to be unbelievable, but it didn't ruin the overall reading experience. The resolution was satifying and on the whole it was really well written. If you're looking for a light, fast-paced read you should try this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fast paced. Excellent

    I've been reading Dean Koontz for years and this is one of his best. I couldn't put it down. The only things better are his Frankenstein books. Some of his stories get a little weird but this was believable and an edge of your seat page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    Seting on the edge of my seat

    I have been reading Dean Koontz for a while and I love this book found it hard to put down. Reading What the Night Knows and it's been real good also.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    First TIme Reader of Koontz

    The largest part of the book was awesome, could not put it down. Then the ending. It was so stupid. Not believable at all... Hope the other Koontz book I ordered is better than this one or else thats it for Koontz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I've been reading Dean Koontz for years. I think his books aren't for everyone. But, I love them (usually). This one was no exception. In the end, I didn't fully buy into the theory of why the critic was terrorizing Cubby, but I didn't care because the rest of the novel more than made up for the ending.

    This book was as fast past of most of his horror novels. It takes place over a matter of days. When the book still has the normal feel, I was actually a little tense over the events. Who wouldn't be if you wake in the middle of the night to someone in your room and the power cut. While, the events eventually become a little bit more unbelievable (Koontz books often become very science fiction or paranormal), they are still downright terrifying. Having people track you down relentlessly and realizing they've done it to other people before you is a great storyline. And Koontz doesn't mince words in describing some of the torture these villains have used against their victims.

    Oddly enough, there's humor in this novel as well. I was particularly fond of Milo by the end of the story. He had some great lines throughout. Being a boy genius wise way beyond his years brings an interesting twist to the story. He can do things his parents never though possible. Which in the end actually saves the day! I also really loved Penny. You would have to be a special character to have a genius for a son and a husband with the kind of background he does. Add in the dog with a special "talent" and it's just a great story. Cubby is also a great narrative. I enjoyed watching how he reacted to each terror that surrounds them especially in light of what happened to him as a child.

    I was really happy to finally get around to reading this one. Koontz is just so hard to predict. Sometimes his story venture to far off the map to really enjoy. But, this was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Great Book 5 Stars

    Relentless is a great read one that is hard to put down, The ending is kind of iffy but all in all I say this is a must read and is second only to Jack Kilbon's "Afraid"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Total Suspense!

    I literally got mad reading this book, because I couldn't put it down to go to sleep! Every chapter leaves you hanging, and you have to find out what happens next! The end was a little cheesy, though, I have to say. You never see it coming, but nonetheless, it's a little cheesy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Not for the romantic

    I read this because its a popular book, but I really don't like these kind of gruesome tales. Its good if you like yucky stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 263 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 14