Customer Reviews for

Relic (Special Agent Pendergast Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 406 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(238)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Book!

This was a re-read for me. I read it years ago and decided to buy it again for my Nook and it was well worth the money all over again. It was my first introduction to Agent Pendergast who has since become one of my fav fictional detectives and the first but not the last...
This was a re-read for me. I read it years ago and decided to buy it again for my Nook and it was well worth the money all over again. It was my first introduction to Agent Pendergast who has since become one of my fav fictional detectives and the first but not the last Preston & Child book I read. Loved it! Great blend of mystery, horror and police procedural. I have read every Pendergast novel since and can't remember ever being disappointed. I would definitely recommend it.

posted by Crimson151 on April 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Typo's galore

Though I'm only on pg 98, I still felt compelled to stop & write this review. I suppose this story is good enough, but I am so distracted by the typographical errors which abound that I can hardly focus on the plot. I don't know how such a hot mess made it past any sort...
Though I'm only on pg 98, I still felt compelled to stop & write this review. I suppose this story is good enough, but I am so distracted by the typographical errors which abound that I can hardly focus on the plot. I don't know how such a hot mess made it past any sort of editing standard. My 3rd grader could catch most of this! What a disappointment.

posted by 4431421 on January 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 407 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    Typo's galore

    Though I'm only on pg 98, I still felt compelled to stop & write this review. I suppose this story is good enough, but I am so distracted by the typographical errors which abound that I can hardly focus on the plot. I don't know how such a hot mess made it past any sort of editing standard. My 3rd grader could catch most of this! What a disappointment.

    11 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2012

    Great Book!

    This was a re-read for me. I read it years ago and decided to buy it again for my Nook and it was well worth the money all over again. It was my first introduction to Agent Pendergast who has since become one of my fav fictional detectives and the first but not the last Preston & Child book I read. Loved it! Great blend of mystery, horror and police procedural. I have read every Pendergast novel since and can't remember ever being disappointed. I would definitely recommend it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    Enjoyable brain candy

    This book was a great mix of science, history, and fantasy. The action moved at a good pace and kept me interested enough that I finished it in just two days.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I would read this again!

    this was my first Lincoln Child and Douglas Preston book and i thought they did such a good job. it was such a different idea i had to read it and i was glad i did. i have found a new set of authors that i can't wait to read each and every book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    Hello NYC

    This is the first book in a very exciting series. I love that the New York City's American Museum of Natural History plays a starring role in the frist few books and love all the New York facts and fiction thrown in to spice and flavor the book. THe story itself was over the top but i fell in love with the characters, Pendergast, Smithback, Nora and dear sweet D'Agosta are a great team. I ordered the next 3 books in the series before i finished Relic, i have read the entire series to date and you can't go wrong. Lots of twists and turns in this book and just enough pages to get you hooked and running out to buy the next book. If you continue through the series you will find yourself worrying, laughing and loving the main characters. Enjoy this series is a winner.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Better than the movie. Hey, I LIKE the movie (Yikes - those spe

    Better than the movie.

    Hey, I LIKE the movie (Yikes - those special effects do not hold up!), but the book is much better.

    The quote on the cover says that this book is "Far above Crichton's Jurassic Park". Now, of course that's crazy nonsense, but there are similarities between how Crichton writes a thriller and this story. Namely, the plot unfolds at a good clip, and is interesting and suspenseful enough that I always roll right into the next chapter. Also thought the end was great, if I had book 2 handy, I would already be halfway through it. A great start to the series!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Awesome

    Great book! Jaws and Jurassic Park have nothing on Relic. This book is the beginning of a love affair for these characters. Pendergast, D'agosta, Smithback, and of course Mbwum, are some of the greatest characters ever. And if you want a book full of twists right through the last page, this is the one for you!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2011

    Highly recommended

    This book started out slow & gained momentem, once you get through the first part of the book it flys along at a furious pace. well written. I would read the book again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 1999

    Amazing Thriller !

    A fast paced book with all the stops pulled out to create a masterpiece by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child. If you enjoy mind twisting plots and non-stop action this is your book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I just recently discovered the Special Agent Pendergast series and am so glad that I happened upon it. The first two books I read were the most recent, and was thrilled with both of them. I decided to look for more by these two authors and started right at the beginning with "Relic". I enjoyed this book very much, but it didn't have as much Pendergast in it as I thought it would. I am now Reading "Reliquary", with the same cast of characters, for the most part, and I think this book will be just as good as the first one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2013

    An exciting page turner!

    If you like suspensful, character driven stories, this is a good one. The super agent is a little over the top, but not so much to be off-putting. The science was a tad fuzzy, but did not strain creduity. On the basis of this read, I purchased the following 5 books in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2012

    This is my all time favorite book. The writing is exceptional a

    This is my all time favorite book. The writing is exceptional and a real page turner.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    Very good!

    This was actually one of the first books I ever read. I enjoyed it a lot, and I think they actually even did a movie.. but I don't think it was very good. The book is great though, check it out!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2004

    FANTASTIC!!!

    Could not put this book down. It was my first Preston-Child book but certainly not my last. A real page-turner. And a great shocker at the end. Any avid reader of thrillers MUST read this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2013

    Great Book

    I love this series and am now on book 4. The main character is an enigma and I thoroughly him.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Great!

    What a great, scaaaaarrrrrry story!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Reading Relic has Changed my view of museums being creep..and....THEY ARE!

    Good book....hooked on another series of books!!! THANKS MICHAEL!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Love Pendergast

    Pendergast is such a character -- I'm addicted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent book. I thoroughly enjoyed reading it. I enjoy the Preston
    and Child books very much.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    Great

    Great read, first book of the pendergast series which I loved.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 407 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 21