Customer Reviews for

A Reliable Wife

Average Rating 3
( 3269 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(597)

4 Star

(916)

3 Star

(865)

2 Star

(463)

1 Star

(428)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

Well! That was interesting!

I really recommend this book if you are the least intrigued by it, two thumbs up. These two main characters are anything but the face they are showing each other. They EACH have baggage. This is anything but a simple, sweet story. This is an easy book to fall into, a fa...
I really recommend this book if you are the least intrigued by it, two thumbs up. These two main characters are anything but the face they are showing each other. They EACH have baggage. This is anything but a simple, sweet story. This is an easy book to fall into, a fast beginning. The writing is compelling, very descriptive, indeed. The characters are all repressed and strange, trying to appear normal. The steamy sex scenes were unexpected, and well, intriguing. There are some murderous notions, too. There are many surprises as we read of extravagance and material wastefulness beyond our wildest dreams. Dysfunctional relationships. There were a couple drops in the story, like turbulence on a plane, as I felt built up, then...bla, bla, and that's that. Yet, as we learned, "such things happen", and perhaps that was intended. The author, though, does a fine job keeping us connected and packing in quite a lot of action in what seems to be about a 6-month roller coaster ride.

posted by dreamerbyday on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

33 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

HOW DID THIS GET TO BE SO POPULAR

The characters are thin, the plot thin, the writing thin, i just didn't get it! There wasn't one thing I liked about this book and it was our book club selection, our group of 12 all agreed this was our weakest to date! and all the gratuitous sex,

posted by 1202183 on April 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 463 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 24
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    Interesting characters and story, but too repetitive for me.

    I found the beginning intriguing and I was ready for a good read, but the characters thoughts and feelings, and sometimes, actions- became repetitive. I liked the location and the description of the homes and things in the beginning. I felt the characters contradicted themselves and so I lost interest.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    Exhaustive

    I finished this book only to find out how it concluded. A lot of repetitive rambling on the inward thoughts and habits of the characters. This book should be classified under depressive,perverted romances and addictions, if there were such a genre. Great potential in the premise but it falls short.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2009

    Not what I expected or hoped...

    I was very excited about this book after I read great reviews about this from fellow readers. I had myself on hold for a month and when I finally received it, I was thrilled! And then I started to read it...Okay, so the plot was average, it was written differently so it wasn't like reading the same story all over again. But then there was nothing to force me to keep reading; it wasn't the page-turning thriller I had hoped for. In fact, all it was full of was sex, sex, and more sex, which is fine for some, but I would have hoped that maybe there would be a bit more substance than just sex. Granted, it's supposed to allude to how cheap it can be and how when one has no love, even the sex is meaningless because it's just a way to command and have power over something (or at least that's what I understood). But come on, enough of the sex! I mean the descriptions were bad enough, but did I really need to read all that much about it? I think not. It just makes me ill to think that this is the author's first novel, who knows what may be next from this too much sexing novelist. It sure didn't change my life to understand how one can go so wrong without love. And to compare Robert Goolrick's novel to Daphne Du Maurier's Rebecca? Be ashamed you filthy critics, be ashamed! I was abashed to discover that this 2-cent romance novel who should have Fabio as the character of Antonio should be compared to such a classic as Rebecca. Disgusted.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2014

       I found this book compelling.  Once I started it I couldn't p

      
    I found this book compelling.  Once I started it I couldn't put it down.  The secrets of each of the characters kept unfolding like the layers of an onion.  However, I couldn't understand Ralph's motivations,   If he knew Catherine was poisoning him, why did he accept it, and drink the poison every night?Why did Catherine suddenly change her attitude towards both Ralph and Antonio?  I felt the ending was a letdown, and the book itself very depressing. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Not really impressed

    When I first picked up this book, I thought it would be an intriguing story but I was dissapointed. Its basically almost the same plot as the movie original sin with the exception of a few details.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2013

    Book about forgiveness

    I'm confused weither I even liked this book. The story is compelling and teaches you on how important forgiveness really is. But the on and on about people's sexual thoughts every other page of the book i found my self lulling off and i even fell asleep! And the fact that the writer jumped point of views in random parts of the chapter was kind of confusing and felt unorganized. 2 1/2 out of 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Very odd book

    Very odd book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    Beautiful and haunting

    Goolrick paints a desolate, broken landscape in his characters and the space around them. I thought I was reading a book about an arranged marriage but the twists and turns of the story led to a surprise ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    A lukewarm read. . .

