Customer Reviews for

Relentless

Average Rating 3.5
( 298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(99)

3 Star

(54)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(24)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Great writing by a gifted author

Fast Paced action, intrigue, conspiracy, and uncanny events fill the pages of "Relentless." Robin Parrish's writing is compelling, addictive, and exciting.
An ancient secret society "the Secretum Six," the "Dominion Stone", and a group of super-powered people (the L...
Fast Paced action, intrigue, conspiracy, and uncanny events fill the pages of "Relentless." Robin Parrish's writing is compelling, addictive, and exciting.
An ancient secret society "the Secretum Six," the "Dominion Stone", and a group of super-powered people (the Loci) all play a part in the plot twists of this story of supernatural power, as the "Keeper" attempts to control the destiny of the world. Colin Boyd has been "shifted" to become Grant Borrows in order to become the "Bringer" and to fulfill his destiny in this adrenaline producing page turner.
Parish has created characters which divulge the good and evil in each of us, stirring the emotions of the reader from empathy, admiration, and respect, to anger, distrust, and revulsion.
Robin Parish primed the reader for his next book "The Fearless" in which Grant Borrows makes an amazing discovery, and realized it can only be resolved by unraveling the mystery of who he is. This is great writing by a gifted author. I highly recommend.

posted by timetraveler-1692- on November 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Didn't care for it

I was disappointed. I felt the scenes switching suddenly quite annoying. I felt like it was being dragged out to 425 pages. I would rather watch an Xmen movie with all it's mutants! There were too many details that were left undone or did not make sense. How could Grant...
I was disappointed. I felt the scenes switching suddenly quite annoying. I felt like it was being dragged out to 425 pages. I would rather watch an Xmen movie with all it's mutants! There were too many details that were left undone or did not make sense. How could Grant answer his cell phone when it was left on the coffee table in the previous scene? When there were100 pages left to go, there were so many typos! What happened to the proofreaders? I will not be reading the rest of the trilogy. The first of a trilogy should encourage me to continue not discourage me! Quite disappointing.

posted by 5922561 on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15
  • Posted November 9, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Great writing by a gifted author

    Fast Paced action, intrigue, conspiracy, and uncanny events fill the pages of "Relentless." Robin Parrish's writing is compelling, addictive, and exciting.<BR/>An ancient secret society "the Secretum Six," the "Dominion Stone", and a group of super-powered people (the Loci) all play a part in the plot twists of this story of supernatural power, as the "Keeper" attempts to control the destiny of the world. Colin Boyd has been "shifted" to become Grant Borrows in order to become the "Bringer" and to fulfill his destiny in this adrenaline producing page turner.<BR/>Parish has created characters which divulge the good and evil in each of us, stirring the emotions of the reader from empathy, admiration, and respect, to anger, distrust, and revulsion.<BR/>Robin Parish primed the reader for his next book "The Fearless" in which Grant Borrows makes an amazing discovery, and realized it can only be resolved by unraveling the mystery of who he is. This is great writing by a gifted author. I highly recommend.

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Didn't care for it

    I was disappointed. I felt the scenes switching suddenly quite annoying. I felt like it was being dragged out to 425 pages. I would rather watch an Xmen movie with all it's mutants! There were too many details that were left undone or did not make sense. How could Grant answer his cell phone when it was left on the coffee table in the previous scene? When there were100 pages left to go, there were so many typos! What happened to the proofreaders? I will not be reading the rest of the trilogy. The first of a trilogy should encourage me to continue not discourage me! Quite disappointing.

    15 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Outstanding

    When he gets off the Los Angeles Metro bus Collin Boyd sees his doppelganger when Collin sees himself in a reflection, he does not recognize what stares back at him as he has changed into a different looking person wearing a gold ring with mystical inscription on it that he cannot remove from his finger. A mysterious woman informs Collin that he is a Shifter. He goes to their enclave only to learn the group believes he is the Bringer, as foretold in a prophecy. Unknown to him a secret society of the Secretum of Six is molding him into a creature with magical powers to change the world in their image.---------------- Many groups are interested in the former Collin Boyd, now known as Grant Burrows. Some want to help him others want him dead. He bonds in a mystical way with the Loci, Shifters who live together in isolation from the rest of the world. The Keeper, a member of the Secretum¿s minion who wants to form Grant into the being he wants him to be. It will take all his goodness not to succumb to the enticing evil of The Keeper.---------- This exciting thriller allows readers to become so immersed in the fast-paced storyline, fans will lose track of time and finish the novel in one sitting. Grant is a wonderful protagonist who keeps the tale focused even as he struggles with his transformation. There are many dangling threads and unanswered questions that will have readers RELENTLESSly anxious for the next installment of the Dominion trilogy.------------ Harriet Klausner

    11 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2012

    Solid writing overcomes a couple strange bits

    Sigh. I'm torn on this book. For the vast majority of this book I REALLY liked it. Liked the writing, liked the concept, liked the characters, liked the plot. It's the story of a man who suddenly in the middle of his morning discovers himself in another man's body and watches himself walking away down the street. Suddenly he has a new identity and some frightening new skills. It brings with it the aspects of science fiction and techno thriller that is guaranteed to lure me in. And it did. But two things take away from the book for me. There is a strange 5-10 page writing blip about 125 pages in where the quality of writing plummets. It recovers and the rest of the book is fine but those few pages just glare. Then about two thirds of the way into the book the plot swerves into a fantasy/supernatural vein that I don't think was properly set up. So at the end of book I felt let down by the author. He led one way then changed directions without a good reason or explanation. The book is the first in a trilogy but you don't even get the whole set up in this first book.So that kicks this down one rating. The author also has this bizarre habit of suddenly jumping from scene to scene in a chapter without any indication. Really annoying.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Interesting premise - not my type of story

    The story was well written and an interesting premise. Not sure I'm interested in reading more in the series. I would have liked to read more Biblical context.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    for me it ws different

    I did enjoy the book, but it isn't my normal type of pick. for a change in pace, it kept my attention and it will probably keep yours too....

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    you have got to like books that are fantasy

    it took me a while to get into the book because it was far-fetched, however that is what fantasy is all about. the price was right. i won't buy series #2.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    great read

    I really enjoye this story. I would recommend this to friends.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    Great book

    Good from start to finish.. will get the next two in the trilogy

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    Great read

    This is not the type of book i would normally pick but it eas very good

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    Recommend!

    I am amazed that this book is a free download. It is very well written with an intriguing concept. Now I'm going to have to buy the rest of the series!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2012

    Enjoyed!

    Finished the first and immediately bought other 2

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    Great series!!!

    I highly recomend this series, good concept. Read the triloghy in about a week. I recomend T.L. Hines as another Christian suspence autor. You will not be dissapointed with this series.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Entertaining and ecellent read!

    I couldn't put this book down. I've read all three books in the trilogy and you won't be disappointed!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Totally enjoyed this!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2011

    awesome!

    great debut novel. a good read on its own or with the next two in the trilogy, Fearless and Merciless. another great book by parrish is Nightmare.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Avid Reader

    I'm only on page 182, but Robin Parrish has captured my full attention. Suspenseful, creative, tightly written - a real page turner. Don't want to give away the story line, but has a common thread with Terry Brook's Sword of Shanarra. Highly recomment!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2012

    This Book Is The Best

    Loved it! A great book, great story, A must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Question

    Ok so im in middle school. Is it for like that age? What iz it about? Any bad part or words?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Recommend

    It was a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 298 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 15