Customer Reviews for

A Reliable Wife

Average Rating 3
( 3298 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(606)

4 Star

(923)

3 Star

(869)

2 Star

(469)

1 Star

(431)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

47 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Well! That was interesting!

I really recommend this book if you are the least intrigued by it, two thumbs up. These two main characters are anything but the face they are showing each other. They EACH have baggage. This is anything but a simple, sweet story. This is an easy book to fall into, a fa...
I really recommend this book if you are the least intrigued by it, two thumbs up. These two main characters are anything but the face they are showing each other. They EACH have baggage. This is anything but a simple, sweet story. This is an easy book to fall into, a fast beginning. The writing is compelling, very descriptive, indeed. The characters are all repressed and strange, trying to appear normal. The steamy sex scenes were unexpected, and well, intriguing. There are some murderous notions, too. There are many surprises as we read of extravagance and material wastefulness beyond our wildest dreams. Dysfunctional relationships. There were a couple drops in the story, like turbulence on a plane, as I felt built up, then...bla, bla, and that's that. Yet, as we learned, "such things happen", and perhaps that was intended. The author, though, does a fine job keeping us connected and packing in quite a lot of action in what seems to be about a 6-month roller coaster ride.

posted by dreamerbyday on May 4, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

37 out of 42 people found this review helpful.

Don't be fooled by the first chapter!

I read the sample first chapter, and I was intrigued. The next couple of chapters were interesting, too, and so I kept reading. By the time I realized that I hated this book, I was 100 pages into it and then felt I had to finish. (I hate it when that happens.)

The...
I read the sample first chapter, and I was intrigued. The next couple of chapters were interesting, too, and so I kept reading. By the time I realized that I hated this book, I was 100 pages into it and then felt I had to finish. (I hate it when that happens.)

The writing drove me crazy. To describe the soon-to-be husband's desire, just about every sentence for 5 pages started with, "He wanted..." As in, "He wanted to speak to her of his desire, he wanted to undress her, he wanted to unbutton, he wanted to see her step out of her chemise, he wanted to lead her to his bed, he wanted to pull back the coverlet, he wanted to hold her face, he wanted to kiss her, he wanted her to want all this and he wanted her to fear it, he wanted her to submit..." This goes on for pages and pages while I was saying to myself, "I get it! He's horny!" And when I thought it couldn't get any worse, I read this incredible sentence:

"He wanted to slice her open and lie inside the warm blood of her body."

How romantic! Say what?

The female lead is more interesting, but still badly drawn. She seems to change her persona just by changing her dress. Characters are briefly introduced and then discarded - I didn't understand why, except maybe to fill in more pages between the "He wanted" and "She thought" sentences. None of the "surprises" surprised me.

Skip it!

posted by georface on June 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 869 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 44
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Reader

    Not as good as I thought it would be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Have read better stories.

    Builds interesting mental images. Mediocre writing style. Too many repetitions. Slow moving at times. Overall still entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Depressing

    This whole story I thought was depressing--from the characters to the surroundings--the home--the outside environment. I just felt it was so morbid. Also, pages and pages of description--and, again, the descriptions of everything were depressing. I was into it for awhile, but I never felt uplifted, so I stopped reading for a bit--then finally finished it. I can't say it was a horrible book as I have read worse, but something I would never read again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Good read

    Although the book took a little bit to get going, the story made up for the slow start. A few unexpected twists that kept you wanting to keep reading! If you ca make it through the first 2 chapters you wont be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Ok

    It is an ok read.:

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2011

    Reliable Wife

    Book is an interesting exploration of the the many ways that trying to control your heart ultimately creates its own wounds.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    Good rea Good guick read

    Liked the story line. Bit short ending

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Dark and wonderfull all at the same time.

    I really enjoyed the vivid imagery. Each character was brought out to the fullest so that you knew their thoughts and motivations. Their passions were uncovered. Their ramblings were so intertwined, that sometimes I didn't know who was speaking. A dark and wonderfull read indeed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 9, 2011

    Took a while...

    Although it took me a while to actually finish this one, I thought it was an OK read. Not something I would ever recommend or buy on my own. I believe this was one of the Free Friday books....otherwise I would have never read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2011

    A good read

    Slow getting started. I almost gave up on it, but I'm glad I didn't. It turned into a surprisingly good story with some unexpected twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2011

    Not a BAD book

    It was somewhat interesting...the ending was obvious halfway through. Quick read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    it was just okay

    It was nothing special... I had the plot figured out by chapter two....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not My Cup of Tea

    When I read the back cover copy of A Reliable Wife, I was intrigued. I was convinced that this would be a page turner that would describe romance between two ordinary people. What I found was a tale of twists and turns, a story of two manipulative people who try to one-up each other. Nothing, and no one, is what it seems to be. Instead of happiness, I found despair. Instead of light and goodness, I found darkness and sorrow. The story is well-written and the author really gets into the minds of his characters. Although I personally did not rate this book high on my list of favorites, I none-the-less admire the author's circuitous route to reaching the end of his tale. In 1907 when Ralph Truitt advertises for a bride, "a reliable wife", he receives numerous responses. His choice is Catherine Land who responds that she is "a simple, honest woman". From the first moment the reader meets Catherine it is evident that she is anything but a simple, yet honest, woman. She has a plan to wed and win money and security. In bits and pieces her past is revealed to the reader. Ralph, the wealthy widower who has placed the advertisement, has plans of his own to use his new wife as a lure to bring back a prodigal son (now grown). The son wants nothing to do with the man who he claims was his father in name only. The story is full of tragic incidents, suspicion, misplaced loyalties, near murders, beatings, deceptions, and the like. The climax is quite the thrilling scene and the idea behind the outcome proves that good does exist in all people although it is sometimes buried deeper in some than in others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Entertaining

    A quick read. The author does a nice job of having you dislike a few characters. I think she underdeveloped one of the main characters, but I still enjoyed it none the less.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bittersweet story...liked it

    Good story about hard times many years ago.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2011

    V I Percy jackson the lightning theif

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Poisonous, not Passionate

    This is not for someone who's looking for a book of raunchy romance with lots of detailed imagery. This is a more subtle and emotional love story that infects slowly like. . . "poison" (a symbol referred to again and again in the book).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2011

    This book could have been written in half the pages.

    It was intersting enough but you could skip many many pages to get to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A decent read

    Alright

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2011

    Would+not+recommend+it+to+anyone.

    Poorly+written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 869 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 44