    There is not THAT much sex in the book!
    Having said that, it is a solid read, not one of my fave books but not a waste of time.
    From the beginning you learn what the characters intentions are and that is helpful to keep the story moving. Of the three main characters only Ralph Truitt is explored thoroughly. We learn all about his childhood, life abroad as a young man and what happens to him as an adult; we learn how he arrives at the place and time in his life where he his looking for a wife.
    The problem is development regarding the other two main characters. There is no exploration of the other two in the same way as Truitt which makes it difficult to understand thoughts, actions and reactions.
    We do learn about some of Catherine Lands early life and as a young woman but we don't get enough. There is no depth. It is hard to get a read on her. Because of this the story is stunted. Had the book been a little longer and explored this I think it would have been more engrossing to read.
    I don't understand comments about the book having gratuitous sex or nothing but sex. That isn't factual. There is ONE specific sex scene and it isn't graphic or even specific. It doesn't even last long and the desciption is more about the feelings between the characters and their connection to each other. Other scenes are minimal without much description and again, more about the feelings between the characters.
    This is NOT a romance novel with steamy, hot sex scenes. It's not that kind of book.
    If you can borrow this book from somebody or from the library, do it, give it a shot, you may like it; you may not want to spend the cash to buy it and add it to your library because it's simply not a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    "Despair." Yes, that is how the book describes itself.

    "Despair." Yes, that is how the book describes itself. But not until the very end, so you spend numerous days/hours/valuable time reading, pushing onward, hoping for that glimmer of hope at the end. Alas, not so. Despair lingers through to the last pages. However, though I didn't particularly care for the plot as a whole, the book is well-written; I felt compelled to keep reading. There are lessons to be learned from this book - about others and things they are dealing with, personal matters, about oneself, so at least there was that to contemplate upon completion of the book. Not a terrible book per se, but definitely not my cup of tea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    A big disappointment. It is just tiring to read... All the chara

    A big disappointment. It is just tiring to read... All the characters ever think about is sex and depravity... I'm only half way through and I can’t stop wondering what kind of Freudian issues the author has. I just don’t even know how to describe all the things that make this book truly terrible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Disliked It More Than I Liked It... But Still Interesting

    This book spends a LOT of time inside the characters thoughts. More than I care to read about, but once you get past that, it actually has a pretty interesting/twisted plot.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay

    The book is okay and is a little depressing . The writing style is what kept me reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Opportunity lost....

    This could have been a very good book if had adhered to its original story line. Howeber, midway, it went in a different ditection. The initial story line was both engrossing and interesting. The latter part of the book was trite and implausible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2011

    Disappointing

    I truly looked forward to reading this but was quite disappointed. The writer embellished on the unimportant and frequently became stuck in romantic scenes that were not well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    So so

    Was recommended it was slow and not very well written,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    Greatide Joj

    I have no idea why I finished this book. But I did finish it....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Just barely ok

    Good first third of the book,then it goes slowly downhill from there, very slowly. Good writing but notquite a full story, just because you can write ALOT of pretty sentences.....doesnt make a book. Wanted to put it down, but thought it was goin to get better again. Also, thesupposedly huge plot twist is totally obvious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Too drawn out

    I read it but there were many moments i was tempted to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Rent from library before buying!

    This was a highly misleading book. It reads much like the novel Waltz into Darkness which the movie Original Sin was based off of only this novel was not as well written. The plot is very predictable after the fourth chapter and some of the scenes are quite twisted and unexpected. I did finish it even though I was extremely disappointed half way through because it is an interesting read, just not something I would ever recommended to anyone I knew. Nor will I read it again. I'm actually quite sad that I purchased it instead of reading it from the library first!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 463 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 24