Customer Reviews for

A Reliable Wife

Average Rating 3
( 3269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(597)

4 Star

(916)

3 Star

(865)

2 Star

(463)

1 Star

(428)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Well! That was interesting!

I really recommend this book if you are the least intrigued by it, two thumbs up. These two main characters are anything but the face they are showing each other. They EACH have baggage. This is anything but a simple, sweet story. This is an easy book to fall into, a fa...
I really recommend this book if you are the least intrigued by it, two thumbs up. These two main characters are anything but the face they are showing each other. They EACH have baggage. This is anything but a simple, sweet story. This is an easy book to fall into, a fast beginning. The writing is compelling, very descriptive, indeed. The characters are all repressed and strange, trying to appear normal. The steamy sex scenes were unexpected, and well, intriguing. There are some murderous notions, too. There are many surprises as we read of extravagance and material wastefulness beyond our wildest dreams. Dysfunctional relationships. There were a couple drops in the story, like turbulence on a plane, as I felt built up, then...bla, bla, and that's that. Yet, as we learned, "such things happen", and perhaps that was intended. The author, though, does a fine job keeping us connected and packing in quite a lot of action in what seems to be about a 6-month roller coaster ride.

posted by dreamerbyday on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

HOW DID THIS GET TO BE SO POPULAR

The characters are thin, the plot thin, the writing thin, i just didn't get it! There wasn't one thing I liked about this book and it was our book club selection, our group of 12 all agreed this was our weakest to date! and all the gratuitous sex,

posted by 1202183 on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 463 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2010

    Was able to finish this...but barely

    The characters in this book were so incredibly unrealistic that it made it hard to get behind any of them, whether they were "good" or "evil." You just couldn't believe any of their actions or the motivations behind them, and that made the book seem kind of pointless. Also agree with other reviews that the writing style was repetitive and just bad. And I thought I was going to LOVE this book, because the plot, the whole "gothic" thing, and the historical aspect really appealed to me. what a disappointment. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY OR TIME. if you want a "juicy" but decently written historical drama go for The Other Boleyn Girl by phillipa gregory. that is a page turner. this is not.

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2010

    Set it in Minnesota

    I'm from northern Wisconsin, born in 1953, and he struck wrong note after wrong note for me. Thanks to the author's high regard for "Wisconsin Death Trip," I will read that. This book should have been set in Minnesota if the author wanted Truitt to be in railroads and mining around 1907. In Wisconsin it would have been farming, lumber & trapping. The names of the townspeople fit Minnesota ethnically more than Wisconsin. (Carllson? Carlsson) In winter the sun in a greenhouse would never be blazing hot because the angle of the sun is too low. Men have something like 20 or 40 times the amount of free testosterone as women. Testosterone is the hormone of lust. This was a bodice ripper for men, not women. Way too much sex to interest me. I skipped it. If a man made a big enough hole in the ice to fall in he wouldn't be trapped under ice unless it was a river, not a pond. A river would push him underneath unbroken ice. A pond wouldn't. I didn't like the book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    Not at all what I thought

    I found the writing style to be very amateurish and vague. The characters were fairly interesting, but the plot line seemed to mainly focus on their sexual relationships in far too much detail. The writing was choppy and very repetitive. This story could have been so much better. I have no idea how it got to be such a highly recommended book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    Could have been good

    I must say after reading some other reviews I was looking forward to reading this novel. Maybe I should have read some more. I was unfortunately disappointed by this book. The characters were "almost" well rounded, you "almost" cared about them. I WANTED to care...the writing just didn't pull me in, it was kind of flat and just thrown out there.
    The premise of the story...an accomplished and successful business man looking for reliable companionship...not love. A woman already in love but looking for money has a plan to marry and kill him, then starts to care. It had a lot of potential and was close to being a decent book. You were given enough to understand the characters actions but not really care whether either party got what they really wanted and then the ending was just so blah...more of a bad made-for-TV Lifetime Channel ending then a decent read. Sorry!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2010

    A very odd book

    This is a story of sexual deviancy, a man so obsessed with sex that he can think of nothing else. If this were a movie, it would need to be rated "X". Could have been a touching story if not for the overdone sexual musings throughout the book.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    Too much sexual content!

    I was greatly disappointed with this book. I picked this book up with interest of following a story of a man placing an add for a "reliable wife", knowing that she would not be one. My complaint about this book: the author spent too much time writing about sexual matter. The storyline was good and I would have enjoyed the book if everyother page was not filled with sexual encounters or sexual thoughts of the characters. There was so much more that he could have focused on and feel the story could have gone deeper if he hadn't spent so much time on sex. My only reason for giving it two stars is that there was an intersting storyline.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    Disappointed

    There were many pages I completely skipped because the writing did not interest me and was irrelevant to the story. The common theme of sex and drugs did nothing to improve the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2010

    Blah

    Blah, blah, blah. Very disappointed in this book. While it catches your interest at the beginning, it soons loses it. I skimmed the last half. Not worth it. They'll probably make a movie out of it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2010

    Terrible Writing Style

    I picked this up while shopping. The cover drew me and the blurb on the back intrigued me. However, I knew by the end of the first chapter that I did not care for it. I read a few more chapters and skimmed most of the rest. The plot was stupid. It is impossible for me to believe what the "hero" was willing to do for love. I also hated the author's writing style. I found it distracting from the story at hand. In conclusion; don't waste your money on this one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    The longest 214 pages ever. I hated it; then liked it; hated it

    The longest 214 pages ever. I hated it; then liked it; hated it; liked it.......all I wanted to do was finish it. I wouldn't recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Terrible book

    This was a terrible book! I hate the way the author babbled on and repeated himself! I wish I had read a sample before wating my money. The overview sounded like a good story, but it was aweful!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2010

    ok for a free read - would not spend money on this.

    ok for a free read - would not spend money on this.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2010

    They all deserved each other

    Was really excited when I picked up the book because the jacket description sounded fascinating. Was terribly disappointed. I did not empathize with any of the characters. Not to give too much away, but the author makes it clear early on that the husband knows what's going on and makes the decision to do nothing to improve his situation. It's hard to empathize with people who don't do anything to help themselves. If this book happened in real life, I would send most of the characters to jail and all of them to see a sex therapist.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2010

    Depressing

    This is the darkest most depressing book I have ever read (and reading for a long time) It has drug use, murder by arsenic, etc. I would not recommend this book to anyone

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Reliable Wife

    Not a great read. Needed editing. The autor would say Catherine wasn't a kind person - had never known kindness - then show her doing kind things.

    Not great character development.

    Seemed like a novel with an identity problem. Was it pornographic, gothic, suspense?

    Cardboard setting. Maybe the author has never been to Wisconsin?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not a page turner for me. . .

    The characters were good, the story had meat - the reason I gave this just a 2 rating is because I did not enjoy the writing style. This just wasn't a page turner for me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    A little disappointing

    I was disappointed in A Reliable Wife. The premise sounded intriguing. Unfortunately, I did not care for the writing style, and at times, I found the story lines very unbelievable and contradictory. I never really bonded with the central characters. I did enjoy the author's descriptions of the winter landscape. I have talked to others that loved this book, I just wasn't one of them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Did not like this

    I did not like anything about this book, except the end. I would not recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2010

    Don't bother

    Very disappointing.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2010

    Disappointing

    I grabbed this book after a number of people had recommended it but found it to be disappointing and a ridiculous read from start to finish. The plot was silly and the beginning was completely labored while the end of the story was told very quickly.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 463 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 24